But then which one cause more damage? Those factories and automobile that emit harmful gas or our ciggy smoke? If you really care so much abt your health, go live in a sterile world.Originally posted by HanHao:but ppl do not go or live so close in proximity to cars and industry compared to inconsidered smokers.
furthermore cars and industry and useful to everyone while smoking is not useful
ur prob la...Originally posted by ICanOnlyHope:It's getting very IRRITATING. If they want to kill themselves, DON'T KILL OTHERS WITH THEM. I have this smoker dunno hide where smoking downstairs & the smoke gets into my flat. So smelly & choking. This guy is a chain smoker man & he smokes a lot. The quantity of smoke is huge. I hope whoever you are PLS STOP SMOKING or smoke somewhere else. Thanks.
Precisely the point. Take the forest fires in indonesia for example, damn they do it to clear jungle for industry in this case, the palm oil industry. The kind of damage it does far exceeds anything smokers can do.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:But then which one cause more damage? Those factories and automobile that emit harmful gas or our ciggy smoke? If you really care so much abt your health, go live in a sterile world.![]()
Originally posted by mancha:Gahmen need the tax money lah.
They can easily make law so that
THE SALE OF CIGARETTES IS PROHIBITED IN SINGAPORE
just like the chewing gum.
Which means you can smoke but you cannot buy any cigs in Singapore.
Go to JB or Batam to get them.
And pay tax when comming back into Singapore.
This will stop the smoke problem.
And smokers still have the liberty to smoke, if they can find a cigarette.
Its straight forward.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Your mindset is just like a child.![]()
Fear? Our govt loves the tax imposed on the ciggy. If really ban smoking or no one in Singapore smokes, govt will then try to tax other things so the whole Singapore suffers. Then, u r happy?Originally posted by mancha:Its straight forward.
And something you fear that could be a possibility?![]()
i say liao, those are far away as compared to smokerOriginally posted by NUS_Superst@r:But then which one cause more damage? Those factories and automobile that emit harmful gas or our ciggy smoke? If you really care so much abt your health, go live in a sterile world.![]()
Yeah, some people's lives revolve around smoking only.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:That's the problem with our education. Ppl grow up with a narrow view of what's happening around the world.![]()
I think the person jing liang already. Close the window lor.Originally posted by ICanOnlyHope:It's getting very IRRITATING. If they want to kill themselves, DON'T KILL OTHERS WITH THEM. I have this smoker dunno hide where smoking downstairs & the smoke gets into my flat. So smelly & choking. This guy is a chain smoker man & he smokes a lot. The quantity of smoke is huge. I hope whoever you are PLS STOP SMOKING or smoke somewhere else. Thanks.
contridicting.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:I suggest you go watch the movie"thank you for smoking". There is a very good argument for smoking. Btw, the no.1 killer is cholestrol, not cigarettes so can we ban ppl eating fastfood.![]()
Too much food also kills. Starting with blocked arteries , diabetes , heart disease ...then you move to the complicated stage where cardiac bypass , foot amputation, renal failure comes in, hypertension related stroke etc ...That is why I am pasting cigarette warnings ( scratch out "smoking" and replace with "diabetes" kills) on my friend's krispy kreme donut each time she talks about how bad smoking can be.Originally posted by the_fallen:contridicting.
although smoking is not no1 killer, but it still kills. so why still smoke and waste money when the money could be better spent on other items such as food, gifts or clothes?
because smoking to a smoker is like shopping to women.Originally posted by the_fallen:contridicting.
although smoking is not no1 killer, but it still kills. so why still smoke and waste money when the money could be better spent on other items such as food, gifts or clothes?
i agree.Originally posted by bozo43:Precisely the point. Take the forest fires in indonesia for example, damn they do it to clear jungle for industry in this case, the palm oil industry. The kind of damage it does far exceeds anything smokers can do.
Fast food also not healthy, why not close all fast food chains.
No one can legislate against death, its a question of personal choice.
If you try doing silly things like that you end up like califonia. Ban smoking in public places, but its ok for you to booze. So what meaning, ok to kill yourself by destroying your liver, but just make sure you have a pair of clean lungs?????!!!!
Passive or involuntary smoking occurs when the exhaled and ambient smoke (otherwise known as environmental or secondhand smoke) from one person's cigarette is inhaled by other people. Passive smoking involves inhaling carcinogens, as well as other toxic components, that are present in secondhand tobacco smoke. Carcinogens that occur in secondhand tobacco smoke include benzene, 1,3-butadiene, benzo[a]pyrene, 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone, and many others.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:I can the non-smokers having double standards when it comes to having clean air for everyone. It seems like they rather go attack smokers who are vulnerable than those major culprits of air pollution. *Tsk, Tsk*
YES. I REMEMBER DURING THE HAZE PERIOD THERE WAS THIS TEMPLE NEARBY STILL INSISTENT ON BURNING STUFF.Originally posted by autumncs:The 7th lunar month is also quite irritating... Why can't all the people who burn paper money gather somewhere in Tuas or Senoko? Instead the people burn paper money everywhere (the space in front of my block is a popular place to burn stuffs). Not only the smell is unpleasant and irritating, there's also a fire hazard.
You're the man!Originally posted by fymk:Too much food also kills. Starting with blocked arteries , diabetes , heart disease ...then you move to the complicated stage where cardiac bypass , foot amputation, renal failure comes in, hypertension related stroke etc ...That is why I am pasting cigarette warnings ( scratch out "smoking" and replace with "diabetes" kills) on my friend's krispy kreme donut each time she talks about how bad smoking can be.
Alcohol is another one - it breeds social problems like fights (sometimes people do get killed in drunken fights, plus wife battering ) and it also cooks the liver inside while you are alive and you end up getting liver cirrhosis or other liver diseases. Howabout drunken driving - it kills innocent people. It creates alcoholics who cannot function properly unlike smokers who can function without creating a problem . Smoking don't do that much compared to alcohol's social problems and after effects . Why doesn't anyone condemn alcohol?
Everything nowadays kills. You walk across the road - you have the risk of getting knocked down by a car or hit by a falling branch. At the end of the day, we all die still after avoiding all that kills.
Life is about moderate enjoyment ....you enjoy things while you have time on this existence ....
If you daresay you never got drunk before , never touched a cigarette and never eat unhealthy food , then go advise the world . Even my dad's friend who was a healthy vegan who don't smoke who don't drink , DIED OF CANCER anyways.
x2. Keep on posting.Originally posted by M©+square:You're the man!
Love the earlier post as well.![]()