all those present at the scene of the incident are required to giv their views on the matter. diff people hav diff viewpoints n thoughts.Originally posted by dcx:The funniest thing is taht there're already 2 victims ("witnesses", u might wanna say) testifying against that person....and so why does the police or court still need another one? is 2 not enough? Then if 3 is not enough, are they going to find a 4th one?
yes of course. more victims, higher punishment.Originally posted by dcx:The funniest thing is taht there're already 2 victims ("witnesses", u might wanna say) testifying against that person....and so why does the police or court still need another one? is 2 not enough? Then if 3 is not enough, are they going to find a 4th one?
Victim has the right not to attend or make her presence in Court?Originally posted by sinicker:yes of course. more victims, higher punishment.
let's say....victim....but this victim does not want to appear in court n press any charges against this person, however, the police n court wan her to testify against this person in court as a witness....Originally posted by FireIce:dun appear is contempt of court
u are witness or victim???
Originally posted by browniebaobao:ya..the funny thing is the so- called "witness" is a victim herself...and also, witness abt what when it's a one on one case...i.e. how she noes if that person got molest the other 2 gals or not...witness wat...
Have to go, since he/her is summoned as a witness, meaning her statement is crucial to the case.
but tell ur fren, pls, [b]SPEAK THE TRUTH.
the woman who witnessed the accident that my late father met with, she din tell all the facts. In fact, she distorted the facts. She happened to tell my father's fren and told us what she saw and wat she told, not knowing that we are the family of the deceased.
Very annoyed, we told the Investigation Officer about it, and they went ahead to take her statement again. But, because she met us, and she did not tell the facts in the first statement, my father's case was not justified. One year has passed, we still duno whether we can charge the driver.[/b]
she is a witness and testifying to her own crime lah. not the other 2 persons unless she saw it happening to them.Originally posted by dcx:ya..the funny thing is the so- called "witness" is a victim herself...and also, witness abt what when it's a one on one case...i.e. how she noes if that person got molest the other 2 gals or not...witness wat...
ya...but the problem is she does not wan to testify or press any charge against him....howeverso, the other 2 are doing so...Originally posted by skeujin:she is a witness and testifying to her own crime lah. not the other 2 persons unless she saw it happening to them.
she shd ask herself does she want the pervert to get his punishment for wat he did to her.Originally posted by dcx:ya...but the problem is she does not wan to testify or press any charge against him....howeverso, the other 2 are doing so...
Why need her to testifywhen there're already two persons testifying n pressing charges against him.........Originally posted by skeujin:she shd ask herself does she want the pervert to get his punishment for wat he did to her.
who knws the other 2 might not wana testify either n the guy gets off scott free. ready to strike again. n pervs r knwn to taunt their victims repeatedly if he knws they r afriad to stand up to him.
n if she doesnt testify. the perv will not b charged with molesting her. so his sentence will b lighter.
knwing that how hard it is to cope w being a victim. she shd do her part, stand up for herself n be strong n make sure the perv will be punished to the fullest extent possible n made to regret tt he has ever commited his crime.
each person testifying will giv him one count of a specific charge.Originally posted by dcx:Why need her to testifywhen there're already two persons testifying n pressing charges against him.........
The problem now is it was heard that the court & police can't charge him with the testimonials of that two victims....so, they need this fren of mine to testify against the accused...which i think quite incompetent lor...Originally posted by skeujin:each person testifying will giv him one count of a specific charge.
e.g.
gal A says he molested her - he gets charged w one count of outrage of modesty
gal B says he molested her - he get charged w one count of outrage of modesty
gal C says he molested her - he gets charged w one count of outrage of modesty
so in total he will get charged w 3 counts instead of 2 if yr fren doesnt testify. which also means that he will get a lighter sentence.
ask your fren to do the right thing n get scum off our streets.
The problem now is it was heard that the court & police can't charge him with the testimonials of that two victims....so, they need this fren of mine to testify against the accused...which i think quite incompetent lor...Originally posted by skeujin:each person testifying will giv him one count of a specific charge.
e.g.
gal A says he molested her - he gets charged w one count of outrage of modesty
gal B says he molested her - he get charged w one count of outrage of modesty
gal C says he molested her - he gets charged w one count of outrage of modesty
so in total he will get charged w 3 counts instead of 2 if yr fren doesnt testify. which also means that he will get a lighter sentence.
ask your fren to do the right thing n get scum off our streets.
y not we stop tokg bout the other 2.Originally posted by dcx:The problem now is it was heard that the court & police can't charge him with the testimonials of that two victims....so, they need this fren of mine to testify against the accused...which i think quite incompetent lor...
what you mean by w/o her testimonial that that guy might go scott-free when there're already 2girls that are testifying against him? I've to talk abt the 2girls becoz it's the scenario....Originally posted by skeujin:y not we stop tokg bout the other 2.
the fate of the perv lies in her hands. is she willing to realise tt w/o her tesitimony tt he mite walk off scott free?
if she doesnt testify. is she prepared tt the perv mite show up in her life again? n mayb this time matters mite b worse as he mite even go as far as rape and murder cause he wana shut the only mouth tt can put him behind bars.
this is wat u posted.Originally posted by dcx:what you mean by w/o her testimonial that that guy might go scott-free when there're already 2girls that are testifying against him? I've to talk abt the 2girls becoz it's the scenario....
Molestation cases, when there's only 1 girl, the punishment is already harsh..and with 2 girls pressing charges against him, you can imagine the damage already....And it's not the case whereby there's no one testifying against this guy....unless you're saying so, then i would most prob. agree with you that it's right tat she shld go n testify against him...
And of coz, we can't imagine the amount of pressure my fren will have when facing the Press...you can't stop ppl from talking photos of you...if given a choice, she wouldn't want to appear....
to me it says tt the cops r telling u the testimonies of the 2 other victims r not good enuf.Originally posted by dcx:The problem now is it was heard that the court & police can't charge him with the testimonials of that two victims....so, they need this fren of mine to testify against the accused...which i think quite incompetent lor...