ye thats really a pathetic story but its not uncommon. there are some farknuts out there who actually attempt (and yes, try very hard) to convert their peers though their parents actually dislike their own children to convert.
Friend jioed me there once, and right...I'm horrified to realise something. I just stood at the corner, and view their ceremony and all. something hit me, some of these kids, have parents who are the older gen, taoist/buddhist type of parents. And they actually fight,argue with their parents so as to go to church, but in church, the pastor,someone who has no blood relations with them, asks them to praise the lord and so on, they so willingly praise,so willingly shed tears and so on. I'm horrifed why? Because parents who slog their asses off so that we kids can haf a good life and education and so on, gets thanked by being shouted,yelled and fought by the very ones they are protecting. And the kids can actually listen with total obedience to someone whom they have no blood relations with? How is this possible?
okay, for once i will agree with bout au revoir. The church is NOT a place for one to flaunt his/her body. A church goer should dress in a way that he/she would not distract others in the congregation.my dear friend, we're NOT targetting christians. We're just targetting the dysfunctional styles of chc and their mindless clones.
Being a christian, and having lots of youth friends, the one thing we discourage the youths from doing is arguing or quarrelling with their parents to go to church. Conflict does not resolve the situation. Instead, we encourage them to excel in their studies and reflect a sincere change in attitude towards their parents.
As for this thing abt CHC, lets not spread anymore rumors. This entire "friend of mine got hooked up " thing has been circulating so long. Not healthy to spread rumor. =D Like rumors of aliens landing in ang moh kio... have u heard??
errm, i think flatly saying a person under 20 would know nuts about religion and believes is a little bit incorrect, my Mum went into SBC at 19, dad went in around 22, but thats beside the pointOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Praise the Lord? Hell, I say praise my GLOCK!
Its not strictly about the way one dresses, but also the attitude,values and believes which come along. It really is sad to see Ho Yeow Sun and her hubby's bank account gettin fatter at the expense of these kids and their parents. Also, seriously, why isn't there anyone out there slamming the way these so called devotees react to their parents who are against the idea of them converting etc.?Most are below 20, what do they know about religioun and believes? Nuts! What they know is what they read in the bible, takin word for word at face level, without in-depth studying and analysis.
Also, peers trying to convert me will always "market" the benefits of being a Christian being that one will rise to heaven on our death. But the thing is, the rest non-christians will forever be banished to hell? till the day they embrace Jesus Christ in their arms,then they will be forgiven and allowed to go to heaven.
What about the others?Do the go to hell only?And also...the kids generally just wanna go heaven and seek BGR,and not there to seek a connection with god.
woah, what kind of condem church dare to advertise this kinda sh|t sia...Originally posted by Beep:lets put ur theory this way, like those lame pamphlets telling others to "OMG YO BLARDER JOIN OUR SUNDAY HEALING PRAYER SERVICE, CONFIRM + 100% GOT HEALING POWER ONE. CAN CURE VAGINAL AND BREAST CANCER, HEMOPHILIA AND ALSO AIDS. CAN ALSO MAKE U FLY!" exaggerated, but im totally pissed off by these kinda crap advertisments left outside my door. goddamit... now the question is: do you believe in it
give more $$$ to church = lessen my sins??Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:This is the first time im hearing unfavourable things about Lighthouse. Anyone has anything else to add?
By the way, what is your general opinion on Christianity.
You said it yourself. None of us has met God yet. So unless God tells you, we dunno Osama going where.Originally posted by SpecOps87:And besides, has anyone met god himself yet? .. Wat if Osama gets caught one day, and immediately converts to Christanity, he will go to heaven too? Coz the Lord has forgiven him?
we have no religious tolerance. and I dun mean christians, you pple here also like that.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Why everytime always got topic against christianity, i think this religion got some problems or there r some problems with our local spore christian
But ppl will say its christianity start the fire, maybe if preaching stop den everything will stop. But is it preaching a muz in christianity?? How come i nv see other religions advertiste n ask "promoter" to "promote" n sell their religion??Originally posted by Icemoon:we have no religious tolerance. and I dun mean christians, you pple here also like that.
in America they have tele-evangelism and all that. is that worse?
