Woah. $2 har? Too expensive an opinion liao... Other people one 2 cents leh...Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:My $2 worth
If you like business sort-of thing, POA is the right subject.
If you like energneering, D&T is the one.
If you like cooking, without saying is F&N
Have art talent, Do Art.
As for Science, Get the Pure ones.
Although Pure and Sub science have 2 differnet name, they actually have chapters in common. For Pure Science, it's just a few more details.
As for combined humanities, one of the subject is Social Studies(Complusory), and the other is Geo/His. In my opinion, Geo is more easier as compared to Hist. If you liked Social Studies in lower sec, mostly you'll like Hist. As for Geo, if you to know about global warming and stuff related to Farming and technology, factors concerning about plantation arigculture, this is the best.
Literature is compulsory for all lower secondary students.Originally posted by hyperactivechatterbox:Woah. $2 har? Too expensive an opinion liao... Other people one 2 cents leh...
Damn. Literature is compulsory for alll Sec.2s even though we are failing across the level... I think I'll like POA, but my school doesn't offer that... I wish I could drop all humanitaries, I'm not good at any of them.
I heard Physics was difficult. Is it true? I don't think I'll be able to take pure science; I'm not good at science... But I heard that if you are going to JCs later, you still have to go on learning if you took combined...?
I didn't take Social Studies in lower Sec., but I agree that Geography is easier than History. History involves too much dates...![]()
phy can be difficult too.. i have difficulty applying concepts but practice makes perfect!! TYS is and ofrever will be ur best frenz up till JC.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Literature is compulsory for all lower secondary students.
You can't drop humanities, it's one of the required subjects to gain entry into a JC, CI and Poly.
Physics will not be difficult if you like it. Same goes for Chemistry and Biology. But I've to say Pure Bio maybe too hard for some students, as it can be quite detailed and a lot of big big terms to remember. You might like F&N instead of Bio.
If you took combined science for your O Levels, it will be harder for you in JC. You have to study doubly hard because a lot of things are covered in pure science and not in combined science. It's recommended if you wish to go JC, do some reading up before school starts. This will lessen your stress.
Social Studies is not offered in lower secondary, it's a compulsory subject from upper secondary onwards, so you will only touch Social Studies once you are in Sec 3. First few chapters of Social Studies should be easy if you remember your Sec 2 history facts well.
As for Geography, I only can say that Geography Elective is easy because it's mostly common sense. It's even better if you read the newspapers a lot, especially those about manufacturing and farming. I'm not too sure for Pure Geography, I never took it.
Yes, TYS is indeed your best friend, they are better than any assessment books.Originally posted by kenshin_himura:phy can be difficult too.. i have difficulty applying concepts but practice makes perfect!! TYS is and ofrever will be ur best frenz up till JC.
Chem is just understanding concepts and memorizing the diff types of reactions. eg electro chem bah! Bio is alright.. if u have no problem memorizing and vomitting out everything u noe within a shrot time sure ace one!
I took Pure Geo and elect his + SS ... Pure geo is also pure memorizing coz His can be difficult as the techinique in ans. those SBQ can be quite difficult to grasp.
Maths is impt coz add maths is like the fundation for the Maths C in JC though i dun reali noe the syllabus for JC 1 maths now
I took the Mugger combi so if u r a mugger this might be the combi for u!!!
3 sci
pure Geo , SS + elect his
HCL
ENg
2 maths
sad thing is REDSPOT does not have the copyrights to TYS Qs le... boo hooOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yes, TYS is indeed your best friend, they are better than any assessment books.
I find Redspot very messy, I don't buy from Redspot except for the notes in there. It's much more detailed than other TYS.Originally posted by kenshin_himura:sad thing is REDSPOT does not have the copyrights to TYS Qs le... boo hoo
Your school combination very weird. Can take pure sciences and D&T.Originally posted by vice_edge:ME take
Eng.
chinese
E maths
Add maths
Pure Chem
Pure Physics
Combine ss/geog
Design and TEch .
Japanese papr ( private candidate )
ok bah but sometimes redspot ans veri guai lan...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I find Redspot very messy, I don't buy from Redspot except for the notes in there. It's much more detailed than other TYS.
PUre n combi sci gt nt much diff de in term of contentOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Literature is compulsory for all lower secondary students.
You can't drop humanities, it's one of the required subjects to gain entry into a JC, CI and Poly.
Physics will not be difficult if you like it. Same goes for Chemistry and Biology. But I've to say Pure Bio maybe too hard for some students, as it can be quite detailed and a lot of big big terms to remember. You might like F&N instead of Bio.
If you took combined science for your O Levels, it will be harder for you in JC. You have to study doubly hard because a lot of things are covered in pure science and not in combined science. It's recommended if you wish to go JC, do some reading up before school starts. This will lessen your stress.
Social Studies is not offered in lower secondary, it's a compulsory subject from upper secondary onwards, so you will only touch Social Studies once you are in Sec 3. First few chapters of Social Studies should be easy if you remember your Sec 2 history facts well.
As for Geography, I only can say that Geography Elective is easy because it's mostly common sense. It's even better if you read the newspapers a lot, especially those about manufacturing and farming. I'm not too sure for Pure Geography, I never took it.
ya lahOriginally posted by kenshin_himura:sad thing is REDSPOT does not have the copyrights to TYS Qs le... boo hoo
Better than O Levels when students were left scratching their heads when one of the questions was wrong.Originally posted by kenshin_himura:ok bah but sometimes redspot ans veri guai lan...
bio Qs: What flows in the blood vessels..
Ans frm redspot: Sperms lol was laughing my head off
Not much difference, but some of the things you all learn, combined science students don't learn. I learn titration through practicals, but not in textbooks.Originally posted by Chelzea:PUre n combi sci gt nt much diff de in term of contentbut e qns for pure sci much harder lah
Lolx.Originally posted by Technomage:im
history/social studies
e maths
physics/chem
art
i already getting to flunk art. people say its very easy to pass but i feel its a waste of time as not i choose the subject. its the school choose for me becoz i nvr pass up the subject form -.-
o levels have titration!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Luckily O Levels no titration, the equipment too tall for me to handle liao.![]()
Art requires alot of effort and time. I'm taking art too.Originally posted by Technomage:im
history/social studies
e maths
physics/chem
art
i already getting to flunk art. people say its very easy to pass but i feel its a waste of time as not i choose the subject. its the school choose for me becoz i nvr pass up the subject form -.-
My batch don't have lah. If not, I will cry liao. Going to flunk my best subject very badly.Originally posted by jaydunkfull:o levels have titration!![]()