Do your own research!Originally posted by Big Bot:Erm, just wanted to say, there is nothing wrong with my Laptop in the first place... No Spyware, no virus... I scanned dozens of time with different programs. I just wanted to "tidy" it up...And was just thinking of getting a good free protections.
any reason y u object symantec?Originally posted by sinnersotong:objection on d symantec!
really
holes holes everywhere n a b|tch on yr sys resourcesOriginally posted by er_liang89:any reason y u object symantec?
it does it really doesOriginally posted by kaobeikaobu:norton makes ur pc look retard..sorry, cant help it...![]()
im not saying anti-virus. i noe of cases where 2 anti-virus or firewall softwares having conflicts with each other. but i dun tink this pose a problem for anti-spyware programs as long as not both of them haf realtime scanning functions.Originally posted by Xcert:this would be theoretical and subject to personal interpretation...antivirus programs have been known to contridict each other...Like....U cant install McAfee together with Norton...especially for real-time scanning.
it might not be a case of "the more the merrier"...![]()
anyway...using antivirus software is not a pre-empt method as new viruses gets created very fast and ur system might be one of the 1st few to be infected....ie...virus definitions have not been updated yet...
for me...I think it would be the next best option to isolate ur important files with the system...ie...backup ur files regularly if U only have 1 system...at least U can recover part of ur uncorrupted data should anything happen...![]()
just wondering...what OS are U using?Originally posted by Sky2D2:another anti-Microsux.... Dont be so ignorance by Linux. It is no better also.
PC Cillin not bad...but have to pay leh...Originally posted by kalgorath:McAfee is probably the worst of the lot. Norton AntiVirus is a system resource hog. My personal pick? TREND MICRO PC CILLIN! Of all the antivirus software I've used over the years, PC Cillin is the best.
I tot U saying antivirus so my reply is referring to it..Originally posted by chanff8:im not saying anti-virus. i noe of cases where 2 anti-virus or firewall softwares having conflicts with each other. but i dun tink this pose a problem for anti-spyware programs as long as not both of them haf realtime scanning functions.
PC Cillin not bad...but have to pay leh...Bopian.....the next best antivirus in my opinion would be AVG. Last mth Vpost got discount on PC Cillin, almost 50% off
Ai ya...my Norton subscription is ending soon.Need to source for a new Antivirus...wasted...Originally posted by kalgorath:Bopian.....the next best antivirus in my opinion would be AVG. Last mth Vpost got discount on PC Cillin, almost 50% offFree upgrade to 2006 version some more
u sign me up 4 p-member, i give u serial for NortonOriginally posted by Xcert:Ai ya...my Norton subscription is ending soon.Need to source for a new Antivirus...wasted...![]()
I go pirate shop and buy from them still can get CD to keep leh...No thanks.Originally posted by alexkusu:u sign me up 4 p-member, i give u serial for Norton![]()
I've tried using 2 anti virus at a time and i realised that they always conflict. As for anti spyware, they do not conflict at all.Originally posted by chanff8:im not saying anti-virus. i noe of cases where 2 anti-virus or firewall softwares having conflicts with each other. but i dun tink this pose a problem for anti-spyware programs as long as not both of them haf realtime scanning functions.
And y r ppl mentioning Microsux and Linux and not include Apple in it?
Heres a great video if yr getting real frustrated with microsux...
Get a Mac
Note: u nid Quicktime 7
I like the part where it will detect wireless intrusion on my network.Originally posted by SilverPal:Why is trend micro better? I tried their internet security and it kept hanging my comp.
I'm using an original version of norton.
I am using it for another system.not bad...but only with virus scans.Originally posted by SilverPal:Avast is a free anti virus that you might want to try out.
me. Norton sytemworks 2005.Originally posted by Xcert:I go pirate shop and buy from them still can get CD to keep leh...No thanks.![]()
But then since we are on the topic...
Who is using ORIGINAL Commerical(Symantec,Mcafee,Micro Trend,etc) Antivirus software?Not those cracked or from pirate shops...
Waa...its a S$185.24 product that U dont use leh...then why U buy in the first place?Originally posted by alexkusu:me. Norton sytemworks 2005.
but dont use it at all..resource hog... me use avg nia. Simple is best.
I'm using the norton internet suite. It has everything. But as you said, system hog. Have to wait very long during start up and shut down.Originally posted by Xcert:I like the part where it will detect wireless intrusion on my network.
I dont have hanging problems with the software...trial version from their website though...
ur norton...just the antivirus or a package of things like internet security and antispam and whatnots?...