ok...true...each extra year will cost the govt additional...but the govt come up with money...they come up with time...cannot grad...cannot work(talking about full-time work here)...lost-opportunity cost and etc....in the end they are the ones who lose out anyway...Originally posted by shade343:I know some students who pick a certain course just becaused they needed a place even though they have 0 interest in it. They end up staying back and graduating 3 years later than their peers. 3 years of subsidy will cost the government an approximate $30000.
Those who put popular courses and got in because they felt it will be good for their future. But they realized they are hard. In this case, the education is at fault. Irresponsible? Don't think so. But the fact that they do take up some space and denied others of the chance of going to poly can make one angry.Originally posted by shade343:There are many students out there who do not necessary get their course of their choices during JAE. Yet some students in poly, who managed to secure a place in the course of their choice, do not study hard and fool around. In the end, they stay back for a few years.
This is not good as it denies other people a chance to enter that course if those repeat students repeatedly holds on to a place in that course.
The same can be said of students who put certain courses for their first choice simply because "its popular" or "they need a space". These students later lose interest in the course which they are enrolled in and eventually ask for a transfer or drop out of poly.
However, such students have already consumed subsidies from the government and in the process, denied another potential student from getting a place in that course.
Do you think such students are irresponsible? Or is the system the cause of the problem?
it was my yearOriginally posted by stellazio:well in a way at least they did worked hard during their Os to be taking up space in poly..
those that wanted to enter after them,except for the big baby bloom bunch in 1988 probaly didn't worked as hard..
Well, what Im lamenting about is this. Students put courses as their choice which they have 0 interest in. This will ultimately lead to their doom. Some put popular courses as their choice just because its "fashionable" or "popular". If thats the case, these students are irresponsible.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Those who put popular courses and got in because they felt it will be good for their future. But they realized they are hard. In this case, the education is at fault. Irresponsible? Don't think so. But the fact that they do take up some space and denied others of the chance of going to poly can make one angry.
On the other hand, look at the results of those who can't get in. It could be they have poor results and can't get in. In Singapore where meritocracy determines your life, you can't do much. It is limiting in this area, but it also brings out the best. And the education system has changed to cope with the changing world. For example, JPSAE is offered this year. Those who are good at particular areas but failed to enter poly can apply through JPSAE. DAE is also a good idea. It's not like there isn't any alternatives.
As for repeating students, don't judge them too fast. It's how the different polys work. For my poly (RP), some of them stayed back not because they fail modules related to their diploma, but they did not meet the requirements of these 2 modules: Creative Engagement (CE) and Professional Profiling (PP). For the CE module, it requires them to attend talks and seminars both related and unrelated to their diploma. They need to get a certain number of points before they can graduate. Some concentrated on studies and neglected this, resulting in them staying back. In fact, most of my seniors are staying back because of this. Not that they fail in their studies.
1988 or 1989?Originally posted by dark_snowboy:it was my year![]()
This one no choice. Those two courses are compulsory, no matter what diploma you do. That's RP life.Originally posted by shade343:Well, what Im lamenting about is this. Students put courses as their choice which they have 0 interest in. This will ultimately lead to their doom. Some put popular courses as their choice just because its "fashionable" or "popular". If thats the case, these students are irresponsible.
ur year so many people..but they make the paper so easy..knn dunno wad they trying to prove..Originally posted by dark_snowboy:it was my year![]()
As of yesterday i'm no longer a poly student yet awaiting graduation. I slack equally hard as i study.Originally posted by shade343:There are many students out there who do not necessary get their course of their choices during JAE. Yet some students in poly, who managed to secure a place in the course of their choice, do not study hard and fool around. In the end, they stay back for a few years.
This is not good as it denies other people a chance to enter that course if those repeat students repeatedly holds on to a place in that course.
The same can be said of students who put certain courses for their first choice simply because "its popular" or "they need a space". These students later lose interest in the course which they are enrolled in and eventually ask for a transfer or drop out of poly.
