Compassion is a misunderstood word.Originally posted by Weirdo80:Ugh, reading these forums really shows the horrible side of Singaporeans. No compassion, joking about death. Makes me sick to the stomach and damned ashamed to be called a Singaporean.
People are not pissed off about the hanging so much as being dulan about the lack of compassion that this horrible speck in the ocean has.
I tell you, someday all this will come back and bite Singapore. What makes it even worse is the fact that I spent 2.5 yrs serving the regime that funds Burmese drug lords. And here the politicians are, trying to be all high and mighty while stuffing their coffers with drug money. Sickening!
There is never smoke without fire.The truth is that, even Lo Hsing Han aside, the government has very close ties to the junta even to the extent of miltary sales, and this to a dictatorial regime that uses oppression on its citizens, is highly suspect.Originally posted by Chin Eng:Is Lo Hsing Han allowed to move freely in and out of Singapore, for example?
Unless Lo Hsing Han is an escape convict or a wanted criminal in his country of origin there is no reason to prevent him from entering Singapore. If he did what he did out of Singapore, what can immigration do?
Has the government investigated the background of Lo's son Steven Law, who has been denied a U.S. visa on suspicion of drug trafficking?
The fact that Steven Law was denied a US visa is immaterial. Do we act according to US's judgement, and if we do, what is the world's view on us?
Will the government state clearly that Burma's junta is not helping or turning a blind eye to drugtrafficking?
I believe enough was stated by the Singapore government, whether others believe or accept or not is not the issue.
As far as I can tell, this particular story stems from a very narrow scope of reporting. A search for this story in the Internet, seems to state the the original source was the same. Example: http://www.thirdworldtraveler.com/Global_Secrets_Lies/BurmaSingapore_Drugs.html
Also Chee Soon Juan has shown to be a person with very little credibility. Outward the image of an oppressed opposition seem to work wonders with foreign politicians, but in reality, we all know what kind of person he really is. It would be good if the accusations come from Low Khia Thiang or Chiam See Tong.
In a way, this statement is not far from the truth. I do not believe that there is ONE government in the world that is totally untainted some way or other. On the same tone, I believe each individual is a hypocrite one time or other.Originally posted by LazerLordz:There is never smoke without fire.The truth is that, even Lo Hsing Han aside, the government has very close ties to the junta even to the extent of miltary sales, and this to a dictatorial regime that uses oppression on its citizens, is highly suspect.
You have a point.I'm only outlining the fact that the Burmese connections stretches way beyond the current ASEAN FTA spirit.It stretches back to the beginning of the 1970s, with Israeli involvement in the selfsame military and surveillance equipment support from them.Originally posted by Chin Eng:In a way, this statement is not far from the truth. I do not believe that there is ONE government in the world that is totally untainted some way or other. On the same tone, I believe each individual is a hypocrite one time or other.
The issue at hand is: the rationale for the tough drug law is for drugs LANDING on our borders, in which case NYT is guilty of doing. The law, as well as the punishment, is clear to him and anyone else reaching here.
The moment the argument shifts to issues like compassion, those who did not sin..., second chance, mother issue, alleged Burmese connection, then there is really no end lah. That being the case, no need law lor!
The murky issue with Burma may have to do with ASEAN trade agreement. Arms sales? Like all businesses, we sell to whoever want to pay. On the same note, when we buy weapons, Malaysia also kowpeh.
We are probably NOT the only country dealing with Burma. If I want to nitpick, I'd say that Malaysia is also involved because Kuok Singapore (not sure of the actual name) owns by Robert Kuok who is a Malaysian (I believe).
It is enough to say that the reports quoted were very old, unless something newer and more solid comes around, there is very little purpose in harping on old allegations.
Well said, Laz...Originally posted by LazerLordz:You have a point.I'm only outlining the fact that the Burmese connections stretches way beyond the current ASEAN FTA spirit.It stretches back to the beginning of the 1970s, with Israeli involvement in the selfsame military and surveillance equipment support from them.
It's all business,I'm sure.But it's still highly suspect.
