so are you saying income taxes above 40% in other countries are mere fantasies?Originally posted by scabstermooch:She is making a point: that other countries have higher tax rates and that there are pros and cons to every country.
However, the way she goes about substantiating her opinions is, frankly,
unethical and, I think, rather malicious.
She resorts to ad hominem attacks and in doing so tries to pass off as 'facts' things which seem to be mere fantasy.
There is nothing wrong with expressing an opinion. The problem comes when people tries to add weight to an opinion by citing dodgy 'facts'. There is a world of difference between 'i think Iraq is a dangerous country' and 'I think Iraq is dangerous because they are able to launch a Chemical and Biological attack on our cities within 45 minutes'. In both cases, the thrust of the argument is the same but the surely you see the difference.
Worse, when challenged on this point, she refuses to back down and resorts to more of the above!
Well well lastfallOriginally posted by lastfall:Do you forsee yourself to stay put in singapore when the cost of living is geting higher day after day.
Should you leave this country, where can you go ?
Australia? discimination ? 40% income tax?
Japan ? Porn Haven? cost of living even higher ?
Chiang Mai ? beautiful girl, live like king? but security not there
US ? seem so good but the worst in all kind of crimes..
US is a nice place to stayOriginally posted by lastfall:Do you forsee yourself to stay put in singapore when the cost of living is geting higher day after day.
Don't go anywhere. Shoot yourself dead, or jump MRT track. Go hell.Originally posted by lastfall:Do you forsee yourself to stay put in singapore when the cost of living is geting higher day after day.
Originally posted by Phoebie:some other countries charge 10% GST, and in these countries, those who earn around 10k and above per month need to pay 48% income tax
Most of the tax collected (in the other mentioned countries as above) are used to fund the social welfare. Also in these countries, if you are considered underprivileged, you get money from the govt, for example, if you earn like $200 a month, the govt will give you like $400 a month so you have $600, but, if you work twice as hard and earn $400 a month, the govt will give you $250 a month, so now you do have more money-you have $650 now, but, you have to work twice as hard. So if you earn more they give you less, so pple would rather work half as much and earn $50 less. Actually I feel this is not healthy. It's creating a not so encouraging mindset on people, and, those high earners may have negative impression "so what if I work hard and earn over tens of Ks per month, 48% of my salary will still go back to the govt to help those who doesn't work as hard, and or, those who doesn't as much money as I do on further studies to get good jobs"
normally people migrate hoping to seek better life and salary or education elsewhere . They don't really hope to see themselves regretting after making the decision of packing their bags and leaving their homeland.
As the saying goes "ni kang wo hao, wo kang ni hao" (You see me good, I see you good) and you'll be shocked to see the number of foreigners wanting to get PR or citizenship status here![]()
there you are, scabstermooch you're trying to distort one of the points I've mentioned by omitting the rest of the original statement which I have postedOriginally posted by scabstermooch:some other countries charge 10% GST, and in these countries, those who earn around 10k and above per month need to pay 48% income tax ...
...those high earners may have negative impression "so what if I work hard and earn over tens of Ks per month, 48% of my salary will still go back to the govt....
The point is that it's not as simple as tax brackets. To put it simply, you can bring home a certain amount of dollars every year, but how you actually end up doing is also contingent upon how far each dollar goes.Originally posted by bozo43:Hear Hear to Phoebie and Oxford,
No need to be anal with the details, Phoebie is just trying to make a point and I believe most of us agree she has a valid point i.e. that one cannot merely look at lower cost of living in itself. We need to take into consideration the taxes to be paid and correspondingly the services the state provides in arriving at the decision as to whether S'pore is really more expensive.
And for those of you who are not so good with your maths, the top bracket rate is absolutely critical, unless of course if you have absolutely no hope of breaching the top bracket. To illustrate the point, if 70% of your income is taxed at the top bracket (say 50%), the fact that the first 30% is taxed at some lower rate will not lessen the pinch! This I can testify to and also why Michael Schumacher (a german) is a tax resident in Monaco and not Germany.