You will NOT go to hell just because you do not believe. That is a fallacy introduced to market a religion. Imagine:Originally posted by SpecOps87:Why are non-believers destined to go to hell? To me, Hell is when your guilty consciousness comes knocking on your door. when u live with having to live with ethical dilemna,that's hell. And besides, has anyone met god himself yet?And you are postin using his super high-speed 1,000,000MBPS broadband service from heaven to tell me that all up there are christians? Hell and Heaven is determined by one's own actions...think about it this way. Wat if Osama gets caught one day, and immediately converts to Christanity, he will go to heaven too? Coz the Lord has forgiven him?
Praise my GLOCK!
It is part of Christianity to "go out and spread he good news of the Lord". But overzealous christians with rudimentary understanding of the scriptures like to turn relligion into mlm. A quota is imposed on devotees, the more money you donate, the higher your chances of entering heaven... etc.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:But ppl will say its christianity start the fire, maybe if preaching stop den everything will stop. But is it preaching a muz in christianity?? How come i nv see other religions advertiste n ask "promoter" to "promote" n sell their religion??
N one thing u ought to know their population got so many christian as they r ang moh country so how to compare to a multi racial n religion country like us??
Yes, from the hugo boss wearer himself.Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:Your statements are very troubling... Did their pastor really say something like that?
Can someone post the statistics? Actually American is a melting pot and I believe their % of Christians is not as high as we imagine. They are more multi racial and multi-religious than us leh .. they have wiccans we have or not?Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:But ppl will say its christianity start the fire, maybe if preaching stop den everything will stop. But is it preaching a muz in christianity?? How come i nv see other religions advertiste n ask "promoter" to "promote" n sell their religion??
N one thing u ought to know their population got so many christian as they r ang moh country so how to compare to a multi racial n religion country like us??
That's right!Originally posted by SilverPal:But overzealous christians with rudimentary understanding of the scriptures like to turn relligion into mlm. A quota is imposed on devotees, the more money you donate, the higher your chances of entering heaven... etc.
Have bf liao still attracted to chc cos of good looking guy?Originally posted by floppy_zee:I got a fren who was a buddhist. She was first attracted to CHC cuz of this good-looking guy. So slowly she goes to the mass & gathering.. etc. As expected she converted to christian shortly after that. At the same time, she got a bf, who she said is very nice to her. Reason of breakup?? Guy dun wan convert christian, she cant be with a non-christian bf. WTF?!
this is very dumb of her, excuse me.Originally posted by floppy_zee:Reason of breakup?? Guy dun wan convert christian, she cant be with a non-christian bf. WTF?!
no lah, its more like that condemed sore's CGL making things difficult lahOriginally posted by Icemoon:this is very dumb of her, excuse me.
If she breaks up like that, she won't be able to see how God can work miracles through her. There is chance the guy might convert after that (even after marriage). Now she has shattered the chance.
more like problem with one(actually, 2) freaking churchOriginally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Why everytime always got topic against christianity, i think this religion got some problems or there r some problems with our local spore christian
not sure how Pastor Kong will handle this CGL if matter brought up to him.Originally posted by snk86:no lah, its more like that condemed sore's CGL making things difficult lah
I think its she goes CHC.. then after that was attached with another guy (not in CHC de) but non-christian.Originally posted by Icemoon:Have bf liao still attracted to chc cos of good looking guy?
well, i will say you kinda misinterprated the great commisionOriginally posted by SilverPal:It is part of Christianity to "go out and spread he good news of the Lord". But overzealous christians with rudimentary understanding of the scriptures like to turn relligion into mlm. A quota is imposed on devotees, the more money you donate, the higher your chances of entering heaven... etc.
A christian is not supposed to go and preach to others as a christian is no better than a non christian. Instead, the christian has to use his daily conduct to show the rest of the world what it means to be christian WITHOUT PREACHING OR DISCRIMINATING AGAINST NON BELIEVERS.
Sadly, many new age churches have lost their way.