anything thought up by humans contain both logic and contradictionOriginally posted by casino_king:Yet they fight each other and even fight among themselves.
To worse phenomena is that they also try to sell each other short. Like the way to sell themselves is to destroy the other religions.
Hinduism makes sense if you try to understand Hinduism.
Christianity makes sense if you try to understand Christianity.
Buddhism makes sense if you try to understand Buddhism.
Islam makes sense if you try to understand Islam.
Yet within Hinduism the Hindus; Christianity the Christians; Buddhism the Buddhists and Islam, mainly the Sunnis and Shites cannot agree among themselves.
From the outside, I look at them with awe and wonder and at the same time with much disgust.
Then you talk to the scientists who disavows all religions; they too make sense.![]()
You understand that; but if you go to EH and BWB and even TIF; what you get is: "My religion is better than yours, don't go there, their religion don't make sense." They cannot even tell you that their religion makes "more" sense. It is like you are with us or you are against us. (George Bush)Originally posted by Honeybunz:Every religion makes sense. It's up to individuals which one they choose to believe.
That is what they all say; you ask the Christians, the other religions makes no sense and you ask the others, Christianity makes no sense and so if you add them up both makes no sense. We already know that. That is the story that religious people sell everybody.Originally posted by dragg:all religions make no sense.
Thanks, that was helpful. You are a credit to people who call themselves "free thinkers." Most I know who call themselves "free thinkers" are just too lazy to think.Originally posted by dinky1409:Basically, religion is the answer to life. To existence.
First of all, I don't mean any disrespect to any religions. I apologize if my future choices of words in this thread provoked any religions.
I have been wondering. Christians, Islam, and those related ones (I'm sorry I don't know the names). These religions have a lot in common in their historical backgrounds. For example, Jesus Christ. Maybe for some of those who didn't know, Jesus, widely "worshipped"(don't know if I used the word correctly) in Christianity, is also one of the prophets in Islam. However, there is a difference in belief in what happened to him in these respective religions.
Since these religions, believed that theirs is the only true one, and "coincidently" there are so many similarities in them, one could be asking maybe the "True Way" is among one of these religions? And if it is, does that makes the other religions "wrong"?
For the free-thinkers, I just want to know what are your takes on religions?
For those who support science, what are the reasons for rejecting religions?
I hope that we can all discuss this peacefully. Maybe we learn a few things about other people's religion. Please have utmost respect in your choice of words as it is a very sensitive issue. Don't criticize, just ask and answer.![]()
Originally posted by rebound:We are all very clear about what about religions that does not make sense. You are not helping. I am telling you that in religion, what you see is not what you get. You must see beyond the surface. please try not to use vulgar language as you only disgrace yourself and make people wonder if you are an intelligent person or an ah beng?
[b]all religions DOES NOT MAKE SENSE!!!
if there is really god then he will have kill all human for destroy the earth
1)toa - y chinese need 2 burnt money 2 god ar? god oso need money is it?pollut the enviroment onli
2)Christianity - plz la Jesus is not a god la, his juz a stupid ass who keep tok too much cock then in the end kana hung on wall by ppl. and dun walk on street n ask ppl u dunno if u belive in god anot
3) Islam - if there is no islam the world will be in PEACE.
4)Buddhism - autcally this 1 is ok..... they dun any how walk on street n tell ppl 2 join their religion or they dun form religions party 2 interference the countries policy and they mind their own bussiness.
and finally life has no meaning
the earth is a host n we r persite who is sukin the host dry
u wan meanin in life go peruse ur dream or goals in ur life.
spend ur time in religion is a waste of time
wake up la !!![/b]
I think Dinky1409 23 May 2006 · 12:03 AM on pg 1 puts it best.Originally posted by Ito_^:not really. i dun quite understand the purpose of this thread, and what you want to prove.
yes, should then one focus on the contradictions and say (make no sense) or on the logic and say (makes sense!)Originally posted by vito_corleone:anything thought up by humans contain both logic and contradiction![]()
I think I understand what you are thinking. It's true that all make sense in theory, and it sounds good. However, the reality is not exactly like what in theory, right?Originally posted by casino_king:Yet they fight each other and even fight among themselves.
To worse phenomena is that they also try to sell each other short. Like the way to sell themselves is to destroy the other religions.
Yet within Hinduism the Hindus; Christianity the Christians; Buddhism the Buddhists and Islam, mainly the Sunnis and Shites cannot agree among themselves.
