Interacted before.Most still see US as their final destination.Originally posted by sinicker:now.. everyone here.. how often do you interact wiv PRCs in ur life?
i've been with them since 2002. it's not something simple like understanding them and all...
for one thing, u can be the one to understand them. but for them to understand u? honestly speaking, they wouldn't even care abt u.
SG is just a stepping stone to them. after they're done with their sponsored education(which is what you paid as taxes) here, they'll leave. SG government hoping after they study, they'll contribute to our economy? not so simple.
i feel closer to korean than to oversea chinese,especlally southeast asian chineseOriginally posted by Ray2:Hypothetical question:-
Being a Singaporean Chinese, do you feel closer to a Malay Singaporean who is your tong bao, or do you feel closer to a PRC who speaks the same heart language as you???![]()
indians ?wash yourself before you come into ,then do not let me smell your stanger odorOriginally posted by TheIndian:So you run a restaurant? Cool! What if I (an Indian) come to your restaurant and can speak broken Chinese. Will you let me in?![]()
s.korea .in china .you can see korean frequently ,there are 1 million korean and o.1 million students in china ,even more than korean in usa ,Originally posted by laurence82:Which korean?
i dont know if the South Koreans are that keen to be close to China![]()
oh, i am so luckyOriginally posted by Karl L:hey chinaman, singapore's a multi racial society so dun go around shooting your mouth, disrupting the social cohesion here.
and btw, i have something else to say, the majority of mainland chinese disgust me. you're just a perfect example of one.
we also learn english .from kindergarten to university ,chinese only to high skhool,but english is just a subject ,so .not goodOriginally posted by TheIndian:Well said.. I completely agree with you.. Btw, In India, other then the state of Tamil Nadu, all other states must learn 3 languages in school. One is English, another is Hindi and the last one is that particular state language. On top of that when I was there I was learning Sanskrit and French too. =)
Originally posted by aniyaseo:can tell
[b]we also learn english .from kindergarten to university ,chinese only to high skhool,but english is just a subject ,so .not good[/b]
Says a lot about your progress towards multi-racialism and understanding other races.Homogenous nations do not prosper in the long term.Originally posted by aniyaseo:indians ?wash yourself before you come into ,then do not let me smell your stanger odor
Originally posted by aniyaseo:You gotta be kidding about that man! OMG! You learn it from kindergarten?!! All these years I was thinking that you all learn just like 2 or 3 years ago hence the bad grammar and semantical mistakes. But you can't be pardoned at all if you have been learning from kindergarten!!! Goodness!
[b]we also learn english .from kindergarten to university ,chinese only to high skhool,but english is just a subject ,so .not good[/b]
Can tell from their treatment of their minoritiesOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Says a lot about your progress towards multi-racialism and understanding other races.Homogenous nations do not prosper in the long term.
i did that when i was working in Shanghai... & worse.. it's a phone order for take-away.. so can't even point picture...Originally posted by FireIce:lets see how u will make a fool of urself when u go china and order mac in chinese
that is absolutely right that we learn english now is from kindergarten,and english is most important subject in school .in univ ,if you can not pass cet -4 ,you can not gradute .Originally posted by TheIndian:You gotta be kidding about that man! OMG! You learn it from kindergarten?!! All these years I was thinking that you all learn just like 2 or 3 years ago hence the bad grammar and semantical mistakes. But you can't be pardoned at all if you have been learning from kindergarten!!! Goodness!
You English is totally pathetic! Its f*cked up! Its miserable! And I bet you are RE-READING every sentence in each post just to understand what we are talking about.
And people, I know for a fact that there are many Indian restaurants in China and Chinese love to eat Indian food. (maybe not all but they are some of them) So Mr Aniyaseo, what do u think these Chinese do when they go to Indian restaurants? Y can't they smell the strange odour you were talking about? lolz..
See the difference? We welcome you with a bright smile and affection although you are not our race but you? Haiz.. And stop killing innocent animals for f*ck's sake in you restaurant aniyaseo. Then all those WIERD diseases will stop..
when i hear wrongly, i will also say that mah...very common, even among singaporeans...just heard wrongly so respond wrongly lor.....Originally posted by sinicker:this happened just abt 30mins ago at McDonald's at Tampines East CC. i was waiting for my counter cashier to prepare my meal and i overheard this PRC couple from the counter beside me...
PRC guy : One McSpicy Double meal.
Cashier : Upsize?
PRC Guy : Spicy please.
Cashier :Would you like to upsize your meal?
PRC Guy : No.
-Cashier goes to take his food-
Upsize? Spicy please?? i wonder what he was thinking.
share what?,you want to get trouble,a sick man .Originally posted by sinicker:when i was in Sec 3, i had a new classmate. this PRC fellow from dono-which-part-of-china. he had no friends. we tried very hard to mix with him and bring him into our circle of friends. he would give the same reason like "i'm busy.. very sorry." (yes, u can imagine how their english would be)
3/4 months later, he ran away frm home and booked a ticket to beijing and flew off w/o telling any1 of us. not even his parents. it became a police case and my classmates and myself were all complicated in it. the reason he gave for running away : they didnt want to be friends with me.
Dec 2004. OBS in Pulau Ubin. we all thought that we would be with students from other junior colleges or something.. when we reached Ubin, we found out that majority of the campers were PRC scholars who just came in. being in a sports CCA, me and my friends went thru rigorous physical exercise for OBS, thinking that it would be stretenous. 5 days with PRCs. in a group of 15, 10 were PRCs, 5 were my schmates.
the instructor told us all to be ready in PE attire coz' we're going to do a jetty jump. DESPITE THIS SIMPLE INSTRUCTION, they turned up wearing long pants and jeans!! isnt it ironic that they do so well in sch but cant understand simple instructions..
and on the last day.. the instructor told me and my friends.. the locals lah.. that our OBS had activities cut off coz' of the PRCs. as in our OBS was less challenging, or shud i say not challenging at all.
Jan 2005. PRCs were in the 1st 3 months of JC. after this 1st 3 months, they would go and join the universities in singapore in july(which they are already in now). as usual, 1st 3 months syllabus is very slack.. yet, some of them had to blatantly shout to the tutor... "this is very easy!!!" (yes, again, u can imagine how they wud say it)
it's not that i hate them. as the saying goes, when u're in rome, do what the romans do.. as a visitor, they shud know the do's and don'ts. be humble. any similar experiences anyone wud like to share?
so th man who post this is a sick manOriginally posted by nightzip:when i hear wrongly, i will also say that mah...very common, even among singaporeans...just heard wrongly so respond wrongly lor.....
a simple case of miscom...![]()
get lost and go to malay forums lohOriginally posted by Dr Who:HELLO----English is not our National language. It is MALAY, if you don't know.....
They OFTEN make fools of themselves, and then utterly denies it later.Originally posted by sinicker:no...
it's nice to see PRCs ard making a fool of themselves.
It's a deadly cocktail of pride and nuclear weapons.Originally posted by ShutterBug:They OFTEN make fools of themselves, and then utterly denies it later.
Same goes with mistakes they make at work - they NEVER own up.