However, such students have already consumed subsidies from the government and in the process, denied another potential student from getting a place in that course.
Do you think such students are irresponsible? Or is the system the cause of the problem?
i ever ask my friend why he join the course...Originally posted by shade343:Well, what Im lamenting about is this. Students put courses as their choice which they have 0 interest in. This will ultimately lead to their doom. Some put popular courses as their choice just because its "fashionable" or "popular". If thats the case, these students are irresponsible.
Only the maths paper was easy...Originally posted by stellazio:ur year so many people..but they make the paper so easy..knn dunno wad they trying to prove..
sometimes its only during the midst of course u will find u have actually no interest in...Originally posted by shade343:Well, what Im lamenting about is this. Students put courses as their choice which they have 0 interest in. This will ultimately lead to their doom. Some put popular courses as their choice just because its "fashionable" or "popular". If thats the case, these students are irresponsible.
Irresponsible right? He is denying another potential student ,who may have strong interest, the chance to study in that course.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:i ever ask my friend why he join the course...
his reply : oh...because my friend also choose this course...
i can tell you...he is absolutely clueless about what is happening right now...
It is the student's responsibility to find out what the course is about before making the decision to put it as one of the choice. That is what the JAE is for.Originally posted by borntolive:sometimes its only during the midst of course u will find u have actually no interest in...
borntolive<--/-->responsibiltyOriginally posted by shade343:It is the student's responsibility to find out what the course is about before making the decision to put it as one of the choice. That is what the JAE is for.
how bout u didnt do well enuff to get into the course u wanted..u looked around seeing no other interest..so u choose the one u think which will have a good future..Originally posted by shade343:It is the student's responsibility to find out what the course is about before making the decision to put it as one of the choice. That is what the JAE is for.
hmmm....actually finding out wads the course about doesnt really help much....Originally posted by shade343:It is the student's responsibility to find out what the course is about before making the decision to put it as one of the choice. That is what the JAE is for.
To prevent such a situation from happening, here is the solution. Dont even put any choices for the JAE. Retake O levels and make sure you get into the course of your choice. Do not deny others the opportunity.Originally posted by stellazio:how bout u didnt do well enuff to get into the course u wanted..u looked around seeing no other interest..so u choose the one u think which will have a good future..
but during halfway u find it kinda dry and boring but still u wana carry on and get the diploma and leave poly..
i dun see how u are denying another..if that fella had the interest he should hace scored better to beat me to the spot right?
just like i didn;t cry over spilt milk when i couldn't get into the course i wanted..
and i'm still graduating with the damn cert and not giving up halfway.
what if its based on interview and u couldn't get in?Originally posted by shade343:To prevent such a situation from happening, here is the solution. Dont even put any choices for the JAE. Retake O levels and make sure you get into the course of your choice. Do not deny others the opportunity.
Interest must always take precedence before others.
And the reason why certain courses has very low COP is becos too many ppl rush in and artificially inflate the COP. Some of these ppl are the irresponsible students who have no idea what their interest (if any) is.
lol u better work hard. i was in ece also, got dismissed. i know at least 4other ppl from my course whu gt kicked out oso....Originally posted by HolySniper:wah.. i tot i had interest in electronic n comp engg.. but in the end my results are like shit... facing a crisis of getting retain or tabao module.. or worst expelled...![]()
siao liao la.. i reali gonna die already.. i went poly learnt how to play dota.. and surfnet and 'kop' files..i realised tat if u study u wil be able to pass leh.. it's so easy yet i didn't bother to study.. found out after takin my papers..
Actually, you are quite right. During JAE counselling sessions, some seniors in the course may mislead the students. They always say "our course very good lah" "super fun" etc etc..... Something needs to be done on the level of transparency at such sessions.Originally posted by borntolive:hmmm....actually finding out wads the course about doesnt really help much....
seniors during openhouse say until like very interesting but actually its only their proj ...pamplets also same thing..only tells us the interesting things but ppl like us wont know how much work is needed...
1988Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:1988 or 1989?