Wow, can tell me the location of the shop? My heart itchy liao..Originally posted by elindra:Err. I know a shop that brings them in often.
I got mine for $65. The motoros were at $95 bucks each I think.
Sometimes when the water condition is not correct they won't eat. Need to check on the PH regularly and also ensure that the temperature is between 27oC to 29oC. Sometimes, they won't eat if it is around 27oC so raising it to about 28oC helps.
Also, if the nitrate levels are too high they won't eat as well so a weekly water change is required (1/4 tank) but make sure you treat the water before pouring it in and ensure that the filter does not have too much residue in it.
Very nice! I want one too...Originally posted by elindra:Just a pic of the Recs with my phone. Not very clear pics. You can't see the markings on them here
Oh yes, the last time i went Underwater World (sometime last year), they had this Giants of the Amazon display... got lots of gigantic freshwater fishes like the Redtail catfish, Walking catfish, arapaima, north american gars...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... yupp.. I saw Arapaima before, that was in Johore Baru, at one of the Giant Supermarket. The tank was damned huge, inside got around ten of them. All freaking big mann!! they looked liked crocodile, there are also some really biggg snakeheads.
I thot undersea world is for salt water fish, Arapaima is fresh water leh??![]()
Normally the arowanas are found in the canals and rivers of Indonesia, they can't survive in shallow water on paddy fields, they rear tilapias instead.![]()
Oh cannot... True marine fishes cannot tolerate total freshwater... they can tolerate half-strength saltwater at most.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... ever try to convert salt water fish to fresh water fish? i had seem people do it with Archer fish and Kim Kor fish![]()
It's the aquarium near Kovan MRT. Btw he gave us a special discount coz we were always buying from him.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Wow, can tell me the location of the shop? My heart itchy liao..
$95 for a motoro is a good deal.. the old fish shop owner quoted me $150...
Stingrays are fussy little creatures. During the days of its self-imposed starvation, my stingray kept darting up to the water surface every few seconds, looking terribly distressed. Those few days i changed water every alternate day but it still died.. hiya.
That's walking distance from my house!Originally posted by elindra:It's the aquarium near Kovan MRT. Btw he gave us a special discount coz we were always buying from him.
He has a fresh batch of motoros. We were the first to buy from his batch. The markings on this batch is pretty good.
Actually motoros are easy to keep than recs.
I dunno if he still has stock though coz a few people placed orders with him. Anyway this is his last batch till June coz they are having heavy rains at the Amazon right now and they have problems catching the rays. June is ray season so he might get more species in
He tried bringing in some polka dots but the whole batch died. He has quite a few other fishes which you don't see in other aquariums. His fresh water moray eel is still thereI posted the pics once. It's fugly.
I got my oddball Leopard catfish with 2 mouths from him too
Yeah that is the with the big carpark in front. They have been bringing in lots of rays.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:That's walking distance from my house!Is it the shop with a big carpark right at its doorstep, with flower nurseries across the carpark?
Or is it the one near NTUC and Yamaha music school?
Aah... freshwater moray eels... I kept one before.
Really fugly, ya, i agree. But totally interesting. Fascinating hunting behaviour, especially when fed live prey. I used to feed mine with live freshwater glass shrimps and it'll get really excited. The thing is, morays are naturally blind and hunt with their sense of smell. It will go probing all the nooks and crannies looking for the little shrimp.
My mum hated it cos it looked and slithered around the rocks like a snake. It opens its mouth every few seconds to breathe, and then you can see the sharp row of teeth inside. It will slither out of the tank too if the tank is not covered.
i talked to the younger guy, the one with the neatly combed hair.. and frankly i think his attitude sucks. The last time i went, i found that the prices of the fishes there were so much more expensive than elsewhere. They were selling baby redtail catfishes for $48 each, when other places were selling at $28. I got some painted glassfishes from them last time, and the fishes brought with them white spot parasitic disease, wiping out my entire tank. Which was why i never went back to that shop again.. but hey, the rays sure sound attractive. Maybe it's time i pay them a visit again.Originally posted by elindra:Yeah that is the with the big carpark in front. They have been bringing in lots of rays.
