The silver ones are relatively cheap... juveniles usually cost little more than $10. But they do grow into large, meaty giants.. I think the Indonesians keep them in their paddy fields.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... thot there are three types gold, silver and red? and the silver one are very common. i guessed the Indonesian eat the silver one.![]()
I have a True Percula clownfish, a yellow tang, an emporer angelfish and a red coris wrasse.. all saltwater fishes.Originally posted by Fatum:anyone keeps saltwater fishes ? ...
how's the maintenance ah ? ... and the initial setup ? ...Originally posted by cornyfish2000:I have a True Percula clownfish, a yellow tang, an emporer angelfish and a red coris wrasse.. all saltwater fishes.![]()
Well the amount of equipment and maintenance really depends on the type of lifestock you intend to keep in your tank.Originally posted by Fatum:how's the maintenance ah ? ... and the initial setup ? ...
I'm keeping only fresh water fishes at the moment ...
Nope, not true... i am dead poor and darn lazy.Originally posted by sohguanh:So I can safely assume when someone say he/she keep saltwater fishes at home it means he/she must be rich and patient and gotta do so much things compared to a fresh water fishes collector rite?![]()
I think you need some overflow drainage system in your pond to drain off the excess water when it rains... like in swimming pools.Originally posted by Angel†:i used to keep fishes in fountain/pond thing in my garden..but wen it rains, the water level rise up and fish escaped to the drain![]()
hmm..maybe hor..scare eh..later fish also go inside the systemOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:I think you need some overflow drainage system in your pond to drain off the excess water when it rains... like in swimming pools.
4ft reef tankOriginally posted by Fatum:anyone keeps saltwater fishes ? ...
Do you maintain it yourself?Originally posted by XsIcSiCsIcX:4ft reef tank![]()
yah... i started wif 10 guppies.. 5 in each mini "bowl" (i got 2 "bowls")Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... but guppies multiplied very fast![]()
my cat used to like to eat steamed fresh luo han... but he's sick of it liaoz...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... now lou han not popular liow, there is a pond in the park near my place, got alot of lou han fish, big and small. Only the Thai workers caught them and bbq them. They said taste better than those snakeheads and tilapias. Those thai workers got good taste![]()
Err. I know a shop that brings them in often.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:I tried feeding it a variety of foods... live baby catfishes, live freshwater shrimps, live tubifex worms, frozen bloodworms and even defrosted tiger prawn meat (the type we eat). It ate happily for a few days, then stopped eating for no reason, and died a few days later.. Haiz..
I had wanted to get another one, but the owner of the fish shop told me to gain more experience keeping other freshwater fishes first before trying stingrays. Anyway, they are a rare sight in local aquariums... How much did you get yours for? I got my small reticulated ray for almost 70 bucks, that unfortunately lasted little more than a week.![]()
..... whhh lau ehh..semi d nia.. I live under a coconut treeOriginally posted by Angel†:semi d nia la..nth much
..... yupp.. I saw Arapaima before, that was in Johore Baru, at one of the Giant Supermarket. The tank was damned huge, inside got around ten of them. All freaking big mann!! they looked liked crocodile, there are also some really biggg snakeheads.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:The silver ones are relatively cheap... juveniles usually cost little more than $10. But they do grow into large, meaty giants.. I think the Indonesians keep them in their paddy fields.
Anyone seen the Arapaima before? It is on display at Underwater World.. the largest freshwater fish in the world.. can grow up to 8 feet or more. I think the one in Underwater World is at least 2m. Enough to feed a family of 4 for a month.
..... ever try to convert salt water fish to fresh water fish? i had seem people do it with Archer fish and Kim Kor fishOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:I have a True Percula clownfish, a yellow tang, an emporer angelfish and a red coris wrasse.. all saltwater fishes.![]()
..... how come you keep your bowl outside leh? you live in a bunglow?Originally posted by aHGer^83:yah... i started wif 10 guppies.. 5 in each mini "bowl" (i got 2 "bowls")
den everytime it starts to rain super heavy, my "bowls" overflow. den cfm got at leas 3 guppies flow out n die.. now i have abt 30 in each "bowls" altogether.. 60..how come i got so much??
..... your cat must be having a good life. You meant you bought live one, killed it and steamed it? The shop owner never ask you what have you done to the luo han fish? So what is your cat latest aquired taste.. smoked salmon or shark fin soup?Originally posted by aHGer^83:my cat used to like to eat steamed fresh luo han... but he's sick of it liaoz...
last time my pub got 1 luo han. my boss buy liaoz, den i oways play wif it, my col. will feed it, den my bos will clean the tank himself lor.. so it's our "family" fish oso...![]()
Just a pic of the Recs with my phone. Not very clear pics. You can't see the markings on them hereOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:Freshwater stingrays! Wow! How long have you been keeping them? Which type are they? Reticulated/Hystrix (the totally brown ones) or the Motoro (brown/black with round orange spots)? Any pics to share?
I tried keeping a reticulated ray before but it died after a week of self-imposed starvation...