Pardon?Originally posted by Phoebie:that's not nonsense you monotonous phd holder
don't think just you have phd it means you know everything
don't use my figure as reference to the figure below to justify your claim further you phd holder. And wait, didn't you see there's some countries listed below that even take more than 48% income taxes? And if you claim I'm hurting then what are those figures that are more than 48% as stated below?
from this it largely reflects that you do not know there's countries that charges more than 40% income taxes
you should get the facts right before attempting to challenge other forumers online using your so called physicological tactics or whichever. Don't try to defend yourself further when the facts are there. Just because I didn't state the country it doesn't mean you can use this to go around playing and use this to justify your claim further. It seems that you can only catch hold and use this to defend and justify yourself "phoebie refuse to state which country, and she only stated 48% and I'm going to use this to attack her" And just because you didn't see 48% in the listed countries as above it does not mean it's not a fact. And you don't have to stick to 48% as what I've mentioned. Is your mind rusty or robotic or computerized or mechanical or routine?
And also, The taxes does not necessary have to stick at 48% as what I've mentioned. Is it because you have memorized too much books so much that memorizing make your brain and mind go rusty or robotic? You're making a big fool of yourself in this thread you know. From the above quote it already seems or tells us that you do NOT know there's countries charging 40% and above income taxes, or is it because your salary are not high enough to qualify for income taxes thus you don't know?
I know you're going to retaliate back but I'm not going to get bothered by smart alec snob like you. It's a waste of my time to debate with someone like you who lives in a world of your own, and think you're superior just because you have a phd paper cert. Wait, one last advice for you - Don't think just because you have phd, you think you know everything
Frankly speaking I don't like to type these sentences out because it's a waste of my time replying to you snob.
[quote]smart aleck snobs like you and alias gedankenYou're like shooting your own two feet here.Originally posted by Phoebie:
you should get the facts right before attempting to challenge other forumers online using your so called physicological tactics or whichever.[/quote]the reason why I don't like to put such facts in public forums, is because there'll bound to meet smart aleck snobs like you and alias gedanken who think you know everything.Now you and gedanken learn and know new facts in other countries. Aren't you going to thank me and Oxford Mushroom for letting both of you knowing the facts?Originally posted by Phoebie:that's not nonsense you monotonous phd holder
don't think just you have phd it means you know everything
if you want to defend yourself, at least defend yourself in a tasteful manner. You don't have to resort to using lowly and scheming ways to defend youself
This is not a contender or exam, and nobody will laugh at you if you admit your own mistakes. Afterall you're only behind your computer screen
I shall type this once again:Originally posted by Gedanken:Pardon?
You said that there's a country as you decsribed, and I simply asked which one it is. All you need to do is state which country it is, and since you're so insistent that your assertion is fact-based, why all the coyness and angst?
Originally posted by spinsugar:you better don't presume
Originally posted by spinsugar:
You're like shooting your own two feet here. You don't want to provide facts.. then you tell ppl to get their facts right.. then u call ppl smart alec... and then you try and claim some credit for figures that ox mush posted?
And... Why are you getting all defensive and taking the argument down to a personal level, calling people names and stuff? I mean even if you don't agree with the guy, you don't have get nasty right? U're only proving him right!
No, there's no mistake on my part. Actually, Oxford's done me a favour by producing the tax brackets, and I'll take bozo's suggestion of doing the maths. Let's go with the most expensive country in his list: France.Originally posted by Phoebie:I shall type this once again:
I don't see there's a crucial need to go into details supporting the facts. This is not a contender or exam
and gedanken, nobody will laugh at you if you admit your own mistakes. Afterall you're only behind your computer screen
you certainly do like to stick to arguing using 48%Originally posted by Gedanken:No, there's no mistake on my part. Actually, Oxford's done me a favour by producing the tax brackets, and I'll take bozo's suggestion of doing the maths. Let's go with the most expensive country in his list: France.
The tax bracket system in France is structured as follows:
Bracket 1: €4191- €8242 – 7.05%
Bracket 2: €8243- €14506 – 19.74%
Bracket 3: €14507- €23489 – 29.14%
Bracket 4: €23490- €38218 – 38.54%
Bracket 5: €38219- €47131 – 43.94%
Bracket 6: Above €47131 - 49.58%
Let's go by your figure of 10K a month, which works out to €60,264. The tax paid in each bracket works out to be:
Bracket 1: € 285.60
Bracket 2: € 1,236.32
Bracket 3: € 2,617.35
Bracket 4: € 5,676.17
Bracket 5: € 3,915.93
Bracket 6: € 6,510.85
for a total of € 20,242.22, which is 33.59% of the €60,264 gross salary. That's nowhere close to your stipulated figure of 48%, so you can't count on what Oxford posted and claim that you're right.
