Did Michael Fay really trash Yong Pang Sai's car?Originally posted by Griffie:The reply of the Singapore Government is clear that all criminals who commit crime in Singapore will be dealt with by her OWN LAWS. A previous example is the US boy who vandalised the CJ's car, even after appeal he still "tio rotan". So even a superpower like USA back that fella he still "tio rotan", *insert country here*'s government can do wat?
Rob a bank...run a brothel...be a loanshark...IN AUSTRALIA. No death penalty thereOriginally posted by HENG@:u too. another one who refuse to think. go answer my question. What IF U WERE HIM?
I doubt it....the worse thing the Australians could have done is to blow it up as they have. Singapore will never backtrack...it's a matter of faceOriginally posted by ^spidee^:I get your point now.
Hope that as you said, Nguyen's case could be a precedence for aboishing mandatory death setence.
you try hanging a Jap, Yank, Kraut or anything that didn't come out from s'pore.Originally posted by caramon.:To get rid of drugs - hang the smuggler. What else could be simpler?
Take the case of Nguyen Tuong Van, everyone in Australia is so worked up because Singapore is about to hang him. This Austrailian Vietnamese was forced by the triads to smuggle drugs to help his twin brother who is in debt.
If he is a Singaporean nobody would have cared, time is just too precious to fight for a criminal, Singaporeans has many other more important things to do like shopping, tours and karaoke.
Something is really wrong with Australians, why bother with Singapore hanging one of their citizens, they have 20 million people more than us. They should understand Singapore is helping them to get rid of one of their criminals - they should thank us, for their nation is now safer.
Nguyen Tuong Van will obviously endangered the lives of people by his crime, why else would a "rational country" like Singapore want to hang him? These Australians and human rights group are acting so emotionally and irrationally over this.
We singaporeans are really lucky that we have such a unique and wonderful system in place. However, not many ang moh countries appreciate the beauty behind our beloved PAP Logic.
I can resign myself to letting Ngyuen hang, but I demand a referendum on the issue of mandatory sentencing.Originally posted by launtpc:All the previous offenders are hung, and if this Aussie guy is NOT, then it is an INSULT to the other offenders as some carry even LESSER heroin than him.
It will be not fair, and ruin Singapore's stand of having justice and equality.
200gm of drug can mean ruining lives of 5 people.Originally posted by iveco:I can resign myself to letting Ngyuen hang, but I demand a referendum on the issue of mandatory sentencing.
That's where we pay good money to the drug investigators in the Narcos right?If they can't even investigate the motive of an alleged smuggler properly, we might as well flush down all this tax money..Originally posted by ^spidee^:What if we do that, and drug trafficking increase? Also, how do we truly know whether a trafficker is being forced to smuggle drugs like in Nguyen's case? It is all too ambiguous and subject to manipulation don't you think?
Even with the death sentence as deterrence, drug traffickers exist in Singapore. It's for the greater good of society as a whole I guess.
Originally posted by ditzy:One more guy just got on the news from Bali. Make that the Bali eleven now, up from nine.
Amnesty international gets a load of publicity stunts here in Oz thanks to Nguyen.I hope the stunts can end soon, it really doesn't deserve hogging the news all the time. Lighting up 3000 lanterns in brisbane, like that is going to help. Oh yeah sure.
Nguyen's case even made it all the way to australian parliament. Jeezus...
Today tuesday is melbourne cup day. Mykabe Diva is going to win for the 3rd running this year. 1 punter put $1miilion bet on it to win.
HENG@ is right to point out that we have to view the matter from the perspective of the offender. However, there is also the perspective of society.Originally posted by HENG@:What IF U WERE HIM?
im glad to see your humanity is so cheap u're willing to trade it for something that solves no problems.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Rob a bank...run a brothel...be a loanshark...IN AUSTRALIA. No death penalty there
maybe u all dun want to think again. The 1st law of supply and demand is that there must 1st BE a demand. Why isn't the govt tackling the demand problem then? U get rid of 1, get rid of 10, get rid of 100 smugglers, there will always be more people who can and will be exploited by unsavoury people into committing crimes against their will.Originally posted by launtpc:200gm of drug can mean ruining lives of 5 people.
Ratio is 1:5.
If there are 10,000 drug smugglers, then it will be more than 60,000 Singaporeans suffering more from drugs. The smugglers can smuggle huge amounts.
Why not hang the smugglers so that they will refrain from smuggling, and save the population at the same time?
Do you know about the Opium War? Have you forgotten how China lost HK? Opuim is also a type of drug.
Come on, there are other ways to get money. Legally.
EDIT: Iveco, the release of the GoF movie is 17th Nov. Why is it Dec 1st?
believe me. im thinking from society's point of view to. im thinking:Originally posted by acotis:I am for the death sentence for drug traffickers.
