I never pay 10 percent leh?Originally posted by newcomer:Yea it's true. The 10% cut is MINIMUM. I think my parents give more than that. What pisses me off is when I see those pastors buying large presents for their children, driving big cars, fine dining with other visiting pastors, etc. Those are our bloody(literally) hard earned money, sweat and blood.
I dun think everyone tithe 10 percentOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Well, in Catholic churches, donation is not compulsory. It's entirely up to you.
But in Christian churches, they require a 10% cut from your monthly salary to be part of the church.
Beat this....
not all churches enforce the rule. and enforcement usually mean psycho-ing instead of putting it out as a requirement.Originally posted by laoda99:I never pay 10 percent leh?
really dun understand.....in my view, u know nuts abt the different religions and u can make comments like these.....haizz...i think u r just looking for trouble in forums....Originally posted by casino_king:You mean meditation / cultivation? That is Buddhist / Taoist beliefs. The Hindu / Christian religions believe in a "born again" experience.
First the seeker joins them and do the usual religious activities but are giuded into a "born again" experience that is something like "enlightenment."
Nowadays, as far as I know in my conversations with the Hindus, Islam and Christian seekers; they do not emphasise that anymore and expect the seekers to simply follow the religious activitiess, donate a part of their salaries and that is about all.
Some individuals do of course find it out for themselves, usually no thanks to the religious organisations, if I may add. But most remain with the religious organisations because their spiritual awakening happened when they were there.
Yup..i've got it thru many years hardships involved wif various religious organizations...but without much help from these teachers...they seem to be very busy with others...great donor...i guessOriginally posted by casino_king:Some individuals do of course find it out for themselves, usually no thanks to the religious organisations, if I may add. But most remain with the religious organisations because their spiritual awakening happened when they were there.
it is not compulsory to tithe ten percent....i think the pple here who made comments like dat here dun even know what is tithing..........Originally posted by Ito_^:not all churches enforce the rule. and enforcement usually mean psycho-ing instead of putting it out as a requirement.
bigger churches need more money.
I certainly hope that you find what you are seeking.Originally posted by Owl^:Yup..i've got it thru many years hardships involved wif various religious organizations...but without much help from these teachers...they seem to be very busy with others...great donor...i guess
Self-explorer into various religious quests was my destiny,i guess...
Myself only..![]()
A curious thought abt you..Originally posted by casino_king:I certainly hope that you find what you are seeking.![]()
orang utan saying pple monkeys? as usual...u dun see the log in ur own eyeOriginally posted by casino_king:I certainly hope that you find what you are seeking.
Internet is good, there is no need for donations and nobody to pressure you to donate; no politics; no ego (other than some monkeys we can simply ignore); only people sharing what they know about the metaphysical
No; not smooth... but worth it, money cannot buy.Originally posted by Owl^:A curious thought abt you..
How's ur spiritual path? Iszit smooth?
just kapoh hor...no obligation![]()
Originally posted by casino_king:Internet is good, there is no need for donations and nobody to pressure you to donate; no politics; no ego (other than some monkeys we can simply ignore); only people sharing what they know about the metaphysical
this one sound like CK....look at all the nonsensical merry-go-round posts he posted in all the religion forums.....Originally posted by Owl^:
No lei...ppl hide behind the pc can pretend very much enlightement with help fr yahoo...google search eng giving info to guide an spiritual seeker,might tickle a dangerous delusions result....my little bad experiences wish to share with you...do not totally place ur heart unto those net preachers....but not all ar...chatters fr sgforums....wait kena bomb by some fr....
A little advise only
Wana elaborate yr spiritual journey?Originally posted by casino_king:No; not smooth... but worth it, money cannot buy.
Originally posted by laoda99:this one sound like CK....look at all the posts he posted in all the religion forums.....
I can assure you that there is very little or no contradictoriness between the different Buddhist sects as they develope to suit the needs of different times, but the core essence - the 3 dharma seals, 4 noble truths, are the same.Originally posted by casino_king:Buddhism makes sense if you try to understand Buddhism.
Just ignore attention seeking paranoid delusional individuals and hopefully they will go away (as if!)Originally posted by Owl^:
No lei...ppl hide behind the pc can pretend very much enlightement with help fr yahoo...google search eng giving info to guide an spiritual seeker,might tickle a dangerous delusions result....my little bad experiences wish to share with you...do not totally place ur heart unto those net preachers....but not all ar...chatters fr sgforums....wait kena bomb by some fr....
A little advise only
Until I learnt more about Buddhism here (I had learnt elswhere too); only after I learnt from here that I know that folk practices people who call themselves Buddhist should not even be called Buddhists.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I can assure you that there is very little or no contradictoriness between the different Buddhist sects as they develope to suit the needs of different times, but the core essence - the 3 dharma seals, 4 noble truths, are the same.
