Your logic not as good as fymk leh.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:x2. Keep on posting.![]()
Ok. After my exams, I'll make this forum a more enriching experience for everyone.Originally posted by M©+square:Your logic not as good as fymk leh.
Must do your studies then fight your case mah.
You dead set in your "smoking is good" campagin aren't you?Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:1 pt for the smokers.![]()
So you dead set in your "smoking is bad" campaign aren't you?Originally posted by SumOne:You dead set in your "smoking is good" campagin aren't you?
I got no such campaign leh.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:So you dead set in your "smoking is bad" campaign aren't you?![]()
Yes. And sign up for P membership.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Do you think I shld start my own forum?
Yeah, I guess it makes sense that you love cigerattes more than sgforums. How much you speend weekly on cigerattes anyway?Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:The money spend on p-membership can be used to buy cigarettes.![]()
do u share sticks?Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:The money spend on p-membership can be used to buy cigarettes.![]()
The money spent on cigarettes should be spent on something healthier...Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:The money spend on p-membership can be used to buy cigarettes.![]()
You must understand, to him, smoking is the ultimate coolest, healthiest and best thing to have on earth.Originally posted by autumncs:The money spent on cigarettes should be spent on something healthier...
Maybe spend the money on shopping before the GST increase? (but not shopping for cigarettes please... for the sake of all the complaining non-smokers)
Although I believe in exerting my right to choose smoking, I do not agree with people smoking in front of their children or in my house where I have non smoking family members . However I do believe that people have a right to walk away if they find my smoking offensive in a legal public place or a designated smoking area , no one is forcing you to stay and inhale smoke. I always make sure I am the first one on the bench before I light up . That way other nonsmokers can choose not to share a seat with me. The open space is a natural ventilation system and if smoking ban is not in effect there, I have that right .Originally posted by autumncs:Eating junk food and getting diabetes or high-blood-cholesterol is your personal choice and personal responsibility. But breathing 2nd-hand smoke is not a choice... Non-smokers are forced to breathe in 2nd-hand smoke.
If I eat McDonalds or KFC, it's my own problem. I'm harming myself only and I don't affect you... But if you smoke, not only you're harming yourself, you're also harming everyone else around you.
The 7th lunar month is also quite irritating... Why can't all the people who burn paper money gather somewhere in Tuas or Senoko? Instead the people burn paper money everywhere (the space in front of my block is a popular place to burn stuffs). Not only the smell is unpleasant and irritating, there's also a fire hazard.
Maybe you should read the reply I posted above your reply.Originally posted by SexyChin:Passive or involuntary smoking occurs when the exhaled and ambient smoke (otherwise known as environmental or secondhand smoke) from one person's cigarette is inhaled by other people. Passive smoking involves inhaling carcinogens, as well as other toxic components, that are present in secondhand tobacco smoke. Carcinogens that occur in secondhand tobacco smoke include benzene, 1,3-butadiene, benzo[a]pyrene, 4-(methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone, and many others.
It is confirmed that, in adults, secondhand smoke causes lung cancer, nasal sinus cancer, breast cancer in younger women, heart disease, heart attacks, and asthma induction. Secondhand smoke is also known to harm children, infants and reproductive health through acute lower respiratory tract illness, asthma induction and exacerbation, chronic respiratory symptoms, middle ear infection, lower birth weight babies, and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.[15]
In June 2006, US Surgeon General Richard H. Carmona called the evidence against passive smoke "indisputable" and said "The science is clear: secondhand smoke is not a mere annoyance, but a serious health hazard that causes premature death and disease in children and non-smoking adults.".[16] Passive smoking is one of the key issues that have lead to introduction of smoking bans, particularly in workplaces.
The composition of Environmental tobacco smoke (ETS) is similar to fossil fuel combustion products that contribute to air pollution, and has been shown to be responsible for indoor particulate matter (PM) levels far exceeding official outdoor limits.[17]
Then get your air con repairman, your air con is not functioning.Originally posted by matrixeg:the smoke from the family of chain smokers downstairs enter the heatsink of my aircon outside my room... after a night of air-conditioning my room smells like a cigar shop.. bloody c*nts...![]()
check liao la... the filter can only filter out the smoke but not the smell.. i'm sure you know what crap these ppl smoke.. dogs can sniff it out kilometres away..Originally posted by M©+square:Then get your air con repairman, your air con is not functioning.
