How come you take such a complicated approach? Got simpler one. Go see my answer.Originally posted by JennTS:question is a(m-b)^2
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
lemme think....
P = a(m^2 - 2mb + b^2)
P = am^2 - 2abm + ab^2
-am^2 + 2amb = P - ab^2
am^2 - 2abm = ab^2 - P
m(am - 2ab) = ab^2 - P
and.....
figure the rest out yourself...i'm stuck. =\
Don't know how you do it. Expansion wrong, answer correct.Originally posted by dragg:then how come the answer is correct?
or is it wrong too?
i think this is correct.Originally posted by deathscythe99:P/A = (M-b)^2
=> b+ (P/A)^1/2 = M
up there got liao ma...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:show show.
isnt it the same?Originally posted by JennTS:i think this is correct.
Yup. But you skip steps. Students don't understand why plus b suddenly pop up.Originally posted by JennTS:i think this is correct.
cos it is at the right hand side, so u bring it to the left hand side, need to convert the sign maOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup. But you skip steps. Students don't understand why plus b suddenly pop up.
possible to do it mentally actually.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yup. But you skip steps. Students don't understand why plus b suddenly pop up.
How can you convert the sign when you bring the b to left hand side? You forgot there is the power. Need to remove the power before you can do that. Do step by step lah.Originally posted by rainee:cos it is at the right hand side, so u bring it to the left hand side, need to convert the sign ma![]()
u bring the power 2 to the left hand side, it becomes square root. then left with M-b at the right hand side. So you bring b over to the left hand side, so you would have +/- square root (P/A) + bOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:How can you convert the sign when you bring the b to left hand side? You forgot there is the power. Need to remove the power before you can do that. Do step by step lah.
O Levels cannot do mentally. No marks awarded for correct answer.Originally posted by JennTS:possible to do it mentally actually.
P/a = (m-b)^2
(P/a)^½ = m-b
b + (P/a)^½ = m
hmm...but wat about the knowledge that once u switch sides, the sign will change and if you have power, u bring it over, it will become square root? how to explain those leh?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:O Levels cannot do mentally. No marks awarded for correct answer.

Power cannot bring over then immediately become square root or some other roots. If you square root your left hand side, then you need to square root right hand side so that it is correct.Originally posted by rainee:hmm...but wat about the knowledge that once u switch sides, the sign will change and if you have power, u bring it over, it will become square root? how to explain those leh?
hmm, I got sth...but it is very very long...Originally posted by Texcoco II:
How?
x^2=4, how would u do?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Power cannot bring over then immediately become square root or some other roots. If you square root your left hand side, then you need to square root right hand side so that it is correct.
You from RI? This question hard leh.Originally posted by Texcoco II:
How?
the working si bei long...need to scan if he wans to see the workingOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You from RI? This question hard leh.
hanor hanorOriginally posted by rainee:the working si bei long...need to scan if he wans to see the working![]()
i m still waiting for the answer...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:hanor hanor