I have to agree with you because I had the same experience as you but I think not as serious as you ba. (I am not a Catholic)Originally posted by Kimosabe:Recently, I went with a friend to city harvest church. Stayed over at her place to for a night because she had cell group the next day and she wanted me to go. Fair enough, we're good friends. But then, at cell group, (i'm roman catholic btw), i was asked about my church and its practices, because you know catholics adopt the more traditional and old ways of worship. and to my utter disbelief, in front of everyone, she said "Haiya, catholic mass only one hour you all learn what...its crap la. Our church is so much better and reaches out to more people. Catholics are shit la. Join us." Then, to make matters worse, one by one everyone started dissing catholism. I wasn't embarassed though, but rather taken aback as to the kind of discrimination and mentality these guys have. Anyone from CHC can tell me why. Or just anyone. Dammit. I'm so insulted.
I think fandango is a Presbyterian Protestant, not CHC member. The rest can't remember cuz I just glanced thru the link.Originally posted by coffeeortea:cuzz, the fellow forumers are from CHC?
I heard they force ppl to tithe. Dont know true or not.Originally posted by happyharvest:I have to agree with you because I had the same experience as you but I think not as serious as you ba. (I am not a Catholic)
I think because the population there is too many and it is quite difficult to disciple all of them properly. Many are youth and you know some are really not mature in their thinking yet. So they talk rubblish, nonsense misrepresenting their church. But then, who knows, their cell grp leaders and seniors teach them these. (ops, I was just speculating because many are youngsters. Pardon me if I am wrong.)
Generally, their theology is all right except they focus too much of financial, success, money..........
conducting a theology debate over arguable issues is one thing, baseless bashing is another.Originally posted by FrustMom:fyi, CHC is not the only one that condemns the Catholic.
Some of our fellow forumers are pretty active in "challenging" the Catholic. or should I say drilling?
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=76013
sounds like MLM to me................Originally posted by ditzy:This is a monthly quota thing you see.....![]()
Hey I understand how you felt. I feel that your friend did not mean to hurt you. You must understand everyone sees things differently, eg: to you, you see that david beckham is totally disgusting and not at all handsome. But your friend my not agree with you. You will maybe say to your friend he sucks, but your friend would find that you have hurt him because you disagree. This is because you and your friend are different, bought up and influence by different people.Originally posted by Kimosabe:Recently, I went with a friend to city harvest church. Stayed over at her place to for a night because she had cell group the next day and she wanted me to go. Fair enough, we're good friends. But then, at cell group, (i'm roman catholic btw), i was asked about my church and its practices, because you know catholics adopt the more traditional and old ways of worship. and to my utter disbelief, in front of everyone, she said "Haiya, catholic mass only one hour you all learn what...its crap la. Our church is so much better and reaches out to more people. Catholics are shit la. Join us." Then, to make matters worse, one by one everyone started dissing catholism. I wasn't embarassed though, but rather taken aback as to the kind of discrimination and mentality these guys have. Anyone from CHC can tell me why. Or just anyone. Dammit. I'm so insulted.
You sound like a CHC member.Originally posted by slaine_blazer:Hey I understand how you felt. I feel that your friend did not mean to hurt you. You must understand everyone sees things differently, eg: to you, you see that david beckham is totally disgusting and not at all handsome. But your friend my not agree with you. You will maybe say to your friend he sucks, but your friend would find that you have hurt him because you disagree. This is because you and your friend are different, bought up and influence by different people.
For your friends, they have different views about catholic, which could be influence by media and other things. I would say that your friends did not know how to express their view in the right way. I believe that your friends have not gone to a catholic church. For me, personally, I have watch many times on tv, that catholic church have big mass, and thatÂ’s about it. So people who not been in a catholic church would think that thatÂ’s all to catholic religion.
Just like the example I say just now, you did not understand that your friend like david beckham because his goals and dreams have motivate him. For you, you were just saying your view about something you felt and did not meant to hurt your friend
Maybe you should meet up that friend personally and shared with her that you were rather disappointed of their reactions, and maybe you could share with them more about your religion, about how you felt and what special in being a catholic church. This will allow a greater understanding.
Anyway, I do not believe that CHC leaders would be people who would teach others to discriminate other religion. What your friend have said was based on what she have known and seen through media, through booksÂ….
like AntKF ?Originally posted by laurence82:aiyah, soon the bubble is going to burst and everyone realise they are silly
just bide your time lor...
i have gone through such siturations before, and meet people who said what they felt but wrong words. i am just stating a fact from what i have observe in singapore society.Originally posted by charlize:You sound like a CHC member.
