Nope... not christianOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):i believe u a christian right?? and u dun get his msg right?![]()
big then dua ki ar? xie jiao = xie jiao. i rather go believe in those zhen paiOriginally posted by alberteinstein:CHC was started by three persons, Kong, Sun and a friend. All three majored in psychology. At first, they held prayers in one of the menbers home. Then slowly when the strength grew larger, they moved to a place(think is paya lebar, can't remb exactly).
After some time, paya lebar also cannot tahan the membership, so they go to the hall for their sessions. Soon, even the hall also cannot accomodate the worshippers, so they decided to build the jurong church.
The original design was to be an 8-storey church. But in singapore, rule forbades religious buildings from rising more than 4-storeys. What to do?
They build 4 storeys above the ground, and 4 storeys below! How much money was needed for underground 4 storeys, you guess...
Then the carpark, initially the roads were made glossy like marble material. During rainy days, cars had problems going up slope, hence they decide to change to normal road materials. From this, you can see how directed are they towards material wealth!!
No doubt, rev kong is a very charismatic guy. He can also earn a lot of money from the church because it is after all, his "little empire". If he has the ways to earn money from the churchgoers, so be it. Just that many people, including myself, see already buay song. Maybe we are jealous. But seriously, if I were to choose a church, there are so many out there. Why CHC?
Very trueOriginally posted by saline:i feel that since they have so much $$, y not help the people that needs it? building bigger and grander church seems all ego to me.
sure they need the space, but i am sure u can build a modest church that is big enough AND still have $$ to help the people that needs it.
just my 2cents
cant say they are xie jiao lah. But their way is not the best way.Originally posted by Technomage:big then dua ki ar? xie jiao = xie jiao. i rather go believe in those zhen pai
if need space ... add more service then ... any issue on that ...Originally posted by saline:i feel that since they have so much $$, y not help the people that needs it? building bigger and grander church seems all ego to me.
sure they need the space, but i am sure u can build a modest church that is big enough AND still have $$ to help the people that needs it.
just my 2cents
When i was young, i loved going to CHC and spend about 5 years there. I went there for the hype and fun. There's a long period of time i'm really serious and devout most of my time and $ there. Only when i left the church, then i realise there's better churches.Originally posted by alberteinstein:But seriously, if I were to choose a church, there are so many out there. Why CHC?
tiring mah. if i am not wrong, all the services are done by rev kong only. Less services means he got more time to enjoy his wealth.Originally posted by antoh:if need space ... add more service then ... any issue on that ...
New Creation have 4 service a day why not CHC?
I think they want to glorify God with their bigger and grander church??Originally posted by saline:i feel that since they have so much $$, y not help the people that needs it? building bigger and grander church seems all ego to me.
just my 2cents
100% agree. some people don't even know what they are flaming about actually. funny how.. christians and jews are always the ones being persecuted, not muslims, not budhists, not taoists, not cults. so to say that christianity is just another religion is totally irrelevant.Originally posted by Li Ka Shing:Hello.....if I may offer my opinion.
It is my observation that CHC is one of the Protestant churches who believes more specifically in God's blessings including material blessings and wealth/ prosperity. It is fully embraced. This is pretty common. US got alot.
When u say it shames other Christians, it is their chosen focus/ belief. There are many diverging focus in Christianity and each has its own colour, its own angle, its own emphasis.
An expensive house of worship is not unique to Protestants or CHC only. Like the grand mosques in Arab countries or Buddha temples with gold. They are expensive too.
The thing about CHC, I say, is their choice. Stop critisizing them by saying they are mixing religion with money. The money is part of the religion, it's inside and it's embraced. It is part of the religious belief. To critisize them so often about the money part is insensitive. You can't use your measuring stick.
yup. and it's happening now. see...? people are hating jesus and his followers.Originally posted by askxyz:Didn't Jesus tell us that the world will hate people who follow Jesus?
well.. hating the followers for??Originally posted by laurence82:Is there anything in the thread that mention Jesus?
There is difference between hating a religion and their followers, and just hating the followers.