Err did you talk to the old man or the younger guy?
Haha yeah the moray tried to escape a few times and scared the hell out of my friend's son as he was beside the tank. It looks so fugly I didn't even one to touch it.
haha... the netting... dun put.. cos got deco all ard it.. got snails oso lei..Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... how come you keep your bowl outside leh? you live in a bunglow?
well you can make a netting cover, when it rains, only the water flow out and you saved the guppies. What types of guppies you keeping? big fan tail, snakeskin with sissors tail or the black type? i think you need to get more bowls liow...
.....for the question..you need to ask your guppies " What have you fellows been doing?"![]()
no lah.. go pond fish one lah... lol... now ah.. he like char siew...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... your cat must be having a good life. You meant you bought live one, killed it and steamed it? The shop owner never ask you what have you done to the luo han fish? So what is your cat latest aquired taste.. smoked salmon or shark fin soup?
..... I guessed your boss luo han fish also ended up in your cat stomach liow![]()
looks.. B-E-A-Utiful!Originally posted by elindra:Just a pic of the Recs with my phone. Not very clear pics. You can't see the markings on them here
I dunno? Maybe he sells by judging customers?? Coz we have been getting prices cheaper than other places.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:i talked to the younger guy, the one with the neatly combed hair.. and frankly i think his attitude sucks. The last time i went, i found that the prices of the fishes there were so much more expensive than elsewhere. They were selling baby redtail catfishes for $48 each, when other places were selling at $28. I got some painted glassfishes from them last time, and the fishes brought with them white spot parasitic disease, wiping out my entire tank. Which was why i never went back to that shop again.. but hey, the rays sure sound attractive. Maybe it's time i pay them a visit again.
Btw never try putting your hand into a tank with a moray eel inside.. they have a really painful bite (though not poisonous, thankfully)..
..... got decor around it? sounds liked a stone fountain to me. still you can drill a hole near to the top, and seal it with a piece of netting. Like that the water flow out but the fishes stay in. The snails you have, are those painted very colourful one? Ohh yess, the fan tail guppies really colourful, when it swims, the tail move like a flag. Market sells one each for 50 cents, but if you go to some aquariums they sell for $2.50 each!!Originally posted by aHGer^83:haha... the netting... dun put.. cos got deco all ard it.. got snails oso lei..
the normal fan tail one lor....very colorful dat one lei...
..... wahh your cat must be fat like Garfield, Since it ate so many luo han fish, does your cat got a hump on its head??Like the ba lu ko fruit. Raw salmon ahh .. quite expensive right? both of you can sit down and have your meal together.....haha first time heard of fish eating peanuts, but can the luo han fish chew the nut or not, so hard....Originally posted by aHGer^83:no lah.. go pond fish one lah... lol... now ah.. he like char siew...
he prefer raw salmon lei...(like me!!!)
my boss' luo han ah.. he put at his hse now liaoz lor.. cos he gave up the pub... but the fish got used to eating peanuts (thrown in by "basketball players" customers) den every now and then, throw tantrums until it taste a peanut![]()
..... its that a mama stingray and baby sting? Looks very healthy leh. The other day at fish shop saw stingrays with tiger stripes, quite nice. How come your tank so plain leh.. no water plant or rock for the rays to take cover? How big can they grow up to? Can they mix with other fish? Where does the sting comes from actually?Originally posted by elindra:Just a pic of the Recs with my phone. Not very clear pics. You can't see the markings on them here
Haha no. They are both about the same size actually and they are both only 4" pups. Both babies. I think it's the camera angle that one looks much bigger.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... its that a mama stingray and baby sting? Looks very healthy leh. The other day at fish shop saw stingrays with tiger stripes, quite nice. How come your tank so plain leh.. no water plant or rock for the rays to take cover? How big can they grow up to? Can they mix with other fish? Where does the sting comes from actually?
..... saw on TV " Earthvision " those stingrays.. Manta ray and Devils ray were giant in size, but they only eat phamtons.