You keep claiming that you don't want to waste time on this. Perhaps you need to take a bit of time to understand why you're plain wrong in your claim.
Originally posted by Phoebie:i don't know why a simple and well meaning post can lead to so much anguish among people like you![]()
what currency are you trying to use?Originally posted by Gedanken:No, there's no mistake on my part. Actually, Oxford's done me a favour by producing the tax brackets, and I'll take bozo's suggestion of doing the maths. Let's go with the most expensive country in his list: France.
The tax bracket system in France is structured as follows:
Bracket 1: €4191- €8242 – 7.05%
Bracket 2: €8243- €14506 – 19.74%
Bracket 3: €14507- €23489 – 29.14%
Bracket 4: €23490- €38218 – 38.54%
Bracket 5: €38219- €47131 – 43.94%
Bracket 6: Above €47131 - 49.58%
Let's go by your figure of 10K a month, which works out to €60,264. The tax paid in each bracket works out to be:
Bracket 1: € 285.60
Bracket 2: € 1,236.32
Bracket 3: € 2,617.35
Bracket 4: € 5,676.17
Bracket 5: € 3,915.93
Bracket 6: € 6,510.85
for a total of € 20,242.22, which is 33.59% of the €60,264 gross salary. That's nowhere close to your stipulated figure of 48%, so you can't count on what Oxford posted and claim that you're right.
You keep claiming that you don't want to waste time on this. Perhaps you need to take a bit of time to understand why you're plain wrong in your claim.
I was basing it on Singapore currency. If you meant 10,000 Euros per month, the total figure becomes €49859.82, which is still only 41.55% of the €120,000 gross salary.Originally posted by Phoebie:what currency are you trying to use?
don't type liao lah, you're only digressing further and making jokes out of it![]()
k lah this isn't a contender or exam (for the last time I'm going to say)Originally posted by spinsugar:
Goodness. Why are you lashing out at everyone who doesn't appear to agree with you? You don't have to get personal. I think a cold shower is in order here.
And .... my "notorious" reputation at Speaker's Corner??I dunno about that, I've yet to receive any love/hate mail from "fans". Would you like to be the 1st?
I'm sorry about that pain in your as.. I mean, eyes. However I'm not the relevant person to complain about this to. Try an eye doctor, perhaps..?
SGD 10000 convert to Euro = € 60,264 ?Originally posted by Gedanken:I was basing it on Singapore currency. If you meant 10,000 Euros per month, the total figure becomes €49859.82, which is still only 41.55% of the €120,000 gross salary.
Whoops - you're still wrong.
Tut tut tut. I think spin's right and you need an eye doctor. The tax rates are calculated on an annual salary, so S$10,000 per month = S$120,000 per year = € 60,264. It's basic tax calculation.Originally posted by Phoebie:SGD$ 10000 convert to Euro = € 60,264 ?
which money changer do you go to?
you didn't state it in your early reply whatOriginally posted by Gedanken:Tut tut tut. I think spin's right and you need an eye doctor. The tax rates are calculated on an annual salary, so S$10,000 per month = S$120,000 per year = € 60,264. It's basic tax calculation.
Now I have disagreed that what you have presented is a fact, and in so doing I am obliged to go into detail to substantiate my point, am I not? After all, it's the decent thing to do.Originally posted by Phoebie:i'm just trying to let gedanken and scabstermooch know the facts in other countries cause it seems they do not know the facts there
If you do wish to provide advice, it stands to reason that you would want your advice to be based upon sound reasoning, does it not? Could you live with yourself trying to advise people using the wrong information? If you do wish the information to be correct, detail is in fact important.Originally posted by Phoebie:we're only here to give humble opinions and advices in this thread
such a simple 48% can lead to so many "theories" from youOriginally posted by Gedanken:Of course there's a need to go into detail - you just demonstrated it yourself. I did not go into enough detail explaining that the €60,264 was an annual salary (I had expected you to make the connection when I wrote that the S$10,000 was a monthly figure), and for that I am remiss because you did not understand the figures.
In addition, you have claimed:
If you do wish to provide advice, it stands to reason that you would want your advice to be based upon sound reasoning, does it not? Could you live with yourself trying to advise people using the wrong information? If you do wish the information to be correct, detail is in fact important.