I'd be ashamed to even have my final journey shrouded by the presence and interference of a fascist militia...Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:Anyway, he's entitled to a full military send-off. Anything less than that will be an insult and put Teo Chee Hean, MINDEF and the SAF in an even worst light.
promoted to MAJ?Originally posted by JennTS:btw, anyone attending the funeral tomorrow? heard that he's getting a full military send-off.
that was the most f-ed up reply that i've ever seen. f-ing cb.Originally posted by dorothy tng:geez, why so many ah bing ge dies nowadays? training too tough can't take it?
they shao ye for too long go inside army not use to the life?
next time i contest in election and cross out NSOriginally posted by alfagal:sorry to hear such news..
Originally posted by Gordonator:promoted to MAJ?
how come the blog so ...ermm.. gay one?Originally posted by Finnz:
jump 2 ranks only lah.. LTA -> CPT -> MAJOriginally posted by martin_lim85:wah jump 3 times
its nt the endOriginally posted by Gedanken:There's an ongoing investigation at the moment, so it's ill-advised to say too much. As has already been mentioned, the officer in question is a regular, and pushing beyong the limits is normal within the culture of the unit.
That's not to place any blame on LTA Lin - it's just the way things go in Hendon.
RIP and condolences to the family. Hopefully we won't see another knee-jerk reaction from MINDEF.
Only 2SG? When the chopper pilot dropped three of our guys back in 1990, they were promoted from CFC to 2LT posthumously, IIRC.Originally posted by monoslayer:if not wrong the guardsman who died in the dunking incident was promoted 2 ranks oso rite? he was sent off as a 2SG..
Unfortunately, as long as we have an apparatchik instead of a real military man running the show, it'll all be a bad joke.Originally posted by olala:its nt the end
u will see more of this from MINDEF![]()
Last time even more died...just that they don wanna report...the training now is child's play compared to last time liao...Originally posted by dorothy tng:geez, why so many ah bing ge dies nowadays? training too tough can't take it?
they shao ye for too long go inside army not use to the life?
aaa it LTA-> CPT(1)->CPT(2)->MAJOriginally posted by monoslayer:jump 2 ranks only lah.. LTA -> CPT -> MAJ
its a norm for those soldiers who were died in duty to b promoted 2 ranks.. but tis one is died during training leh, so not sure leh..
if not wrong the guardsman who died in the dunking incident was promoted 2 ranks oso rite? he was sent off as a 2SG..
very true.. last time there were more deaths compare to now.. but all were cover-up one.. last time where got internet for ppl to speculate..Originally posted by amego:Nb lor...last time even more died...just that they don wanna report...the training now is child's play compared to last time liao...
i dun tink they will 'gek kow' wif CPT(1), CPT(2) all these lah.. do they?Originally posted by martin_lim85:aaa it LTA-> CPT(1)->CPT(2)->MAJ![]()
Originally posted by gangsterkillar:At the very best, this just an account of what happened. But is it what TRULY happened?
Death of Serviceman
Media Contacts
Posted: 21 Jun 2006, 0005 hours (Time is GMT +8 hours)
A Commando regular officer, Lieutenant (LTA) Lionel Lin Shi Guan, 24, died after encountering difficulties while undergoing training at the swimming pool in Hendon Camp this afternoon.
The training was conducted with an instructor assigned to each trainee. When LTA Lin encountered difficulties, the instructor assigned to him immediately passed him a float. LTA Lin was then instructed to swim to the pool edge.
While swimming towards the edge of the pool, LTA Lin went below the surface of the water. The instructor, who was next to him in the water, lifted him up and brought him to the pool edge where immediate medical attention was rendered. LTA Lin began vomiting and passed out. He was then rushed to the Hendon Medical Centre at 4.05pm where two doctors attempted to resuscitate him. LTA Lin was evacuated to Changi General Hospital at 4.10pm and arrived at 4.25pm. He was pronounced dead at 4.59pm.
MINDEF and the SAF extend their deepest condolences to the family of the late LTA Lin, and will be assisting the family in their time of grief. MINDEF will be conducting an inquiry to ascertain the circumstances and the cause of death.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/nr/2006/jun/21jun06_nr2.html
[b]LOOK LIKE ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST![/b]
Well, those who do know can't afford to say anything about it.Originally posted by ShutterBug:At the very best, this just an account of what happened. But is it what TRULY happened?
This, we can never know.
anyone can confirm this? i think he was sent of as a LTA.Originally posted by Gordonator:promoted to MAJ?
What would be the purpose of that? Besides, if you were LTA Lin's family member, how would you feel about that?Originally posted by olala:next time such cases happen once more
let the public DEMAND a clear report of the atopsy
but what makes them report every case nowadays, if what you said is true?Originally posted by amego:Last time even more died...just that they don wanna report...the training now is child's play compared to last time liao...
no,dun get me wrongOriginally posted by Gedanken:What would be the purpose of that? Besides, if you were LTA Lin's family member, how would you feel about that?