Ngong Ping got wat de? jus now someone also mentioned tht place.. but Lantau Island is so ulu.. difficult to go there..Originally posted by gd4u:Hmm, depends one which hotel u are staying ...
And also, ur age, cos the Disneyland, IMO, is still very small, u could enjoy urself there ... and prepare to do some survey for Disneyland when u leave...
I think, a must go, is Ngong Ping at Lantau Island, the cable car gives u a nice view of HKIA (but it may be hazy). Behind the Big Buddha statute, there is a small desert store, must try ...
As for the cold, if u are just walking around.... two layers of clothes would be enuff, If u are going to the hilltops (eg, The Peak, Ngong Ping, etc), a jacket would be more suitable ...
got shopping and scenery lah.. but if u dunnno where u wan to go then not safe lor.. china man all wan to cheat ur money and sell u one lah.. maybe then u will know what "chicken" mean lor..Originally posted by winnie^_^:y no safe? alamak.. i am blur one.. but i feel like going there.. got scenery and shopping rite?
so the snoopy themepark can dun go loh?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ya it's the largest snoopy theme park in asia i think..... so big that u can finished walking in 5min lor.... new town plaza for shopping lor... if u like Ikea hotdog or meatball.. the IKEA is just beside it lor.... hahah.... oh ya.. and the best char siew rice that i can find in hk till today is in shatin lor.. but have to walk 15min away....
u can go see see lor.. it's so big till u cannot believe lor..5min including time for taking pic hor...Originally posted by winnie^_^:so the snoopy themepark can dun go loh?
take cab? wah.... very ex leh!Originally posted by mochou:shenzhen just take a cab and go "dong men" (East door)
that side shuold be enough for you to shop.
Dinner go "Zhong xin ming cai" a janpanese restaurant, got jap food and "tie ban shao". it's a very very big jap restaurant.
Ngong Ping is the place for the Big Buddha. It is a highland actually. From there you can climb mountain (hiking) if you are adventurous.Originally posted by winnie^_^:Ngong Ping got wat de? jus now someone also mentioned tht place.. but Lantau Island is so ulu.. difficult to go there..
I dun think is talking abt Nth Lantau lahOriginally posted by Icemoon:Ngong Ping is the place for the Big Buddha. It is a highland actually. From there you can climb mountain (hiking) if you are adventurous.
Lantau Island is NOT ulu. If it is ulu .. how people go disneyland and the airport?
wah.. u said it all.. i can tiam tiam already...... my conclusion is HK is more fun than SG.. what u think?Originally posted by autumncs:Hello. It will be an advantage to know Cantonese when you go HK, because you can bargain with the night market vendors, ask for directions, order food, etc. If you dunno Cantonese, you can speak English and Mandarin (but you won't have much bargaining power).
For sightseeing and shopping, you can easily refer to any travel guides. Most travel guides would advise you to visit the Peak (for its magnificent views), Central (to see all the tall skyscrapers), mid-levels (for the world's longest escalator, to see antique shops, to visit Lan Kwai Fong, etc), Causeway Bay (for trendy fashion and accessories), Tsim Sha Tsui (for world-class shopping, museums, and the famous cross-harbour view), Yau Ma Tei (for the famous Temple Street night market), Mongkok (for the famous Women Street night market), etc etc.... If you have more time to spare, make a trip to Stanley (South of HK island) for its market and seaside village ambience, or go to Ocean Park, or Disneyland, or Lantau Island (either the big buddha at Ngong Ping or the traditional fishing village at Tai O). If you have even more time, make a trip to Macau for its casinos, its churches (recognised as UNESCO world heritage sites), and its Portuguese cuisine. Or you can head north to Shenzhen for cheap shopping.
I went to HK in May and I'm going there again next week. (I was born in HK and I grow up here in SG, so I regularly fly between HK & SG). As a "semi-Hong Konger", I can give you the following advices if you want to save money!
(1) If nobody fetches you at HK airport, the cheapest way to the city is bus. Avoid the Airport Express train unless you're in a hurry. (Train is very expensive in HK.) In the airport arrival hall, go to the transport counter and buy an octopus card (equivalent to Singapore's Ezlink card). You can buy a tourist pass with 3-days MTR rides, or you can buy a normal adult card for HK$150 ($50 deposit + $100 usable). When you leave HK, go back to the same counter to refund the card. If you wanna take bus, do some research before the trip - check whether your hotel has Axx or Exx services. (E.g. A11 & E11 goes to HK Island. The difference between A11 and E11 is that A11 is more direct and more comfortable. E11 is cheaper, but it makes one big round inside the airport serving the cargo centre, catering centre, maintenance centre, etc etc before it goes to the city.)
