Maybe more than 20... he does not do in Suntec cos in national stadium is free! and confirm there is a whole lot of crowd watching. I must admit its romantic. But seriously, who is he to have this privilege to broadcast his proposal? What if they get divorced two years later? I mean, feelings will change....Originally posted by ditzy:Next national day we see 20 marriage proposals made at the padang.![]()
My HR told us that we have to report to work sharp at 8:30 AM but my MD never show up until 9:00 AM. Apart from salary and position different, aren't we all working for the same company? Why my MD come at 9:00 AM and I have to report at 8:30 AM. The moral of the story is wheter its corporate world or military world, when one get higher position or rank, one will get more privilages. The ideal world is that all men are equal and one rule for everyone. Unfortunately, in our "not ideal" world, not all men are equal and there is not such thing called one rule for everyone.Originally posted by boredandsleepy:Wah tyhis topic very debatable sia... altho i myself nvr see the actual news but i heard it over the tv while playing games. Bear with my lengthy story here.
From a normal person who hasn't gone tru NS b4 will consider him as a very romantic guy. He's kinda lucky to have propsed in front of the whole nation on national tv and also it was the last yr that the stadium will be around. Good memorable proposal. From a girl's point of view, she couldn't possibly ask more, a CPT earns quite alot in SAF, so future is secured. Proposal of marriage such a memorable 1, hard to reject. That CPT certainly has a win-win situation here under his control. Yes true that he displayed a good leadership by setting an example of getting married fast to have kids which is what those guys in white has always been promoting.
Now here comes the bad part of the proposal. How come only recruits are affected by the wearing uniform no holding hands or kissing in public? Apart from the rank difference, aren't recruits also wearing the SAF uniform? or are they wearing some kind of alien uniform that makes them different from others? To most guys in the SAF serving BMT now, will start to wonder if the "unwritten rule" exists in the 1st place or not. I do not think recruits as the lowest life form on this earth but i do admit they stink whenever they book out. Guys u all were recruits once, so does that mean u were also the lowest life form on this earth??? kinda funny hearing some1 scolding himself that u know.
back to the CPT. Such high risk he is taking might get him in trouble. He might get demoted on 1 hand but wins a wife on the other. He might be charged to detention for not respecting the uniform especially N-day.
After this incident, some ppl might envy him, some might congratulate him, some might even hate him. But for all i know its takes alot of guts to pull that kind of stunt and for that i salute him as a man. but risking his career over a proposal, this is an act of stupidity. Never go tru any deep thoughts. i might not know if he has alrdy discussed this over with the commanding officers on this stunt. Well if he hasn't, lets wish him good luck that nth bad will happen to him ba.
ST only got her side view unfortunately.. but she looks chio.Originally posted by Gordonator:ya loh. me want to know his girlfriend chio or not.![]()
Wah lau, of coz chio lor, not chio, you think he still dare to propose then and there meh?Originally posted by cornyfish2000:ST only got her side view unfortunately.. but she looks chio.
wrong, it is written, under the last section.Originally posted by LazerLordz:heard it's unwritten?
loser, go home lahOriginally posted by mark_docent:LOSER !!! Get a life man... you are just jealous that someone is brave enough to do it. Since government is promoting marriage & family life, he is showing his leadership by "lead by example". Only LOSER will criticise one's honour and bravery.
LOSER !!! Get a life man... you are just jealous that someone is sending a message of love and family.
LOSER !!! Get a life man... you are just jealous that someone is confident enough to know that his GF will not reject him. In military, confident is a must. Fail is not an option! Only a LOSER without confident will think failure.
LOSER !!! Get a life man... i never see a person anymore LOSER that you do and i bet you don't have a GF to propose to... oh even if you do, they won't be 50,000+ people to cheer for you! hahaha... LOSER!!!
that's call the catch all section.Originally posted by mark_docent:Indecency ??? is he naked when proposing? Since when wearing a uniform became "indecency"?
it is sweet but not at others' expensesOriginally posted by baby_tiger:I thought it was v v romantic lei... V sweet...
Think maybe only girls will understand ba...
Actually I think not many ppl thought it was at their expense lei... I know quite a few ppl who were there and they all thought it was v sweet... And they all wish they have a bf who would do tt for them too... (All girls btw)Originally posted by Kenashi:it is sweet but not at others' expenses![]()
it is at all the NS men n NSF expenses only mahOriginally posted by baby_tiger:Actually I think not many ppl thought it was at their expense lei... I know quite a few ppl who were there and they all thought it was v sweet... And they all wish they have a bf who would do tt for them too... (All girls btw)
Girls will always be girls lar, that fact you cannot argue against. For the general consensus of guys who have gone thru NS, its a different case altogether.Originally posted by baby_tiger:Actually I think not many ppl thought it was at their expense lei... I know quite a few ppl who were there and they all thought it was v sweet... And they all wish they have a bf who would do tt for them too... (All girls btw)
Well i duno if i can put it this way anot.Originally posted by mark_docent:My HR told us that we have to report to work sharp at 8:30 AM but my MD never show up until 9:00 AM. Apart from salary and position different, aren't we all working for the same company? Why my MD come at 9:00 AM and I have to report at 8:30 AM. The moral of the story is wheter its corporate world or military world, when one get higher position or rank, one will get more privilages. The ideal world is that all men are equal and one rule for everyone. Unfortunately, in our "not ideal" world, not all men are equal and there is not such thing called one rule for everyone.
How long have you been living in this world? Out of those years, how many are fair one? You should be the one go get another life, loser. Life is not fair! Deal with it and move on. LOSER.Originally posted by Kenashi:loser, go home lah
how come rules only apply to those below captains huh
u call that fair??
get another life, loser. bang bang bang
u r dead![]()
Unfortunately, that is the way. Only girls understand. Most of the local men don't understand.Originally posted by baby_tiger:I thought it was v v romantic lei... V sweet...
Think maybe only girls will understand ba...
Girls understand what is sweet, guys understand what is real-world practicality.Originally posted by mark_docent:Unfortunately, that is the way. Only girls understand. Most of the local men don't understand.
Originally posted by ditzy:Girls understand what is sweet, guys understand what is real-world practicality.![]()