14 Feb, you guys can be so funny when guessing dates. Want your Valentine's Day to be spoilt ar?Originally posted by redstone:People are guessing 14 or 10 feb....
Most likely to get into IT rather than Business Information Technology. Testimonial no use unless got portfolio or you win some competitions.Originally posted by Brock_F5:hi all..taken o lv in 2005 now waiting for result.. just read all of the 5 pages..@[email protected] ask u all a qns.. like say i got 20 points and i want to get in a course Business Information Technology (SP) which is 18 points.. my testimonial has comments abt me having talents in the IT, do u think i can have the course? or the testimonial is no use? thx for answering..
Yup. But they don't read it unless you really win competitions or have portfolios to support you.Originally posted by Brock_F5:so the testimonial saying that i am talented in the IT area is still valid?
Computer engineering more towards hardware rather than software. That's why hard lah.Originally posted by HolySniper:i got 23 l1r4.. lol.. but i got into electronic comp engg... but my fren 13pts + a d7 for sci can't get into any engg course..
btw, dun tink it/comp easy... u got interest in programming? in analog electronic calculation like diodes all these? wah liew veri difficult manz..![]()
Even if all of your other subjects are distinctions....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Computer engineering more towards hardware rather than software. That's why hard lah.
D7 for science... can appeal ma, but on case by case basis. He never get in after appeal?
Cannot like that say. If you want to do biomedical science yet fail science, how to convince people you can do well? So for IT also the same. IT is a lot of logic and maths. Fail maths how to convince them that you can do well in IT?Originally posted by redstone:Even if all of your other subjects are distinctions....
Once you do not meet requirements for Eng, Math and Science, appealing has only a very slim chance of success.![]()
Should look at what the person has, rather than what he doesn't.
Archi is more of arts than scientific or mathematical....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Cannot like that say. If you want to do biomedical science yet fail science, how to convince people you can do well? So for IT also the same. IT is a lot of logic and maths. Fail maths how to convince them that you can do well in IT?
At least get a D7. E8 shows that you are not very good. At least D7 shows that you know something throughout your education.![]()
Make full use of the new JAE system.Originally posted by redstone:Archi is more of arts than scientific or mathematical....
And.....
You knew what happened....![]()
Originally posted by redstone:I think the 'mark' left by 1988 people would affect the later batches...
Me no choose JC route.... but poly also got lots of dragon babies...Originally posted by Chelzea:![]()
Me wan cry liao.veri difficult A levels le dis yr bah
So sway part of e dragon babies....like dat more competiton 4 uni places huh??//
I say you're crazy....Originally posted by Chelzea:Aiyah ,decide go poly or jc veri simple de......
MAle-JC
Female-Poly
Rationale being female study so hard 4 wad,jus get adequately educated can le,best can find rich hubby ...oso gt chance upgrade later in life mah.
MAle lah,in spore,knn ,no Uni degree ,generally cant get good prospects in life de unless ur papa rich lor.......
Stereotype.Originally posted by Chelzea:Aiyah ,decide go poly or jc veri simple de......
MAle-JC
Female-Poly
Rationale being female study so hard 4 wad,jus get adequately educated can le,best can find rich hubby ...oso gt chance upgrade later in life mah.
MAle lah,in spore,knn ,no Uni degree ,generally cant get good prospects in life de unless ur papa rich lor.......
However,wad i say above are jus some factors in addition to equally impt ones like interest bah............
16th feb is ard mid febOriginally posted by LancerVII:u sure?? only heard from MOE saying tat ard mid feb.. but never say the exact date..
I say, there's an over emphasism on official exam results, so much that talent and other qualitites/achievements are completely ignored.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Talent and what-not is unrecognisable in the Singapore context, unless it is backed up by a successful application of that talent in a national or international arena, those are the only criteria that might let the school admit certain students.
Portfolios and testimonials are only useful when you have made the cut-off and are already in consideration for admission.This is how most schools work, be it local, or a liberal arts college in New Mexico.![]()