Firstly, in nguyen's case, it is impossible to get the courts to pardon him at this point in time. He committed a crime in Singapore and he must be punished according to the law of Singapore. That he is an Australian or even if the Queen intercedes on his behalf makes no difference. If foreign nations were to see Singapore make an exception for nguyen, it could be potentially disastrous for Singapore. Singapore could be seen as a weak nation ready to buckle under pressure. In the global political arena, foreign nations would use this weakness to push Singapore around to obtain benefit for themselves.
I understand the Australians' reaction towards Nguyen. It is natural for one to stand up for one's own countrymen, especially since Australia does not have the death sentence. However, they too have to understand that since Nguyen broke a law in Singapore, he cannot be pardoned because he is one of them.
HENG@ is right to point out that we have to view the matter from the perspective of the offender. However, there is also the perspective of society.
From the perspective of the offender:To Nguyen, death as a punishment is probably too harsh. But then again no one will accept death as a punishment. He might claim to feel remorse. But in reality, he probably just regrets trying to smuggle drugs into Singapore.
Nguyen might wonder why is he being punished for trying to help his brother and for being 'forced' into this by the drug bosses. But what of the lives he might ruin? He could, with his 400g of drugs, ruin the life of yet another (and maybe more). The drugs, if not found, would ruin the life of more youths like him. They might even enter a life of crime to support their expensive addiction.
From the perspective of the Society:Drug peddlers should be kept as far away as possible. Every one of them has the potential to contribute to the deaths of many more. I think that this is undisputable.
If the death of a few traffickers, who have knowingly committed an act that will potentially destroy members of society, can send a message to others not to try, the death sentence is justified. Since the traffickers have been warned, and since they continue to traffic drugs, they have chosen death themselves.
It is not fair to allow a potentially destructive element of soceity back where he can wreak more havoc just because he does not want to adhere to the rules set by the soceity.
The death penalty is a good deterent against drug trafficking. It may not be the case in other nations, but it is in Singapore. There are statistics to prove it.
A drug trafficker who is released could very well find himself in the same circumstances that forced him to traffic drugs in the first place. He might be an addict once and might become an addict again. he could still have the same financial difficulties that forced him to turn to a life of crime. Being known to the drug lords means that they could still find him and force him into being a drug mule again.
I believe we should not put our society at risk for a person who has violated our laws in full knowledge of the consequences of being caught and the destruction he could bring to society.
Targeting demand solves nothing? Surely a drop in demand will have tremendous effect on supply of any commodity.Originally posted by HENG@:Targetting demand solves nothing, is futile, and ultimately, i sure as hell ain't comfortable about society selling its humanity and soul for nothing.
my bad. typo. i meant targetting SUPPLY.Originally posted by iveco:Targeting demand solves nothing? Surely a drop in demand will have tremendous effect on supply of any commodity.![]()
So you are saying that it's ok to kill someone, just as long as it's not yourself?Originally posted by acotis:I am for the death sentence for drug traffickers.
HENG@ is right to point out that we have to view the matter from the perspective of the offender. However, there is also the perspective of society.
From the perspective of the offender:To Nguyen, death as a punishment is probably too harsh. But then again no one will accept death as a punishment. He might claim to feel remorse. But in reality, he probably just regrets trying to smuggle drugs into Singapore.
Nguyen might wonder why is he being punished for trying to help his brother and for being 'forced' into this by the drug bosses. But what of the lives he might ruin? He could, with his 400g of drugs, ruin the life of yet another (and maybe more). The drugs, if not found, would ruin the life of more youths like him. They might even enter a life of crime to support their expensive addiction.
From the perspective of the Society:Drug peddlers should be kept as far away as possible. Every one of them has the potential to contribute to the deaths of many more. I think that this is undisputable.
If the death of a few traffickers, who have knowingly committed an act that will potentially destroy members of society, can send a message to others not to try, the death sentence is justified. Since the traffickers have been warned, and since they continue to traffic drugs, they have chosen death themselves.
It is not fair to allow a potentially destructive element of soceity back where he can wreak more havoc just because he does not want to adhere to the rules set by the soceity.
The death penalty is a good deterent against drug trafficking. It may not be the case in other nations, but it is in Singapore. There are statistics to prove it.
May i know what do you define as "selling our humanity"? We do not sell our humanity by sentencing criminals to death. On the other hand, criminals sold their humanity committing acts that they know full well will bring harm to society.Originally posted by HENG@:As a society, is it worth selling our humanity under the pretext of protecting ourselves? When what we should really be combating is 'demand' because there is NEVER supply without demand. No one want to buy, who want to do a money lossing business? Targetting supply solves nothing, is futile, and ultimately, i sure as hell ain't comfortable about society selling its humanity and soul for nothing.