Originally posted by sinicker:for cages, i recommend the habitrail series..
habitrail safari.
habitrail space station.
you can purchase add-ons which act as a look-out tower or even as a place to put the bathing sand..
do they still sell these cages now? it's been ard 8mths since my last hamster died.
ic.. i like the habitrail space station space toilet. it's so easy to clear up!Originally posted by the Bear:the "expandable" ones? yeah.. they still do

Looks nice..btw alfa, u hungry?Originally posted by alfagal:
Bear: yeah i did it! hur hur...
these two are my hammies..xiaobai n xiaohei
tatz xiaobai in her safari cage, but i din put sand in the 'toilet' in the second storey..i put food there..wan them to climb upstairs to get food..i placed the bathhouse below..(bought one for them) wan them to clean themselves regulary...hee!
xiaohei is in the aromatherapy burner..of cos no candle below la..tot he looked cute in a cup looking thingy...

turtles or tortoises do thatOriginally posted by sohguanh:This craze for dwarf hammies remind my hammie 2 years back. Hahhaaha.... now they all died. Wat remains of their memories are their making love rites hahahaa.... besides their cuteness lor
Ever wonder why animals hump from behind and not in front like humans?![]()
HAH?!?!?! outside ur house hamster appear?!Originally posted by Texcoco II:just not a long a ago sometimes very funny happen.....I FOUND a hamster outside my home door wandering around loh! I managed to catch it and together with another hamster I already kept, I keep her and now they're best friends,imagine that
Yah....true I wake up first morning open door saw something running outside...I run after it and saw it was a white dwarf hamster! It happened very early in the morning and i knida dazed when i saw it, i put it in my cage with my another existing hamster...at first they fight but now they're great friends! As far as i am concerned i do not think that the hamster escaped from my neighbours as they dun keep hamsters...so far the origin of that hamster is still a mysteryOriginally posted by sinicker:HAH?!?!?! outside ur house hamster appear?!
Originally posted by sohguanh:
[b]so far the origin of that hamster is still a mystery
I was thinking could it be the reincarnation of someone close to you? It has taken the form of a dwarf hammie to be close to you?[/b]
ar bishOriginally posted by alexkusu:Looks nice..btw alfa, u hungry?![]()
ya la alex.....now we know how rich he is...Originally posted by the Bear:using an old PC tower supported by an airconditioner box to become a barbeque..
wow...
1. i dun think it matters that muchOriginally posted by Nikar:by the way, 4 more questions :
1) should i change the layout/design the cage every 2 - 3 weeks? because i scared later the hamster gets very bored.
2) secondly, do hamsters sleep during the same time as humans? like 10 pm to 8 am or so?
3) is it healthy for the hamster if i just keep one? that is, i scared if i buy just 1 hamster, later it gets very lonely and depressed. but i've no intention of getting 2 or more. does anyone have just 1 hamster, alone?
4) should i put some block of wood/rubber duck in the cage for the hamster to saw it's teeth?
thanks!
nikar.
4.yup can go n buy them at the pet shops..give it to them early, or they will soon have e habit to chew off things in e cage...including the metal strips tat makes up e cage..tatz wat happened to my hammie..it alsochewed off the bottled water rubber, in e end, the bottle always emptied v fast..cos it was leaking due to the lost rubber..thanks alfagirl!
1. yes v easy to drink. in fact u dun have to buy e whole bottle (alternatively jus go buy the whole bottle plus the head, comes together...), u can use one bottle at home and buy e 'head' from pet shops..one trick to make it work is tat..although there is water in the bottle, when u place it upside down, remember to 'play' with the metal ball inside..make sure water leaks out and u see air bubbles in the bottle. sometimes, the air stops water from flowing out..so e poor guy has no water to drink..it works like ur ball point pen, e hamster doesnt need to suck.Originally posted by Nikar:thanks alfagirl!
1) regarding the water bottle(those kinds that are hanged upside down near the cage and got one metal straw sticking out), will the hamsters be able to drink easily from that? from the way i see, the water like need to suck very hard before any drop will come out. also, i scared the young hamster(those baby-baby ones) not sure leh.
2) if i put those exercise wheels in the cage, will the hamster be smart enough to run in it anot? or do i need to train them first, like grabbing them and putting them on the wheel and spin it?
thanks!
nikar.
1. don't change the layout! when they settle themselves, they know where to go for food and where to sleep. sometimes, they would already make their own slping/urinating area. hamsters cannot see far. they use their sense of smell mostly.Originally posted by Nikar:by the way, 4 more questions :
1) should i change the layout/design the cage every 2 - 3 weeks? because i scared later the hamster gets very bored.
2) secondly, do hamsters sleep during the same time as humans? like 10 pm to 8 am or so?
3) is it healthy for the hamster if i just keep one? that is, i scared if i buy just 1 hamster, later it gets very lonely and depressed. but i've no intention of getting 2 or more. does anyone have just 1 hamster, alone?
4) should i put some block of wood/rubber duck in the cage for the hamster to saw it's teeth?
thanks!
nikar.
Originally posted by sohguanh:ah.. i made a mistake...
[b]turtles or tortoises do that
You mean turtles or tortoise hump in front like we humans? Man aint it painful and awkward to lie with their shell facing the floor? You see them mate before?[/b]
which one's better? active? or lazy?Originally posted by sinicker:oh yes, if you are going to the pet shop.. go during the early evening. 5-7pm... this is when the hamsters just wake up and you can see who are the active ones and who are the plain lazy ones.