From the outside, I look at them with awe and wonder and at the same time with much disgust.
Then you talk to the scientists who disavows all religions; they too make sense.![]()
Huh no takers? My religion don't make sense?Originally posted by maggot:Selling places in heaven for $1 to $1 million SGD
Price varies because of the distance from God at heaven.
Book your place only through me and you will receive salvation only through me!
So hurry while places are limited![]()
Ok I try my best here. In Islam, the final and last Prophet is Nabi Muhammad s.a.w. If I'm not wrong, I hope I'm not, Prophet Muhammad was the chosen one to be the last of all prophets and the "best". This means to say before everything was created, his existence was already confirmed and "pre-told". All the prophets were "chosen" to "lead" their "era". Prophet Muhammad was chosen to lead the last "era". This last "era" includes now. We are all in this so called last "era".Originally posted by casino_king:Thanks, that was helpful. You are a credit to people who call themselves "free thinkers." Most I know who call themselves "free thinkers" are just too lazy to think.
As for your question regarding Jesus in Islam and Christianity; the Christians believe that Jesus is divine (while being totally Human, makes sense because if God is God then God can become Human totally if God wants to otherwise God is not all powerful) but to Islam, Jesus is all Human and is not God becoming Human.
Jesus nevertheless is respected as a great teacher in Islam, a prophet and given a place of honour like LKY is given a place of honour by Singapore (not necessarily all Singaporeans.)
The question is, if Islam accords Jesus such high status, shouldn't they then try to understand what Jesus was teaching and find the similarities between what all the prophets in the patheon of Islam teach? They rather depend on the "final revelation." Is there ever a "final revelation" or they simple chose to believe that?
As a free thinker, you cannot accept a "final revelation" (if you insist you can) since life had moved on since then and life has changed so much since then.
What is left for you as a free thinker to do, in this example, is to study what Islam teaches and what Christianity teaches... and you will be led astray because that is learning from the religion and religion has vested interest.
What you should do is find out what the prophets say and ask an independent 3rd party if you can find one.
It makes perfect sense but:Originally posted by maggot:Huh no takers? My religion don't make sense?![]()
Let me try to tell you my take on Catholics and Christians.Originally posted by dinky1409:
[color=indigo]To my Christian Brothers, I'm want to know more what are the differences between Christian and Catholics and those other ones? I have always wanted to know the differences. And what is Trinity?![]()
Religion/s, and all of nature and this planet Earth, has its own laws and its set orders.Originally posted by casino_king:Yet they fight each other and even fight among themselves.
Originally posted by casino_king:Let me try to tell you my take on Catholics and Christians.
In Roman Catholism, Jesus is "Our Blessed Saviour"
They pray in "The name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit
The ultimate aim is to have Faith in God, but in the meantime, seekers being seekers, are allowed to use objects to help them.
Christians call these objects idols; like the idols in Hindu and Buddhists temples.
The buddhists will tell you that the statues in Buddhists temples are not idols like in Hindu temples but that is another story.
Similarly Catholics will tell you that the religious objects (icons) and statues are not idols like the idols in Hindu temples.
Hindus will tell you that the idols in their temples are for seekers and the aim of Hindus is to put their Faith in the Ultimate God.
As a free thinker, you look at the Hindus, Catholics and he Buddhists, with regards to the statues are telling the same stories.
So are the Christians then free of "idols?"
Well not really. They do not have statues in their churches but nevertheless they have idols in their heads and hearts, but that is another story.
Originally posted by casino_king:Yet they fight each other and even fight among themselves.
I am sure that you are right but somehow I think it is not relevant to the topic? I mean we are talking about religion and religious beliefs, not politics? Are you saying that politics shape religious beliefs?Originally posted by ShutterBug:You might also as well ask the question; we are all humans living on this planet, why do we so often fight with one another??
The same theory applies.
POLITICS.
Most religions teach that Faith in God is what gives meaning to life.Originally posted by assfer:What are all Religions' viewpoint on Money? Do all religions preaches contentment? Why do they all reject the love of money? Why is contentment the most important teaching in all religions?
You need not donate but they try to make you feel guilty if you don't. Learn what time and at which point they ask for donations. Run out before that happens? Or wait until then to go to the toilet? You make sure you hold it in until just when they are going to ask and rush to the toilet?Originally posted by newcomer:It's just the donation part that's keeping me away from the church.