You can make iPod totally legal by purchasing the songs online from Apple.Originally posted by Ponders:can anyone tell me....
how do you expect to make an IPOD totally legal?
I promise i will not download anymore songs provided the police can make my IPOD play CDs.
Also, how do you expect secondary school students to purchase copyrighted MP3s off the web?
No laws say, but Singapore may not recognize that you are not the one who is downloading music...Originally posted by missqi:wont lah.
crazy.
i nv put password on my router is crime har?
got law say i must put password meh?
somemore i dontknow how to put password, only know how to disallow other mac addresses.....![]()
http://p2p.malwareremoval.com/Originally posted by Cool-gal:dun activate the file sharing program lor.
and is imesh safe??
When you connect to the Net, you will be assigned an IP address. Everybody's IP address is unique, like your fingerprint. When you access a server, your IP address will be logged. When you download something, your IP address will be sent to the server as well.Originally posted by Meilin86:Any any PC expert here?Can explain on how they know who is the downloader of the song? What is the process they have done at the back? I wonder why, the police have not see that person and they know he is the criminal while he is at home????![]()
But hor, no computer how to start the router?Originally posted by Ponders:Actually i was thinking,
you subscribe to broadband and own a wireless router.
you go set up range extenders in the area. So in essense you are the estate's ISP.
You don't own a computer in the house. But you come into agreement with neighbours to download for you.
When police raid, they can only find a modem and router, but no hard evidence.
When police ask how come you got wireless and router but no computer...
you just say its for your Xbox and PS2.
802.11n is actually in use. But it has not been verified yet. IEEE is working to verify it, expected by next year. You see pre-N routers around or routers that claim speeds up to 108Mbps. Those are actually under 802.11n.Originally posted by Ponders:which neighbour?
a 802.11G router, can transmit up to 100m in theory.
But if there is no blockage, i can access a wireless router about 150-170m. As of now, i can access my opposite block's router.
If you install range extenders.. you double this distance.
So police gotta raid your neighbours in the 150m radius to crack down.
Not to mention 802.11n is in its draft stage now...
how to mask or destroy such evidence?? some smart pple help to make virus that will erase all information loged on the servers(and works) lehOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:When you connect to the Net, you will be assigned an IP address. Everybody's IP address is unique, like your fingerprint. When you access a server, your IP address will be logged. When you download something, your IP address will be sent to the server as well.
Other information may be logged as well, but it all depends. A simple JavaScript can show what browser you are using when you access that website.
Usually, information will not be given to third party, unless the police requests it.
You are able to get to that server then tell me.Originally posted by hisoka:how to mask or destroy such evidence?? some smart pple help to make virus that will erase all information loged on the servers(and works) leh
obviously the ISP is the most importantOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You are able to get to that server then tell me.
You can mask your IP address against most people, except your ISP. One way is to use proxy. One free one is Anonymizer... (don't know how to spell, somewhat similar)
Another way would be to use a VPN, although it's an overkill for normal home networks.
You set up your own ISP lor. Then erase the logs that is against you. The only way I can think of.Originally posted by hisoka:obviously the ISP is the most important![]()
why cannot get to the server? its very secure?
oh well i'll settle for the comps at RIA all exploding violently and vigorously
thats why need smart and good samaritians to help out against the tyrannyOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You set up your own ISP lor. Then erase the logs that is against you. The only way I can think of.
Nothing to do with server very secure. Any normal person wouldn't know how to hack in.![]()
If i am not wrong IDA requires a security bond of $10million if you want to set up an ISP.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You set up your own ISP lor. Then erase the logs that is against you. The only way I can think of.
Nothing to do with server very secure. Any normal person wouldn't know how to hack in.![]()
can.. a router can work out of the box. then you start the router wirelessly lor.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:But hor, no computer how to start the router?
Effectively, it's useless.![]()

obviously the music industry and the mp3 player manufacturers are at loggerheads.Originally posted by Ponders:can anyone tell me....
I promise i will not download anymore songs provided the police can make my IPOD play CDs.
Also, how do you expect secondary school students to purchase copyrighted MP3s off the web?
i wonder if anyone actually has 6000 songs in their iPODs.Originally posted by marcuz1977:I think it is easier for the RSA or police to grab anyone off the street with an IPOD and ask the person to show proof of having originals of all the songs in his IPOD.
Imagine:
A 30gb IPOD
Contains 6000 songs at 5mb per son
that equals to 400 CDs of 15 songs each
And finally equalling to $8000 if a CD is selling at $20 eacg
the amt paid for songs costs more than IPOD itselfOriginally posted by Ponders:can anyone tell me....
so if the police came & asked you something else & had to knock on your doorOriginally posted by MohamedF:My friend taught me... If the police come knocking on your door, quickly take a hammer and smash your hard disk... No evidence = No cinviction...