Registered today with first post some more.
Hugo Boss poster boy himself din say anything about tithing. But of course you are "strongly encouraged" to donate as "the more you donate, the more you are assured of a place in heaven". Therefore, the poor have no place in heaven.Originally posted by happyharvest:I have to agree with you because I had the same experience as you but I think not as serious as you ba. (I am not a Catholic)
I think because the population there is too many and it is quite difficult to disciple all of them properly. Many are youth and you know some are really not mature in their thinking yet. So they talk rubblish, nonsense misrepresenting their church. But then, who knows, their cell grp leaders and seniors teach them these. (ops, I was just speculating because many are youngsters. Pardon me if I am wrong.)
Generally, their theology is all right except they focus too much of financial, success, money..........
maybe clone??Originally posted by charlize:You sound like a CHC member.
Registered today with first post some more.
You're kidding. Such a sorry number of followers and they have problems maintaining control?Originally posted by happyharvest:I think because the population there is too many and it is quite difficult to disciple all of them properly.
Originally posted by crazy monkey:like AntKF ?![]()
How to remain humane when the rest are not?Originally posted by Cinderella.:it does not matter which church you go to, or which religion you subscribe to. as long as you are still humane.
Have faith... my friend.Originally posted by Kimosabe:Recently, I went with a friend to city harvest church. Stayed over at her place to for a night because she had cell group the next day and she wanted me to go. Fair enough, we're good friends. But then, at cell group, (i'm roman catholic btw), i was asked about my church and its practices, because you know catholics adopt the more traditional and old ways of worship. and to my utter disbelief, in front of everyone, she said "Haiya, catholic mass only one hour you all learn what...its crap la. Our church is so much better and reaches out to more people. Catholics are shit la. Join us." Then, to make matters worse, one by one everyone started dissing catholism. I wasn't embarassed though, but rather taken aback as to the kind of discrimination and mentality these guys have. Anyone from CHC can tell me why. Or just anyone. Dammit. I'm so insulted.
Originally posted by MetalGear:Have faith... my friend.
To clarify, I'm an athiest now but was an ex-catholic.
There are alot of ways you can slam them back in talks of the faith, and it sucks that you can wack them in their strongest forte - the bible.
1) The church which the bible speaks about is the Roman Catholic church. Even the protestant bibles talk about the catholic church, unless they really re-wrote the entire bible... Which is super satanic!! wooh!
2) Do you know why they are called Protestants? Cause they protested against the faith and broke away in 16th or 17th century thru the 1st Protestant faith - The Lutherians.
There are now so many protestant faiths. Alamak... Do you know how ridiculous is that? It's like I and you discuss about our religion, if I don't follow your views, I can just set up my own NEW protestant religion. Waoh!!! Do you see the Muslims/Buddhists doing that? There are few thousands of protestant religions. MY GOD!!!
3) It's against the faith to just mis-interpret the bible and start a new version plus take out some books/chaps in them. Who are they to play God and choose how the bible is interpreted? That's why there's a central governing body to control the doctrines n teachings.
4) The 1hr of mass is just the main compulsory thing. There's also other areas and supplementary activities like activity grps, P&W sessions, bible study etc. I never saw mass as boring. It's solemn and ritualistic which I can appreciate. I prefer that to pop music!
5) Got so much to say... How about this? Pirated will never be better than the original. =)
I've nothing against protestants who know how to respect other people's faith. It's those who try to challenge me when I was a catholic that I blasted them back till they had to go back to their leaders with wounds asking for more refuting help. But really, should religion be that?
Btw, I heard that CHC has the view that catholics pray to the temple... haha!!! Gosh... Have you ever seen Linux dare to blast Microsoft outright? tsk tsk....
For me, I've become an atheist cause my search for religion has finally rested on the fact that if there's a god to pray to. It should be me myself.
Cheers!
(But I still get a kick out of challenging mis-guided protestants!)
I think because the population there is too many and it is quite difficult to disciple all of them properly.
Really meh? Pastor say something all of them lap it up like farking dogs. BTW his HUGO BOSS tie is $550. My fren lost it then scared like hell, so i had to go tag along shop to find that PARTICULAR tie or else.