alot of employers have wrong concept dat sim cert is advance diploma.Originally posted by BufPuf:graduate with no experience = high-end of diploma pay
my this job..i got a pay that is slightly higher than my poly classmates who work abt 2 yr...
i wouldn't say it very high though..
coz some coursemate that i saw in another forum..got more than 2k..but they had some experience...
got degree doesn't necessary mean that u will earn more lah
have to depends on the job u finding, the economy, etc etc..
my comp(IT comp, can't say MMC, but quite big, >2k employees in SG) pays only a difference of not more than 300 for local grad and overseas grad..(actually the diff is only 100).Originally posted by freakass:If I'm not wrong, yours is just a normal degree.... that means you don't have Honours... And worse still if you don't even have a Merit... And also, I believe yours is not a professional degree (eg. not engineering degree, and obviously not a medicine or law degree).... And maybe your degree is from some unrecognized university...
Cos your pay is far too low for a univeristy grads these days...
How many of my assumptions are correct?
i met with some people who dont know where SIM is and even, never heard about it..Originally posted by 798:alot of employers have wrong concept dat sim cert is advance diploma.
Most companies will still accept fresh grad with no experience. If not, these fresh grads can starve to death already.Originally posted by biangz:what if u're a 1st class honor degree in mechanical engineering but then without experience freshly graduated.
compromise with low pay, sh!t work lohOriginally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Most companies will still accept fresh grad with no experience. If not, these fresh grads can starve to death already.
photobucket.Originally posted by the_fallen:who wants to know the full list of how much grads getting from uni and poly respectively?
i have the data in papers, wanna scan and post here, but dunno where to temp upload the pictures only, if not can share with u ppl
give me the direct link la..Originally posted by monoslayer:photobucket.
www.photobucket.comOriginally posted by the_fallen:give me the direct link la..
lazy to guess or find out, u type liao, i later wake up den i scan the pictures the show the pictures to u all![]()
Usually 1st class honour grads will carry on with their masters and do phds. Without experience, you're still a zero.Originally posted by biangz:what if u're a 1st class honor degree in mechanical engineering but then without experience freshly graduated.
You get bragging rights. But that's about it. Your employer will expect more from you, and if you don't perform, your employer can use it to suan you.Originally posted by biangz:diaoz then what's the use of having a specialised degree and making ur life hard and stressful when u'll still endup compromising with low pay and doing sh!t works same as general degree graduates -.-
What if you have experience that is not totally relevant? I am in a fix now. I have almost 5.5 years of experience as an engineering assistant (with diploma) doing typical hands-on stuff like maintenance, trouble-shooting, equipment setup etc etc.Originally posted by ditzy:Without experience, you're still a zero.![]()
Wouldn't that be like being an accountant for 5 years then suddenly switch profession to civil engineer?Originally posted by fox_hound_33:What if you have experience that is not totally relevant? I am in a fix now. I have almost 5.5 years of experience as an engineering assistant (with diploma) doing typical hands-on stuff like maintenance, trouble-shooting, equipment setup etc etc.
Now that I have completed my degree I would like to take up a software-oriented job. Will my previous experience be of any worth, will it be considered at all? Anyone has faced this kind of scenario before?
furthermore, these FTs do not have to go back for NS. no disruptions to work scheduleOriginally posted by Wind6:Boss: "U dun wanna work for that salary , nvm, we have plenty of FTs waiting for this job"
PS: Doesnt applies to every employer though![]()
Suan only mah it is not retrench u so for ppl with thick skin can still earn a living in that company based on their superior resultsOriginally posted by ditzy:You get bragging rights. But that's about it. Your employer will expect more from you, and if you don't perform, your employer can use it to suan you.![]()
how do i use that site??Originally posted by monoslayer:
No matter how I see it, I'm grossly underpaid.Originally posted by the_fallen:http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/7479/uni1qu9.jpg
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/889/uni2dd8.jpg
http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/9421/poly1fc5.jpg
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/5900/poly2qb3.jpg
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/5595/poly3vq9.jpg
first 2 are uni salary from 2006 career guide
last 3 are poly salary guide also from 2006 career guide