We have little or no sectarian problems in socialising and sharing the truths we realised, and especially since the truths we realise are essentially the same.
You are ignoring the fact that there is such a thing as Religious experience / Spiritual Awakening (click here)Lets put it tis way, religious experience/ spiritual awakening is not unique. People from different religion faces similar expereince though their religion is contradictory to each others. Cults themselves have their fair share of people facing "spiritual awakening". In fact there r also many people who can swear or experience phenomenon such as "ghost" "UFO" as well. How accurate is tat to show ones religion is true ? If tat is true then every tales made by men or the insane are true.
Religion is in the realm of FAITH and so the rules of the scientific method does not apply. Whether a religion ends up with more or less adherents would be whether or not they deliver the goods.If the incidents r real, such as dead walking the streets at the moment jesus died, then it can be verifiable. The rules of scientific method applies. Furthermore some religion claims the world is made in days or world is flat etc. Tis can be verified by science as well. Whether or not they deliver the goods ? I don't know man... why link believing in religion to obtaining special and unfair favours ? Doesn't tat make him unfair and bigoted ? Is taking unfair advantages a primary reason to believe in a religion ? Cult also promise riches and success. So the more they promise the better the religion is ?
Whether religion teaches good or evil would depend on what those people with religious experiences say. We can safely say that it teaches good because they all say the same thing regarding love and compassion.So if there r people who claims they made "religious experiences" however they say tat it teaches them to do evil, then u will start to believe in it ? Sad to say the proportion of people involve in cults and still experiences spiritual awakening is really in abundant as well. The problem is most people just want to believe wat u want to believe.
My brother,Originally posted by laoda99:I never pay 10 percent leh?
Why? I am not a cloneOriginally posted by Baptist:My brother,
You must be ashamed of yourself!
Sincerely
u r back!Originally posted by stupidissmart:So if there r people who claims they made "religious experiences" however they say tat it teaches them to do evil, then u will start to believe in it ? Sad to say the proportion of people involve in cults and still experiences spiritual awakening is really in abundant as well. The problem is most people just want to believe wat u want to believe.
By saying that it is not unique, what are you trying to say? How do you then conclude that the experiences must be the same? How do you then conclude that "tales made by men or the insane are true?"Originally posted by stupidissmart:Lets put it tis way, religious experience/ spiritual awakening is not unique. People from different religion faces similar expereince though their religion is contradictory to each others. Cults themselves have their fair share of people facing "spiritual awakening". In fact there r also many people who can swear or experience phenomenon such as "ghost" "UFO" as well. How accurate is tat to show ones religion is true ? If tat is true then every tales made by men or the insane are true.
Sure, there might be some who think that their beliefs can be scientifically proven. They are wrong, what can I say?Originally posted by stupidissmart:If the incidents r real, such as dead walking the streets at the moment jesus died, then it can be verifiable. The rules of scientific method applies. Furthermore some religion claims the world is made in days or world is flat etc. Tis can be verified by science as well. Whether or not they deliver the goods ? I don't know man... why link believing in religion to obtaining special and unfair favours ? Doesn't tat make him unfair and bigoted ? Is taking unfair advantages a primary reason to believe in a religion ? Cult also promise riches and success. So the more they promise the better the religion is ?
Religious experiences are personal. They can say whatever they want. Do you believe them? Personal actions have consequences, whether legal or social or personal. You reap what you sow. It does not matter how they justify their actions; whether the devil or SIS asked them to do it..Originally posted by stupidissmart:So if there r people who claims they made "religious experiences" however they say tat it teaches them to do evil, then u will start to believe in it ? Sad to say the proportion of people involve in cults and still experiences spiritual awakening is really in abundant as well. The problem is most people just want to believe wat u want to believe.
By saying that it is not unique, what are you trying to say?I am trying to say tat just because of the presence of "spiritual awakening" doesn't means tat religion must make sense. A large number of religions have the same expereince but tat doesn't means they all made sense. So relying on tis point to prove a religion to be the truth is really, wrong
How do you then conclude that the experiences must be the same?The desciption made by the people remains largely similar.
How do you then conclude that "tales made by men or the insane are true?"Just because someone say they experience something "divine" doesn't make it to be the truth. If u take it as truth simply because someone say they experience such, then u might as well take in everything anyone had said.
All I am telling you regarding religious experience is that for those who have the experiences; they enter into a new personal reality. What has it to do with you or other people?I am telling u tat these experience is not unique meaning if u go to a totally different religino or cult u may very well experience the same things. U can literally hear experience from people in cults to say they had "divine" experience. Frankly speaking it is mainly "psychological" in nature and believes me this form of psychology can make people become suicide bombers and even kill their own babies.
