Always like this one la, have to get used to it.Originally posted by sinicker:i nearly died.
junction of Tg Rhu Rd/Fort Rd/Meyer Rd.
i was gg str8 to ECP frm Mountbatten Rd. one road bike behind me. another cyclist on the pedestrian crossing there. green light at my favour.. waved to the cyclist out of goodwill. then the car wanna turn right frm Fort Rd to Meyer Rd.. cant even wait for me to pass the junction. horn at me. braked hard.
to all drivers, please treat cyclists as a road user.

What irritates me the most, apart from drivers not giving way are the drivers who drive so close & i'm already cycling on the double yellow lines yet i feel the vehicle passing just few cm apart from me.Originally posted by sinicker:i was doing abt 30km/h.. cant he just wait for me and the pakcik behind me to pass. wah lau eh..
I also share ur experience at the same area! The drivers there think they own the road! just because we are not "fast" in crossing the road, they'll horn at us or make rude gestures at us!Originally posted by sinicker:i nearly died.
junction of Tg Rhu Rd/Fort Rd/Meyer Rd.
i was gg str8 to ECP frm Mountbatten Rd. one road bike behind me. another cyclist on the pedestrian crossing there. green light at my favour.. waved to the cyclist out of goodwill. then the car wanna turn right frm Fort Rd to Meyer Rd.. cant even wait for me to pass the junction. horn at me. braked hard.
to all drivers, please treat cyclists as a road user.
Dun worry, the new range of ROCK SHOX's are doing great. Damping via motion control has improved but I will give u a more detailed once I have my REBA on.Originally posted by markzz:I prefer Fox Fork! Its heavier, but its damping is really good! Absorbs shocks well and wun bob so much! Hmm... Have u heard of a bike brand called Xtension? It's Downhill bikes are wonderful!![]()
I'm more afraid of the "wind Vortex " that big trucks make when they zoom pass u at Coastal Road. I had to countersteer in order to fight the force that's sucking me outwards into the next lane!!!! Summore I'm using a not so light MTB! Imagine how those roadies with super light road bikes feel when they kana the Vortex!Originally posted by de_middle:What irritates me the most, apart from drivers not giving way are the drivers who drive so close & i'm already cycling on the double yellow lines yet i feel the vehicle passing just few cm apart from me.
Plus just yesterday as i was passing dempsy road approaching botanic gardens/gleneagles towards orchard/tanglin. This stupid black merz, i was so damn near to the junction & that idiot still turned from opposite side, can her him dragging his engine just to cut across me.
Jammed on my discs, plus the discs have not been bleeded fully, probably 30cm to hitting him & becoming SUPERMAN.
On the way to changi point, was a killer man, wind resistance was strong & now my calfs are hurting![]()
Originally posted by de_middle:Why dun u get a Road Bike for road riding?
Now my setup is more or less completed, it goes like this:
Giant ATX890
LX M580 hollowtech II crankset, rear dee, front dee, cassette, disc brake levers, rotors, hubs, skewers & cables
XT M751 rapidfire shifters
Deore M535 callipers
DT swiss with sapin laser spokes & maxxis larsen mimo
syntace stem
cane creek s6 headset
easton EA70 handlebar
amoeba bm 120 barends
thomson elite seatpost
fizik dolomoti saddle
rock shox reba race 2006
Total cost impact : $2300+
And its still as light as my previous setup, though i must admit, LX is slow on gear change [b]but i'm 95% on the road so its FINE. use XTR if you want quick changing of gears when challenging trails.
Get XT can liao, don't find much difference bewteen xt and xtr.Originally posted by de_middle:Now my setup is more or less completed, it goes like this:
Giant ATX890
LX M580 hollowtech II crankset, rear dee, front dee, cassette, disc brake levers, rotors, hubs, skewers & cables
XT M751 rapidfire shifters
Deore M535 callipers
DT swiss with sapin laser spokes & maxxis larsen mimo
syntace stem
cane creek s6 headset
easton EA70 handlebar
amoeba bm 120 barends
thomson elite seatpost
fizik dolomoti saddle
rock shox reba race 2006
Total cost impact : $2300+
And its still as light as my previous setup, though i must admit, LX is slow on gear change but i'm 95% on the road so its FINE. use XTR if you want quick changing of gears when challenging trails.
yah yah.. i scared of this too.. now, i dont cycle coastal road anymore.Originally posted by markzz:I'm more afraid of the "wind Vortex " that big trucks make when they zoom pass u at Coastal Road. I had to countersteer in order to fight the force that's sucking me outwards into the next lane!!!! Summore I'm using a not so light MTB! Imagine how those roadies with super light road bikes feel when they kana the Vortex!![]()
Dun worry la.. Just dun cycle too out can liaoz! hehe..Originally posted by sinicker:yah yah.. i scared of this too.. now, i dont cycle coastal road anymore.
cycle too in, every few metres the longkang like got downslope.. to allow the water to flow into the drain. cycle too out, how much out? i everytime abt 1m frm kerb.Originally posted by markzz:Dun worry la.. Just dun cycle too out can liaoz! hehe..
I cycle 1cm from the Yellow line painted on the side of the road. Be careful when riding pass the construction site along Coastal Road- there are DOGS there!Originally posted by sinicker:cycle too in, every few metres the longkang like got downslope.. to allow the water to flow into the drain. cycle too out, how much out? i everytime abt 1m frm kerb.
oh, u cycle towards changi beach ah?Originally posted by markzz:I cycle 1cm from the Yellow line painted on the side of the road. Be careful when riding pass the construction site along Coastal Road- there are DOGS there!I always scare them away with my airhorn if they get too close for comfort!
me. when i was small.Originally posted by S2K4:anyone rode a tricycle before?
Road bike, nah im afraid of the speed & wheels. Road bikes can oly choose certain roads to cycle, got small stones or sand also cannot. Before cycling must recee first.Originally posted by markzz:Why dun u get a Road Bike for road riding?
Yup, XT is infact the best priced grouppo in the shimano range, with technology close to XTR.Originally posted by seow:Get XT can liao, don't find much difference bewteen xt and xtr.![]()

why cancelled? Bah...Originally posted by sinicker:wah fun ah. i went there xmas eve. hehe..
tmr cycling cancelled. boo.