Don't blame it on the family downstairs.
Your house air cos is room unit kind ah?Originally posted by matrixeg:check liao la... the filter can only filter out the smoke but not the smell.. i'm sure you know what crap these ppl smoke.. dogs can sniff it out kilometres away..![]()
mine's a daikin~Originally posted by M©+square:Your house air cos is room unit kind ah?
Those the on the electricity then air Con got rumbling sound one ah?![]()
By right lah, the smell won't affect your air con unit one.Originally posted by matrixeg:mine's a daikin~![]()
Originally posted by fymk:The right of non-smokers to walk away may be applicable in most situations... But there are some instances where I cannot just walk away. For example, during a heavy rain, many people are squeezing under a bus shelter, and suddenly one idiot in the bus stop lights a cigarette...
Although I believe in exerting my right to choose smoking, I do not agree with people smoking in front of their children or in my house where I have non smoking family members . However [b] I do believe that people have a right to walk away if they find my smoking offensive in a legal public place or a designated smoking area , no one is forcing you to stay and inhale smoke. I always make sure I am the first one on the bench before I light up . That way other nonsmokers can choose not to share a seat with me. The open space is a natural ventilation system and if smoking ban is not in effect there, I have that right . [/b]
In Victoria, Australia, they ban smoking in tram stops and bus stops. That is fair enough.Originally posted by autumncs:The right of non-smokers to walk away may be applicable in most situations... But there are some instances where I cannot just walk away. For example, during a heavy rain, many people are squeezing under a bus shelter, and suddenly one idiot in the bus stop lights a cigarette...
Anyway, as a non-smoker, I'm already grateful that Singapore has done a lot to protect the rights of non-smokers. In other countries, like China, the air smells like crap (both indoor and outdoor). Even in developed countries like Germany, people smoke everywhere, even in "No Smoking" places. (Once I took a train in Germany and a fellow passenger was smoking in the non-smoking cabin. Even the ticket inspector also bochup. Maybe those who cannot live without cigarettes can consider moving there... You'll have more rights to smoke. Haha.)
That's the way. Non-smokers have rights,smokers also have rights. As long as we are considerate to one another, we can live peacefully together.Originally posted by fymk:In Victoria, Australia, they ban smoking in tram stops and bus stops. That is fair enough.
Don't tell me where to move, I know the laws of the countries I live in and if someone wants to complain about me when I am smoking in a permitted area - they can go stuff themselves especially when there is a big sign of "SMOKING IS PERMITTED IN THIS AREA". I pay for the rights to smoke where the law says I can , just like people who pay for the rights to drink alcohol responsibly .
Originally posted by fymk:Where is your proof?
Maybe you should read the reply I posted above your reply.
Only in random controlled trials , you can prove something has caused cancer. All drugs have to go through randomised controlled trials to make sure they are truly effective.
Smoking has no human random controlled trials because of the ethics involved. The evidence they taken are mostly from cohort studies which in epidemiological terms will only prove an association [b] NOT a causal relationship . From there, the conclusion is open to interpretation and some studies are flawed. There are effect modifiers in them such as genetic predisposition (i.e. BrCa mutations which put some women at higher risk of breast cancer) , dose-response, lifestyle choices and even environmental factors.
They permitted smoking in the past in poorly ventilated buildings . It's like having a fire and you breathing in the smoke from the fire constantly - of course the lungs of second hand and first hand smokers go kaput. It's similar to eating - you eat too much - you become fat - you have clogged arteries and heart problems. Even too much pure oxygen is toxic for the brain.
However in an open space , it is a different story - similar to smelling BBQ smoke while you are BBQing food. No doubt smoking lacks the aromatic smells of a food cooking but most smokers are not always smoking constantly . Open space = open ventilation .That is a reason why kitchens have to be well ventilated as well , just in case the food burnts and the smoke from burning food is more acrid than the cigarette I smoke.
As for environmental smoking pollution, well excuse me if you sniff at the car's exhaust only without ventilation , you die from carbon monoxide poisoning. Cars emit the more than a smoker does. All the comparisons to smoking are based on predictive mathematical modelling which means shat to me - it may be happen but it cannot be proven it actually happens .... they cannot actually estimate how the force of an individual's inhalation at a go or the temperature of the smoke going in - hence dose response issues. No freaking experimental box on a substitute for a lung is going to be like my lungs or anyone elses.