They might then tell you about their experiences and encourage you to obtain the experiences for yourself. A movement starts when people starts to have the same experiences and encourage others to try for themselves.
So what is your point?
You seem intellectually to be in the same category as that man. I tell you that it is by Faith and yet you go on and on about scientific evidence. What has being born again have anything to do with science? Again, it is a personal experience that Jesus invited you to experience and whether you want to or not, well that is your perogative.I already told u my point of view about religion is it is a history book where actual events happened in the way the book described. A christian should believe tat noah ark occur or adam eating the fruit of wisdom etc. They also should believe the world is made in days as well. Whether the world can be made in a few days can be proven scientifically if they really happened. R u ignoring this point I present ? The book made many claims and some of them can be verified from science. However u choose to totally ignore them and believe in them even though they r proven to be wrong. I think the one tat just take in everything blindly without much thought is the person who ask "if he should go into his mother womb to be borned again".
Buddhism teaches Enlightenment. What has that got to do with special and unfair favours?Then please explain the line u had written below
Religious experiences are personal. The can say whatever they want. Do you believe them? Personal actions have consequences, whether legal or social or personal. You reap what you so. It does not matter how they justify their actions; whether the devil or SIS asked them to do it..Wat is your point ?
ANDOriginally posted by stupidissmart:I am trying to say tat just because of the presence of "spiritual awakening" doesn't means tat religion must make sense. A large number of religions have the same expereince but tat doesn't means they all made sense. So relying on tis point to prove a religion to be the truth is really, wrong
spiritual awakening like being Born Again and Enlightenment for example are personal experiences. On what basis you say that they are "wrong?" How can personal experiences be "wrong?"Originally posted by stupidissmart:The desciption made by the people remains largely similar. Rolling Eyes Otherwise one must really believe they r special in the sense tat their experience must be right and the other must be wrong. Let me ask back, how do u conclude tat the experience must be "divine" and not "nature" or "psychological; " ?
You can only tell if you yourself have the experience. You MUST be Born Again YOURSELF You MUST be Enlightened YOURSELF. Why do you trust other people's personal experiences?Originally posted by stupidissmart:Just because someone say they experience something "divine" doesn't make it to be the truth. If u take it as truth simply because someone say they experience such, then u might as well take in everything anyone had said.
How would you know? It is their personal experiences.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I am telling u tat these experience is not unique meaning if u go to a totally different religino or cult u may very well experience the same things. U can literally hear experience from people in cults to say they had "divine" experience. Frankly speaking it is mainly "psychological ; " in nature and believes me this form of psychology can make people become suicide bombers and even kill their own babies.
Faith is being Born Again, a personal experience. You yourself must be Born Again to experience it. You can believe anything you want, Chairman Mao or LKY. Bottom line, are you Born Again?Originally posted by stupidissmart:I already told u my point of view about religion is it is a history book where actual events happened in the way the book described. A christian should believe tat noah ark occur or adam eating the fruit of wisdom etc. They also should believe the world is made in days as well. Whether the world can be made in a few days can be proven scientifically if they really happened. R u ignoring this point I present ? The book made many claims and some of them can be verified from science. However u choose to totally ignore them and believe in them even though they r proven to be wrong. I think the one tat just take in everything blindly without much thought is the person who ask "if he should go into his mother womb to be borned again".
BTW let me put it in a practical manner for u. Faith is believing in something tat cannot be verified nor proven to be right (meaning they can be drastically wrong) Why do a being tat create intelligence want people to throw it away and to believe everything tat was said without thinking or doubting ? He even warn tat the devil is out around and the greatest liar yet he want us to believe everything dumbly without questions. To me it is the same as china in Mao's days where people with knowledge is considered to be harmful to society and the public should take in everything Mao said without questions or doubt.
Guide the seekers to being Born Again and becoming Enlightened. These are special favours?Originally posted by stupidissmart:quote:Buddhism teaches Enlightenment. What has that got to do with special and unfair favours?
Then please explain the line u had written below
Whether a religion ends up with more or less adherents would be whether or not they deliver the goods.
You reap what you sow. It does not matter how you justify your actions; whether the devil or a voice in your head asked you to do it.Originally posted by stupidissmart:quote:Religious experiences are personal. The can say whatever they want. Do you believe them? Personal actions have consequences, whether legal or social or personal. You reap what you sow. It does not matter how they justify their actions; whether the devil or SIS asked them to do it..
Wat is your point ?
Have you taken ur pills yet...Originally posted by laoda99:Why? I am not a clone![]()