hahaha..okie lehz..i noticed tat some jus lik to enjoy e sand more than others..Originally posted by the Bear:my hamsters eat almost everything that i eat.. including chicken and noodles and peanuts...
my hamsters have all lived past 3 years!
i figure the huge variety of food keeps them healthy
my current hamster is stupid.. he doesn't even know how to clean himself in a sand bath
Originally posted by alfagal:hahaha..okie lehz..i noticed tat some jus lik to enjoy e sand more than others..
my hamham jus likes to go into the bathhouse even he jus went there one min ago..then u can see him starting to toss n turn there...
hahaha..u ar..spoilt him..Originally posted by the Bear:mine doesn't know what to do at all!
i sprinkle some sand on him and he sits there and just looks at me.. now, he's so spoilt, the big sunflower seeds, he'll take and throw them on the floor.. until you got to open for him
so to try to get him to go back to opening the seeds again, i'm "starving" him.. make him open the seeds himself

yeah.. female hamsters smaller.. would you have sex with a much bigger woman?yeah lah, but i scared female hamsters will be more emotional than male hamsters leh. is it?(like in humans)
yeah but female hamsters are more likely to die of diseases at old age..but female hamsters is it they live longer? because in humans, females live up to 8 - 10 years longer than males, so does it apply to hamsters as well?
hee..ever tried giving them potato chips n choc..they ate on e spot and *poof* gone already e food..can give hamsters meat anot? like shreds of chicken or fish?
my current hamster is stupid.. he doesn't even know how to clean himself in a sand bathwhat sand bath? i thought u use water???
Originally posted by leddy:what i do to give my hamsters protein is catch those bugs that fly into ur house and feed it... and they love it.. esp those brown and black bettles
ya the colour very nice!Originally posted by the Bear:he's a Campbell's Russian Dwarf Hamster
the "generic" dwarf hamster.. i like this breed because they have the least genetic problems and their health is pretty good if you look after them well.. and also, i like the colour of them
i used to haf a ww who doesnt know how to clear herself oso de.. jus dig here dig there..... the robos worse... they become very scared onli in the sandOriginally posted by the Bear:the syrian is kinda big compared to these campbell's
and hopefully, you get one which is smarter than mine.. and knows how to clean itself
u mean e pizza piece right..Originally posted by alexkusu:look so yum!
i was thinkin of cute meaty lambs on a kebab stickOriginally posted by alfagal:u mean e pizza piece right..
/kick ur @ssOriginally posted by alexkusu:i was thinkin of cute meaty lambs on a kebab stick
supposed to give them mealworms once a week or something.. but give them boiled egg white or some small strips of chickenbut this is really confusing.....hamsters are herbivores right? or are they carnivores? or omnivores? because i always compare hamsters with rabbits and rabbits never eat meat one leh.
get them really young and handle and play with them a lot.. so they will be accustomed to being handled and will not bite..but the pet shop(Pet Mart) got young ones meh? i thought almost all are like halfway through adult-hood already? not sure if i can trust the uncle leh.
then both females died ard 2.5 yrs old, both cos of skin disease..can see lump on e skin..like cancer or tumor like tat lobut how can they get such things? i mean, if you wash them everyday and give them healthy food, also cannot avoid such things meh? very scary leh.
pls do not bathe them in water..they are terrified of them..(although they can swim in water) can be seen as after u really bathe them, they throw up and soon u can see much more feces and they tremble..use sand..they are more friendly..easier for u too...cos they can jus own time own target (OTOT) go in n out of e bathhouseanother thing i don't understand.......no matter how good the sand is, how can it make the hamster clean? in the end, the dirt/fleas will still get on the hamster and worse still, some of the sand will get stuck between the fur.....ugh.
the sand... good quality = more fine. anyway, any brand will do lah.. and 1KG can last for a very very long time if u only have one hamster okay!!!! no worries. the hamster will know what to do with the sand one. it's their natural instinct.Originally posted by Nikar:another thing i don't understand.......no matter how good the sand is, how can it make the hamster clean? in the end, the dirt/fleas will still get on the hamster and worse still, some of the sand will get stuck between the fur.....ugh.
last thing.......the soft sand cost how much? like 1 KG == S$8? or more?(i'm talking about good quality one)
thanks!
nikar.