..... btw..what makes you decide to rear stingrays? any particular reasons? i find them quite boring, always stay at the bottom![]()
Errr... i don't suppose the half-beaks and guppies are meant to be permanent tank attractions right? Cos they might not last long in a ray tank leh..Originally posted by elindra:Haha no. They are both about the same size actually and they are both only 4" pups. Both babies. I think it's the camera angle that one looks much bigger.
Rays don't take cover with water plants and rocks or sharp objects is not recommanded to have in the tank as it may scratch their delicate underbelly. If they are frightened or just wanna hide, they tend to bury themselves in the sand, even in nature.
They can mix with other fish which are not aggressive and tends to stay at the top. Some people keep rays with arowanas but not suggested if the arowana is very aggressive. My friend's ray have already lost it's tail to his arowana. I keep mine with half-beaks and guppies
Rays are actually very interesting to look at, especially when they hunt for food. They do go to the top though when it's food is hiding at the top.At least mine does coz the feeder catfish goes to the top to hide now, and it's very nice to see them glide through the water...kinda like flying.
They can grow up to 2' or more depending on their species. Their sting is located at the top of their tail. Very poisonous. You have to get your anti-venom shot within 8 hours and it's very painful as well from what I understand.
There are many fascinating subspecies in the stingray family, especially the marine stingrays. In particular, i like the guitarfish... looks very unique and cool.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... its that a mama stingray and baby sting? Looks very healthy leh. The other day at fish shop saw stingrays with tiger stripes, quite nice. How come your tank so plain leh.. no water plant or rock for the rays to take cover? How big can they grow up to? Can they mix with other fish? Where does the sting comes from actually?
..... saw on TV " Earthvision " those stingrays.. Manta ray and Devils ray were giant in size, but they only eat phamtons.
..... btw..what makes you decide to rear stingrays? any particular reasons? i find them quite boring, always stay at the bottom![]()

Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... got decor around it? sounds liked a stone fountain to me. still you can drill a hole near to the top, and seal it with a piece of netting. Like that the water flow out but the fishes stay in. The snails you have, are those painted very colourful one? Ohh yess, the fan tail guppies really colourful, when it swims, the tail move like a flag. Market sells one each for 50 cents, but if you go to some aquariums they sell for $2.50 each!!![]()
not chew lah... she kissed the peanut.. like a cat licking the fish lydat lor...Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:..... wahh your cat must be fat like Garfield, Since it ate so many luo han fish, does your cat got a hump on its head??Like the ba lu ko fruit. Raw salmon ahh .. quite expensive right? both of you can sit down and have your meal together.....haha first time heard of fish eating peanuts, but can the luo han fish chew the nut or not, so hard....![]()

..... besides the rect/motoro rays, are there any other fresh water rays around? it seems like those are the two types i had seem in most of the aquariums.Originally posted by elindra:Haha no. They are both about the same size actually and they are both only 4" pups. Both babies. I think it's the camera angle that one looks much bigger.
Rays don't take cover with water plants and rocks or sharp objects is not recommanded to have in the tank as it may scratch their delicate underbelly. If they are frightened or just wanna hide, they tend to bury themselves in the sand, even in nature.
They can mix with other fish which are not aggressive and tends to stay at the top. Some people keep rays with arowanas but not suggested if the arowana is very aggressive. My friend's ray have already lost it's tail to his arowana. I keep mine with half-beaks and guppies
Rays are actually very interesting to look at, especially when they hunt for food. They do go to the top though when it's food is hiding at the top.At least mine does coz the feeder catfish goes to the top to hide now, and it's very nice to see them glide through the water...kinda like flying.
They can grow up to 2' or more depending on their species. Their sting is located at the top of their tail. Very poisonous. You have to get your anti-venom shot within 8 hours and it's very painful as well from what I understand.
..... nice pics!! it certainly look liked a guitar, who knows they can play a tune or two when nobody is watchingOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:There are many fascinating subspecies in the stingray family, especially the marine stingrays. In particular, i like the guitarfish... looks very unique and cool.
Then there's the electric ray, capable of discharging up to 50V of electricity into the water, enough to stun the unwary aquarist who puts his hand into the fishtank.