Yep! They tried to appeal for micheal fay not to be cane, but still got the rotan(that's for vandalizing). What more drugs? I don't like the death row, but I hate drugs even more.Originally posted by Aveme:do not think the appeal if it come thru will work.
It din work for micheal fay then,likely not so now.
Originally posted by nightzip:be careful of the SEDITION act.![]()
i think he is referring to the post by vito_corleoneOriginally posted by lighthand:Are we frothing the rules?
OICOriginally posted by Aveme:i think he is referring to the post by vito_corleone
You must accept the sovereignty of the country you are entering. If you steal in Saudi Arabia, you deserve to have your hand cut off. If you practise homosexuality there, you will be stoned to death.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Again, it is our mindset.What if a Singaporean was caught for a crime that is not so in Singapore?Do we let him rot?So much for every citizen matters.Let's just say that sovereignty is no absolute excuse for cross border criminal legislative issues anymore.Those who fail to accept it will suffer.
Saudi Arabia's rules contravene the majority of the world's beliefs.Therefore in my own ideological belief and many others, if the SAS stage a jailbreak to rescue a British soldier set to have his hand chopped off, gimme a gun and I'll blow some heads off myself.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You must accept the sovereignty of the country you are entering. If you steal in Saudi Arabia, you deserve to have your hand cut off. If you practise homosexuality there, you will be stoned to death.
this is called, mei ren xing.Originally posted by caramon.:To get rid of drugs - hang the smuggler. What else could be simpler?
Take the case of Nguyen Tuong Van, everyone in Australia is so worked up because Singapore is about to hang him. This Austrailian Vietnamese was forced by the triads to smuggle drugs to help his twin brother who is in debt.
If he is a Singaporean nobody would have cared, time is just too precious to fight for a criminal, Singaporeans has many other more important things to do like shopping, tours and karaoke.
Something is really wrong with Australians, why bother with Singapore hanging one of their citizens, they have 20 million people more than us. They should understand Singapore is helping them to get rid of one of their criminals - they should thank us, for their nation is now safer.
Nguyen Tuong Van will obviously endangered the lives of people by his crime, why else would a "rational country" like Singapore want to hang him? These Australians and human rights group are acting so emotionally and irrationally over this.
We singaporeans are really lucky that we have such a unique and wonderful system in place. However, not many ang moh countries appreciate the beauty behind our beloved PAP Logic.
heng, .... read his post again ... hope you catch the sacarsm this time ...Originally posted by HENG@:this is called, mei ren xing.
no humanity. u call yourself human? u dog. when you die no one will even bat an eyelid, u rubbish.
no worries ditzy ... I think that chap's already toast ....Originally posted by ditzy:His mom has appealed to the queen to intervene. If this intervention does go through and stops his death penalty. Do you think its fair for those who have done less and similar and gone through the gallows? Is it a message that will go out to the world that you can do all wrong and get away by pleading your case to the queen?
Originally posted by sohguanh:every case is unique. im certainly very much against drugs, but i am against a mandatory death sentence.
[b]this is called, mei ren xing.
no humanity. u call yourself human? u dog. when you die no one will even bat an eyelid, u rubbish
First and foremost do you believe in capital punishment for crimes tat are defined to have the death penalty and in this case it is trafficking of drugs?
Spore is well known ard the world for having the most harshest punishment for drug trafficking but why do those ppl still try their luck? Reason is simple. If they can pass thru the check in spore and arrive in other countries those customes there will check lesser cuz afterall spore will have done a very thorough check for them.
Security in spore is IMO one of the best which other countries has yet to offer only for except some selected cities[/b]
unfortunately, i dun trust caramon. i don't know if u were here during his era of rubbish about girls loving him. I don't trust him to have enuf IQ to know how to apply sacarsm.Originally posted by Fatum:heng, .... read his post again ... hope you catch the sacarsm this time ...![]()
Originally posted by sohguanh:i am against a MANDATORY death sentence. go case by case. not saying that im totally against a death sentence. read please.
[b]but i am against a mandatory death sentence.
Do you think crime say of a serial killer cum rapist cum molester cum mutilator cum cannibalist cum necrophilia once caught deserve a death sentence? How will you try to defend him from getting a death sentence? How will you explain to the victim's families?[/b]
Originally posted by sohguanh:u can, if it can be certified beyond reasonable doubt by a panel of psychologists. I mean if he is really siao and dun know what he is doing, is it fair that he dies just because he has the misfortune of suffering from a mental illness that causes him to be unaware of his actions?
[b]i am against a MANDATORY death sentence. go case by case. not saying that im totally against a death sentence. read please.
Ok noted. Actually you can defend the serial killer by pleading for his insanity during the time of murder. Case closed[/b]
Originally posted by sohguanh:Varying circumstances. I repeat, VARYING CIRCUMSTANCES
[b]and u know what? I BET that australian was used by the triads as a decoy. Its not unknown for those drug syndicates, to use people like him forced by circumstances to work for them, as decoys, meaning they are ratted out to the police so that another smuggler with a much bigger and valuable shipment gets thru unharressed. Anyone remember the movie gone in 60 seconds? Nicholas Cage's character. If u were him, what will u do? Let your brother die? Kill the mob boss and risk your mother being killed? Risk your family? Or what?
Do you think our gahment never watched movies and have not realised that usually info is fed by syndicate themselves? It is becuz we want to send a clear signal to those so called decoy or watever never ever run leg for syndicate be it for any circumstances, it is as simple as that. Once you work along with bad guys then be prepared for the consequences. If there is no decoys it will be harder for the syndicate to do their work. That is wat we wanted cripple the syndicates.
Never ever get involved is the signal broadcasted. Once in you are never out until the day you died[/b]
He was not prepared to die hor. He was trying to save his brother.Originally posted by Griffie:since he already prepared to die (whether from the "triads" or smuggling drugs in Singapore) then he should suffer the consequences mah.
as a person, i also feel that he should be spared.
but as a Singaporean living in my own country, sparing him will only cause our own country to fall and crumble.
your choice, your OWN country with all her citizens or someone who smuggled drugs