Originally posted by skyfoo:Neither are poly students guaranteed a diploma..
one more thing. jc students are [b]NOT guaranteed an access to uni. thus, there's also a possibility that we might end up jobless and only o lvl cert.[/b]
He lost touch..Originally posted by shade343:This Vivian Balakrishnan.....He is a very skilled debater who once represented NUS....
Originally posted by skyfoo:you can come to poly and study if results not good, alot of my jc friends did that.
one more thing. jc students are [b]NOT guaranteed an access to uni. thus, there's also a possibility that we might end up jobless and only o lvl cert.[/b]
so i can safely assume that NUS always got kicked out in the prelim or 1st round?Originally posted by shade343:This Vivian Balakrishnan.....He is a very skilled debater who once represented NUS....
The issue at stake here is whether poly students have the capacity to bear adult fees not about the maturity.Originally posted by 798:sorry... being a poly student myself... sometime i feel really ashamed that a poly student will whine on the concession pass issue... it's just to show some poly students are very immature.
why dun they sit down and see how the jc students making a fool of themselves.
my point is u guys assume that we can make it to uni and end up with a job with higher pay, justifying why we have to pay more than or equal with u guysOriginally posted by stellazio:Neither are poly students guaranteed a diploma..![]()
maybe his rivals dosed off while he speaks.Originally posted by shade343:This Vivian Balakrishnan.....He is a very skilled debater who once represented NUS....
I dont know about that. But I remember one very famous statement made by him. He once said "The government is a jack of all trades but an initiator of none"....I wonder what that means....Originally posted by skyfoo:so i can safely assume that NUS always got kicked out in the prelim or 1st round?
i also dunno wat it mean! damnit! he's mastered at confusing pple.Originally posted by shade343:I dont know about that. But I remember one very famous statement made by him. He once said "The government is a jack of all trades but an initiator of none"....I wonder what that means....
isnt jack of all trades and initiator of none are both negative aspects? or he considered jack of all trades a positive one?Originally posted by shade343:I dont know about that. But I remember one very famous statement made by him. He once said "The government is a jack of all trades but an initiator of none"....I wonder what that means....
sad to say... even now in uni the poly and jc students are not very close.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:Dr Vivian responded that since majority of jc and poly are of the same age...there shouldn't be a barriar between us...however...i do not agree to this...cos as you can really see...there is a sense of animosity between jc and poly students of the forum..
aiya, what subsides. our parents pay taxes one lehOriginally posted by Mariner:just to tell you all something. i read some statistics from some government reports in the SP business school library and it states that the school fees before subsidies is 9k plus while the students have to pay less than 100 if i'm not wrong. while for us poly students, the total education cost is 12k plus while we have to pay 2k. so in terms of the percentage being subsidised, which is more???
Actually I wonder how much grant the government gives to each JC student. They pay sch fees of $40 a month if Im not wrong(Somebody please clarify this sentence). So thats $480 per academic year.Originally posted by skyfoo:my point is u guys assume that we can make it to uni and end up with a job with higher pay, justifying why we have to pay more than or equal with u guys
exactly...our parents oso contribute to the financial standpoint of the government...yet their children go not get equal fairness with regards to education and transport...Originally posted by skyfoo:aiya, what subsides. our parents pay taxes one leh
shade, u in school of IT rite? go business library and read up on the statistics..i found some thereOriginally posted by shade343:Actually I wonder how much grant the government gives to each JC student. They pay sch fees of $40 a month if Im not wrong(Somebody please clarify this sentence). So thats $480 per academic year.
Poly students pay $2100 per academic year. According to the financial statements by SP, the revenue collected by students is only 30million. However, that is not enough to cover the cost of operating the polytechnic. It still has an outstanding deficit of 184 million.
Animosity? What animosity? Maybe its because of the unfairness of the system...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:Dr Vivian responded that since majority of jc and poly are of the same age...there shouldn't be a barriar between us...however...i do not agree to this...cos as you can really see...there is a sense of animosity between jc and poly students of the forum..
Im holding the Annual Report of SP 03/04 in my hands now. Its a real good source of infoOriginally posted by Mariner:shade, u in school of IT rite? go business library and read up on the statistics..i found some there
So it's just a matter of the Government's classification that has caused this bus fare issue to be raised again?Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Its the way the system group fares... Poly and Unis are classified under tertiary education so they are subjected to "tertiary" fees.. while JC is "pre-tertiary"...