Originally posted by chanff8:Rip out yr old hard disk, set jumper to Slave (I think, refer to the hard disk manual for jumper instructions, if you still have it).
Connect hard disk to new com. It should detect it on startup and appear as a second drive.
Transfer data over... Settled.
If not, borrow an external hard disk from your friend or something, then transfer files over
no no no, u didn't get him. there are the following standards:Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:That's what I'm trying to say.
Ya la , this is what i am saying , so many standard , make me even more blur . I just wanna transfer some of my documents .Originally posted by ^tamago^:no no no, u didn't get him. there are the following standards:
CD or CD-ROM
CD-R
CD-RW
DVD or DVD-ROM
DVD-R
DVD+RW (the only one with +)
DVD-RW
DVD-RAM
That's what I'm trying to say.Originally posted by ^tamago^:no no no, u didn't get him. there are the following standards:
CD or CD-ROM
CD-R
CD-RW
DVD or DVD-ROM
DVD-R
DVD+RW (the only one with +)
DVD-RW
DVD-RAM
If you are patient, teach one lazy method that I use.Originally posted by Poolman:Old PC still in working condition , rip out the HDD a bit sayang , my son can still use the old PC play game leh . That's why i headache about some of my documents inside the old PC , seem like thumb drive solve my problems .
Thanks guys , tmr will go down Sim Lim buy a cheap one , i check net liao , about $55-$80 can get like 256KB one , transfer bits by bits ... until i transfer all my datas .
If some friend can lend me even better , i can borrow from him .
You aware that if you rip out you can put the hard-disk back in again?Originally posted by Poolman:Old PC still in working condition , rip out the HDD a bit sayang , my son can still use the old PC play game leh . That's why i headache about some of my documents inside the old PC , seem like thumb drive solve my problems .
Thanks guys , tmr will go down Sim Lim buy a cheap one , i check net liao , about $55-$80 can get like 256KB one , transfer bits by bits ... until i transfer all my datas .
If some friend can lend me even better , i can borrow from him .
Originally posted by launtpc:You aware that if you rip out you can put the hard-disk back in again?![]()
there are latge file sharing host domains that can let u upload a certain capapcity of data...so wif this method no need to sign up need email account...some more email limited capaccity for large file transfer.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:If you are patient, teach one lazy method that I use.
Sign up another email account. Using your current email account, email your files to the new email account. Use your new computer to access the new email account, download the files into your HDD.![]()
Not another suggestion , I more blur liao , LAN ?????Originally posted by stellazio:if your files ain't that big just slowly transfer using thumbdrive..
if u got home network can trasfer using lan cable i think..
My old PC the old HDD has a bit of problem , i scared rip-off the old HDD might ruin my new PC , no risk .Originally posted by launtpc:You aware that if you rip out you can put the hard-disk back in again?![]()
Oops , yeah , it's MB ..... not KB , typo ....Originally posted by newmanmback:there are latge file sharing host domains that can let u upload a certain capapcity of data...so wif this method no need to sign up need email account...some more email limited capaccity for large file transfer.
for the guy wif the problem, just upload all the data to the host, set a password....giv son the comp, get a new comp, install the same internal account on new comp, get to the site with your password, download and save.
its good to see that ppl can still suggest the basic and most simple way to transfer files....wif thumbdrive. but if the so called important data less that 1 MB...then use floppy disk can oredi.
by the way no one sells 256kb thumbdrive...only 256MB thumbdrive.
there are many ways to transfer files between 2 comp.
use a usb bridge cable with drivers and manager software to transfer files via USB between 2 computers.
if yr comps have the RJ45 port and is at least 10/100 T-base with network capability (on-board) or card installed, u can use a rj45 cable to connect up the 2 comp as a network for file sharing...thus file transfer. no drivers or sftware required but just need to configure yr comps network connections.
burning your data on cd-r, dvd-r is also one method as file transfer or sharing.
using an external portable hard disk serve the same purpose too.
if all yr hdd pata then u can just connect up this older hdd with precious data to another comp....set omp to boot from this older hdd, so the exisitng hdd will appear as another drive in the comp...transfer the data then from "C" to the existing hdd. power down everything. remove the older hdd and put it back to yr old comp for children to play game. delete the precious data or back it up. now at your new comp, change the setting back to it was and let it boot from the existing hdd. there is your new data transfered
the last method.....get professional help and pay for it![]()
He means setting up a Home Network Connection if you have a router, enabling both your computers to go online and at the same time share files with each otherOriginally posted by Poolman:Not another suggestion , I more blur liao , LAN ?????
This is the last option i would do , main reason , i would learn nothing after that !Originally posted by newmanmback:the last method.....get professional help and pay for it![]()
no neeed router/ switch.....only 2 computers with 10/100 T-base and RJ45 port. such simple connecttion only connects up 2 2 pcs. if u want to share files and make at least 3 pcs conenct...need router/ switch. in the thread starter's case....i am assuming 2 pcs enough....so just need to check comp hardware settings and get one ethernet cable can oredi lor no need drivers and software alsoOriginally posted by chanff8:He means setting up a Home Network Connection if you have a router, enabling both your computers to go online and at the same time share files with each other
yes. and this method is the fastest and most cost effective one. A cross cable only cost a few bucks and can be use for future tranfering.Originally posted by newmanmback:no neeed router.....only 2 computers with 10/100 T-base and RJ45 port. such simple connecttion only connects up 2 2 pcs. if u want to share files and make at least 3 pcs conenct...need router. in the thread starter's case....i am assuming 2 pcs enough....so just need to check comp hardware settings and get one ethernet cable can oredi lor no need drivers and software also![]()
now with this guy's help...FOCOriginally posted by nightzip:i can lend you a 256mb thumbdrive if you need it.
Just PM me.
but remember to return me.![]()
lemme try n consolidate..Originally posted by Poolman:This is the last option i would do , main reason , i would learn nothing after that !
Now I'm learning from Pro people like you guys .![]()
for point 1 yes it is definitely an easy one for SATA drives. boot up options is easy and no hassle cable connection. But PATA's cabling is tough not to mentioned care has to be taken to change the drive boot options in bios so that u can boot from the correct drive and transfer files to the other....well in this case i guess it doesn't matter which drive u boot from since the files will appear anyway in C or the newly assigned drive lettering.Originally posted by Ito_^:lemme try n consolidate..
1. bring your old harddrive over and plug it in as secondary/slave drive. din noe it works until this topic. lol.
2. get a tumbdrive or external drive. <-- this i recommend. i have 2 external drives. 2.5" to carry around n 3.5" to store data.
3. make a home network using a router or direct connection. i recommend a router.. easier imo.
4. burn your data into cds, using cd-burner. no point actually, might as well bring yr hdd over if u dun have cd-burner.