..... yeahhhh!! me too!!!!Originally posted by SGpork:fish n chip
wa hungry..
..... wahhh!! damn fierce sia...even my fighting fish also no fightOriginally posted by elindra:Have 3 freshwater stingrays and a Leopard Catfish plus some rocketfish
all good fish. you must be quite well off.Originally posted by skeujin:i keep pomfret, cod n salmon in my freezer...![]()
Originally posted by sohguanh:but its a very nice to eat n versatile fish. can b stetamed, fried w salt n pepper or sliced n boiled in soup.
[b]pomfret
Pomfret is the one diamond shaped body fish rite? Got white and so-called black one. Steam it with chilli and mushroom slices very nice to eat... but it is a bit more expensive[/b]
..... thot stingrays are for makan only, bbq with sambal chilli, put it on a banana leave, squeeze some limes and ready to serve. Ohh don't forget to order 2 bottles of singa beer.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Freshwater stingrays! Wow! How long have you been keeping them? Which type are they? Reticulated/Hystrix (the totally brown ones) or the Motoro (brown/black with round orange spots)? Any pics to share?
I tried keeping a reticulated ray before but it died after a week of self-imposed starvation...
aiya im definatly not well off.Originally posted by dragg:all good fish. you must be quite well off.
stingrays good for cukg w assam too...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... thot stingrays are for makan only, bbq with sambal chilli, put it on a banana leave, squeeze some limes and ready to serve. Ohh don't forget to order 2 bottles of singa beer.![]()
arrowana?Originally posted by Komon:I got 17 fish tanks and i keep almost everything except lou han and they say in chinese "Jin Long Yu" i forgot how it is call in english i even keep beaks![]()
so soon?Originally posted by skeujin:aiya im definatly not well off.
i dont stinge on food. specially wen im eating it.
and basically its not really ex if u knw whr n wen to get it. my freezer is already stockd w large prawns for CNY steamboat last week...![]()
prices of seafood n veggies will start to rise as CNY approaches. if im not wrong it already has... usual trend mah. it will go up to at least 3 - 4 times the normal price.Originally posted by dragg:so soon?
not exactly lah. its also a period whr demand exceeds supply.Originally posted by dragg:oh ya.
legalised daylight robbery.![]()
Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... wah...bery seldom know of girls keeping fish![]()
..... should be..,Originally posted by shinta:arrowana?
different breeds?Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... should be..,
but in Indonesia, people caught them and eat, over there very common. The rivers and lakes are full of them. Over here it is treated like diamonds, no wonder so expensive.![]()
..... ic ic , initially i thot it was some mutant fish that had breed out from a space lab, sounds so strange. Almost like the crocodile fish, the mouth long long look like a beak....Originally posted by elindra:Oh I need to clarify that the Rocket Fish is a direct chinese translation
I think they are called half-beaks in english
..... but guppies multiplied very fastOriginally posted by aHGer^83:
eh... alrite lah... family pet wad...
i oso dun really noe much abt them.. only know feed them lor.. den they help me eat mosquitoes eggs![]()
..... now lou han not popular liow, there is a pond in the park near my place, got alot of lou han fish, big and small. Only the Thai workers caught them and bbq them. They said taste better than those snakeheads and tilapias. Those thai workers got good tasteOriginally posted by tigeer2:i use to keep many guppies but then too many too dirty...
then i kept lou han fish... small one take care till big big one... i tink one got Cock tou![]()
..... thot there are three types gold, silver and red? and the silver one are very common. i guessed the Indonesian eat the silver one.Originally posted by dragg:different breeds?
I tried feeding it a variety of foods... live baby catfishes, live freshwater shrimps, live tubifex worms, frozen bloodworms and even defrosted tiger prawn meat (the type we eat). It ate happily for a few days, then stopped eating for no reason, and died a few days later.. Haiz..Originally posted by elindra:I have both
The Reticulates aren't really totally brown. They have markings on them too. You can get pretty nice markings as well.
I have both. One of my Reticulates died due to water problems
I don't have very good pics of them though
Self-Imposed starvation? What did you feed them with?