Hmm, using Acer for 1 year liao.Originally posted by ^tamago^:bad experience with acer, like more problems generally. every acer pc i see have some kind of problems like does not boot when i install a new pci card, cannot read cd burner at all no matter wat u do with its drivers etc.
not just that....a dedicated graphics card is also like a second processor that just process graphics related stuff...thats y its also called a GPU...and diff GPU got diff clock speeds...something like 2.4ghz is diff from 3.2 ghz...theres also a third processor called sound card...a good sound card can improve performance in high quality games as to generate sound theres also a need for a processor....Originally posted by dark_snowboy:1) It means that its not a integrated graphics card.
Dedicated graphics card sort of have its own RAM(memory) and does not leech RAM from your computer's available RAM. Whereas integrated graphics cards leech RAM from your computer's available RAM. In short, dedicated graphics card is better.
I agree, I have a Sentia for work and an Area51 for home usage.Originally posted by stellazio:go alienware..you'll own the coolest laptop in campus..![]()
based on experience...if u can get a quality one...get from outside...nnb...my friends who bought from school...70% of their laptops got problem...Originally posted by technoboy:Haha... So would you guys think it would be better to get it from school or from outside?
Tomorrow is the last day and I'm afraid I don't have the time to go school to purchase it...
if u don't use it often...what for?Originally posted by stellazio:go alienware..you'll own the coolest laptop in campus..![]()
theres no monthly installment from the brands...oni for acer theres 6 months 0% instalment for OCBC and citibank and theres a Hitachi instalment plan for all booths...Originally posted by YummyGummy:I was at NP yesterday and it clearly showed that Acer and won over the other two brands in terms of sales.Everywhere i turn all i could see was people carrying acer plastic bags. IBM had to even change their brochures after seeing the Acer one.Anyway i don't like the fact that none of the brands empathized on their monthly installment plans.Even though i think all the three brands are offering it.
haha...ignorant...Originally posted by Gladiatos:theres no monthly installment from the brands...oni for acer theres 6 months 0% instalment for OCBC and citibank and theres a Hitachi instalment plan for all booths...
Y buy from outside?sch cheaper wad....any probs they settle for u since its a must for ur sch work....if they dun fix it u can always smile at ur teacher say cannot hand in cause laptop not working..haha...
they have acer...ibm...whats the other one?Originally posted by YummyGummy:I was at NP yesterday and it clearly showed that Acer and won over the other two brands in terms of sales.Everywhere i turn all i could see was people carrying acer plastic bags. IBM had to even change their brochures after seeing the Acer one.Anyway i don't like the fact that none of the brands empathized on their monthly installment plans.Even though i think all the three brands are offering it.
Dell...Originally posted by R3SsH|n:they have acer...ibm...whats the other one?
didn't go and see...
ehh... same here, also owning a 8104. 8104 is too big... just a note for acer laptop users here. heard from the servicing ppl. at acer service centre, acer laptop's motherboard is right below our touchpad. if u abuse it too much, u whole laptop will go hay-wire. aspire is more for entertainment now, since they're adding webcams' high def' graphic cards and wide screen now. acer 3000 series' 11.4 inch screen laptop is way lighter.Originally posted by HolySniper:aiya.. if u avg user u wun see the diff btwn a 4ms lcd monitor to a 24ms lcd monitor.. i haf a 24ms lcd monitor, plays cs smoothly without trailings, so no problem..
btw, 15.4" is quite big and it's veri heavy.. i am a current owner of my 1yr old 8104WLMi.. always kpkbing when going for different class..my fren even worst.. the dell 9300 which weights 3.5kg ( mine's 3kg ).. can see him carry til jialat.. but bo bian his 17"
personally, if u are getting a 15.4", get a better specced laptop.. if not waste the resolution leh..
get the 8204WLMi!am cursing n swearing when 8204WLMi came out.. tmd better than my lappy and it's black with carbon fibre top cover.. some more same price as my laptop too..
overall the laptop u chose is quite ok la.. nt bad..![]()
no la...larger laptop tend to have lesser battery life due to the larger screen resolution...but it also depend on the type of usage at the moment...play game...of course battery deplete faster...Originally posted by kimoyam:Anyone buying Aspire 5502ZWXMi here? I am a noob in labtops and I have heard that its battery life is no good, or is every labtop like that? Have to order by tml![]()
wah. Really? what is the website? thanks fr the info !Originally posted by HolySniper:buy frm school definitely better.. better support, cheaper..
my 8104 can run on batt for 4.5hrs be4 conking out.. with undervolting and disabling bluetooth n firewire..
anyway, acer laptop can be ordered online for NP..![]()
Using the exact same model here and I have to say it works really good. Battery life is around 3.5hours if you set resolution to lowest (lowest resolution can still see everything clearly). Of course the battery life still must depend on what you are doing on the laptop.Originally posted by kimoyam:Anyone buying Aspire 5502ZWXMi here? I am a noob in labtops and I have heard that its battery life is no good, or is every labtop like that? Have to order by tml![]()
1 GB Ram sounds cheap as compared to free 3 years warranty.Originally posted by ne0matrix:Not bad what the deal. Still got 3 years warranty. I got it for 2598 but it doesn't include additional warranty... but 'free' RAM upgrade is good enough.![]()
Last time the 8104 $3400...Originally posted by HolySniper:buy frm school definitely better.. better support, cheaper..
my 8104 can run on batt for 4.5hrs be4 conking out.. with undervolting and disabling bluetooth n firewire..
anyway, acer laptop can be ordered online for NP..![]()