If the system does not force you to do CIP, will you do it willingly?Originally posted by jianfish9:I think to force people to do CIP is quite lame.
Community Service is supposed to be from the heart. Forcing people is so defeating the purpose.
Anyway, I know of people putting stones in the bag to increase the weight.![]()
Originally posted by SGEMP:P.S. now I am having difficulties in my CCA (Computer Club), needing urgent help and support.........thanks.
actually my main purpose is not to get back my 5 hrs worth of CIP..i wana emphasize if charities is right to set this 'minimum amt set' approach for flag day...i agree on yr wait-and-see approach...my seniors clarified wid me that he will raise this matter to our teacher in charge...and we'll see how it goes...Originally posted by SGEMP:Seeing all the responses, I also felt very deep sympathy for the threadstarter of this series of messages.
It is actually very unfair of the organiser to rob a student's CIP only because of insufficient amount raised in a particular flag-day.
Already a student has used up a lot of precious time (which could be used for further revision of school works) and energy begging the passer-bys for money. Besides, (based on my own experience in last year) they also had to use their own expense should they intend to go to other parts of SG for fundraising.
And so I clearly felt the unfairness of the CIP system (some CIP works of mine weren't taken into account actually, resulting in the "actual" CIP hours being lesser than originally stated --- and lesser CCA points. Worsening the matters, activities weren't on own initiative until recently when there were some emphasis on Own time own target.), unfairness of the organisers, and the anguish of everyone in regard/response to this.
So, for now, what the threadstarter can do now is to take on a wait-and-see approach. Only when the organiser is really intending to rob away the threadstarter's CIP hours, that his/her efforts were NOT recognised (i.e. by means of certs of participation), and that teachers in-charge ignored his/her efforts/demands, then the threadstarter should surface this matter to the Straits Times.
Also, with this, it may be an advise to anyone on OTOT CIPs to AVOID participating flag-days at all costs, and choose other activities (i.e. tutoring progs) instead.
(A gd material for me to present to the school I am studying in and thence the class committee of my class.)
P.S. now I am having difficulties in my CCA (Computer Club), needing urgent help and support.........thanks.
You should be able to report them for pressure tactics and hard sell.Originally posted by lpx88:ok today i hav CIP..flag day...went around collecting money for 5 hours..then upon giving the money we collected to the adult volunteers there, quite a number of us either had to forfeit our CIP hours or redo the whole thing because they say the money collected is not enough. My friends and i were lyk wtf where got such thing one.Most of us had put in the effort and went around collecting. I was in Ochard road..the pople i asked all brushed me away.Then is like even though we forfeited our CIP as the adult volunteers claimed that the amount we collected was not enough, they still took the money...it's lyk since u claim it was not enuf and not happy with it..and yet u still keep the money collected and we got nothin for our 5 hours of effort?what the hell?And then becoz earlier on we went to them alrdy..they say not enuf..some of us use notes to exchange for coins and in the end still cannot make it... Anyone got similiar experiences?
take the initiative to sort it out urself...Originally posted by lpx88:my seniors clarified wid me that he will raise this matter to our teacher in charge...and we'll see how it goes...
wow 1st post after 7 mthsOriginally posted by MilkCar:I was in that thing too! Viriya? Damn them. They wasted our time, say wad money not enough. People use their own sweat go collect say cannot. This kind of charity is not charity sia.
I have not read the other replys.. but here's my view...Originally posted by lpx88:ok today i hav CIP..flag day...went around collecting money for 5 hours..then upon giving the money we collected to the adult volunteers there, quite a number of us either had to forfeit our CIP hours or redo the whole thing because they say the money collected is not enough. My friends and i were lyk wtf where got such thing one.Most of us had put in the effort and went around collecting. I was in Ochard road..the pople i asked all brushed me away.Then is like even though we forfeited our CIP as the adult volunteers claimed that the amount we collected was not enough, they still took the money...it's lyk since u claim it was not enuf and not happy with it..and yet u still keep the money collected and we got nothin for our 5 hours of effort?what the hell?And then becoz earlier on we went to them alrdy..they say not enuf..some of us use notes to exchange for coins and in the end still cannot make it... Anyone got similiar experiences?
He secondary student...Originally posted by gd4u:I have not read the other replys.. but here's my view...
The failure of education. The spirit of helping is gone, thanks to CIP.
Well, I dun blame you. But well, u can write to the press, get ur parents to call MOE on their CIP guidelines. Anway, by ur nick, u are most probably a JC2 student> If so, ur sch will place that 5 hrs into ur record, so no worries.
ok look my main concern is not abt getting back my 5 hrs of CIP.rather i felt that it is quite ridiculous for organisations to jus set a minimum amt or sth... collections are self voluntary.It is jus not morally right for charities to want us to collect a minimum amt if the public jus don wana donate.I mean, wad can we students do if the ppl jus don wana donate?...Originally posted by gd4u:I have not read the other replys.. but here's my view...
The failure of education. The spirit of helping is gone, thanks to CIP.
Well, I dun blame you. But well, u can write to the press, get ur parents to call MOE on their CIP guidelines. Anway, by ur nick, u are most probably a JC2 student> If so, ur sch will place that 5 hrs into ur record, so no worries.
I agree the Plastic Collection Bags provides almost not protection over the donations but let rumours be a rumour until it's proven so as it's definately a criminal offence. Even Donation Cans can be targetted. It all goes down to the Volunteer's Morality.Originally posted by Chelzea:Ha.heard a rumour frm frens dat dey dig out e money go play lan and eat mac.
think cos e Plastic collection bag lousy![]()
I don't call it slacking as you need rest. A 10min is quite reasonable since you're standing whole 1 hour right?Originally posted by lpx88:keng...is keng slack?for my grp we slack 3 - 4 times and did nothin much on these occasions...once is sendin a sick member of our grp back to the organisers to arrange him home and the 3 other time is when we take a 10-15 min break between 1 hr plus intervals
Originally posted by lpx88:my skool boys skool wad...![]()
You're a very ambitious young man, and for that I applaude you. But in singapore, the system does not work that way, good things only come to those who know how to shut the fcuk up.Originally posted by lpx88:ok look my main concern is not abt getting back my 5 hrs of CIP.rather i felt that it is quite ridiculous for organisations to jus set a minimum amt or sth... collections are self voluntary.It is jus not morally right for charities to want us to collect a minimum amt if the public jus don wana donate.I mean, wad can we students do if the ppl jus don wana donate?...
I in In Idpnt Skool...but the teachers mus oso see the record wad...if no record how to key in the hrs..the personnel asked us to put a cross thereOriginally posted by gd4u:Sure, wrong to ask for a mimimum amt. Then again, if u are a in a gov sch, chances are, the CIP will be recorded. Then if u r in a non-gov sch, all the more the hrs will be recorded ... ask ur teacher see how. After, it's the school that give out the nu. of hrs, not the voluntary organisation ...
SJI?Originally posted by lpx88:I in In Idpnt Skool...but the teachers mus oso see the record wad...if no record how to key in the hrs..the personnel asked us to put a cross there
ya...wads so funnyOriginally posted by shade343:SJI?![]()