Think from another point of view, some factions always benefit when issues are forgotten or hushed up.
I see Singapore being more pro-active on the Burma issue, and that is a good step forward.No point letting that nation drag ASEAN down.Someone has to stand up at one point and let them know that fact.
Well, I think Singapore can expect some very serious scrutiny for quite a while.
And not before time.
Bear, I'm in SG at the moment.Originally posted by the Bear:dude.. you're over there, we're here...
he was here too...
bleeding hearts aside, what pissed me off is all the australian press..
it's as if he deserves special treatment because he's australian
barbaric or not, again, it's not the call of the australians.. others think it's barbaric to eat grubs.. but we're not going into that either
Well.. its to those whinners out there who keeps on bombaring the justice system of SG. I for one agree in the death penalty and as a deterrent. Drugs make ppl become f*ked up.. I personally love drugs but , but if u are caught with it.. u got no one to blame but urself.Originally posted by Croaking_Toad:Is that supposed to be funny???
It's sad to see a young life put to an end. It's also sad to see why he did it in the first place.
But knowing very well the consequences of his actions, is not forgivable. I do not understand why the Australians can't see why the death sentence was imposed for drug offenses. For them, maybe a wrecked family is a normal thing.
Countries such as Singapore imposed the mandatory death sentence mainly as a deterent. However, some idiots still try their luck. Never, did we proclaim that the population here is drug-free. But certainly it's much better than in countries where drug related problems are viewed with a closed eye.
Would be interesting to see what the layperson of Australia thinks of the death sentence for drug offences. Would also be interesting to know their feelings if someone in their family was involved in drugs. How would they handle such situation?
why should i do humanity a lesson and be bound by ur rules and principles ? i am not bound by ur moral values. U dun like my so called humour then maybe he shouldnt post at chit-chat for me to poke fun at. If u dun like it.. why not u do me a favour and shut up.Originally posted by fudgester:What a disgusting piece of so-called humour. I am highly revolted by this piece of crap which you posted.
Poking fun at the execution of a person is not a joke, regardless of the fact that Nguyen is a drug trafficker. You may feel safe and empowered saying all this while hiding behind that computer screen of yours.... well, try telling that to Nguyen's loved ones in the face.
Bet you don't have the gonads to do that. So please do humanity a favour and shut up.
SpecOps, that was in VERY poor taste. Considering three out of the four men have finished their sentences and are trying to get on with their lives, your bringing up the issue when discussing something entirely unrelated is just not acceptable.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Mebbe we can ask the 4 CDOs involved in the drowning incident to drown Ngyuen instead. Since they like to drown people, ask them try lor.If they succeed at one attempt,grant them early release.haha,just kidding.
I disagree. Death sentence is indeed a deterence to me.Originally posted by wallabyBob:I think the main problem most Australians have with this case is that the sentence is mandatory. It's hard to understand why that would be the case if Singapore truly wants to stop drug trafficking. Nguyen helped the police and pleaded guilty, and risked the safety of his family in doing so. But he was killed anyway.
Why would any future defendants ever do this?
Killing this kid will do precisely nothing to curb the flow of drugs through Changi airport, but dealing with him and future traffickers might at least go some way to getting to source of this evil drug.
Make a mistake, pay for it.Originally posted by wallabyBob:As for this...
Well I just hope you never make a stupid mistake Simon.
Are you from the opposition party? Well, passing off remarks without the facts/evidences to back your statement just gave you the eligibility to join their ranks.Originally posted by Weirdo80:Ugh, reading these forums really shows the horrible side of Singaporeans. No compassion, joking about death. Makes me sick to the stomach and damned ashamed to be called a Singaporean.
People are not pissed off about the hanging so much as being dulan about the lack of compassion that this horrible speck in the ocean has.
I tell you, someday all this will come back and bite Singapore. What makes it even worse is the fact that I spent 2.5 yrs serving the regime that funds Burmese drug lords. And here the politicians are, trying to be all high and mighty while stuffing their coffers with drug money. Sickening!