(2) If you live in HK Island, you're lucky! Most of the sights in HK Island is accessible by trams.... Yes, nice green double-decker trams that goes "Ding! Ding! Ding!"... It's the cheapest mode of transportation in HK - $2 per ride (around SGD 40 cents). It's cheap, and the tram travels slowly so you can enjoy the scenery at a leisurely pace (and take good photos). If you're in a hurry, take MTR (Mass Transit Railway - equivalent to SG's MRT), but avoid MTR during peak hours.
(3) If you live in Kowloon, too bad there's no trams. So getting around will be a bit more expensive. Hence, to save money in Kowloon, the best way to get around is to WALK (unless you buy the 3-day MTR pass). With so many shops and eateries, you can walk from Tsim Sha Tsui to Mongkok without feeling tired. (It's something like walking from Orchard to Suntec.)
(4) Between Kowloon and HK Island, the cheapest and nicest way to cross the harbour is to take the Star Ferry. I don't need to elaborate much. Experience it yourself. (Take note that the upper deck of the ferry costs HK$2.2 and the lower deck costs $1.7. The scenary is better in the upper deck, but I still prefer the lower deck because it's more "local".)
(5) When you go out every morning, pay attention to the weather. If it's raining or foggy, AVOID THE PEAK. The peak is only worth going when the sky is clear. (The upward trip on the peak tram is expensive, and it'll be a waste if you cannot see anything at the top.) When you encounter lousy weather, go SHOPPING.
(6) An alternative to shopping is to visit museums. The 6 major museums (Art, Space, History, Science, Heritage, Coastal Defence) are admission-free on EVERY WEDNESDAY! My personal favourites are the History Museum and the Science Museum (which are side by side). You can spend one whole day in the 2 museums.
(7) One of the evening, you can go to Tsim Sha Tsui and see the night scenery of HK Island. (In December, the Xmas lightings are impressive.) Do not miss the "Symphony of Lights" show at 8pm sharp (everyday). The light show involves dozens of skyscrapers lighting up and changing colours according to music. If you reach Tsim Sha Tsui early, occupy a place along the seaside promenade, so that you can have unobstructed views of the light show.
(To have good meals without hurting your wallet, consider "tea restaurant" (Cha2 Can1 Ting1 in mandarin). It's equivalent to SG's coffee shop, and it's found everywhere in HK. Most "tea restaurants" serve a wide variety of dishes, but very often the menus are in Chinese only. "Tea restaurants" are economical and very "local", but the dark side is that people tend to smoke inside. Other places to eat includes noodle restaurants (some sell Wanton Mee for HK$10 only!), congee restaurants, Cafe de Coral (fast food chain serving rice/noodles), or even McDonalds (which is much much cheaper than the ones in Singapore). Dim Sum is also a must-try, but dim sum can be quite costly and it's not recommended to eat dim sum everyday unless you're damn rich. (Btw dim sum is only offered for breakfast and lunch. Don't be a suakoo by asking for dim sum in the evening.) HK desserts are also "must-try". Examples include sesame-paste, red-bean soup, "Yang Zhi Gan Lu" (a mixture of mango, pomelo and milk - my favourite), Gui-lin-gao, milk pudding, rice balls with sesame or peanut filling, mango ice (esp the one in "Xu Liu Shan"), etc etc. Oh dear. Thinking of all these food makes me hungry. Fortunately I'm going to HK next week! Yay!
(9) Recently HK became notorious for its serious air pollution. If you encounter a very bad pollution, avoid downtown (HK Island & Kowloon) and go to Lantau Island instead. Lantau Island has quite a lot of things to offer, such as the big buddha, the fishing village of Tai O, and of course, Disneyland. If you want to go Disneyland, avoid weekends. The (already very expensive) tickets are more expensive on weekends, and the crowds during weekends are horrendous. HK Disneyland is rather compact and you can try all the rides in one day, but most of the time in the park will be spent on queuing. (You can reduce the waiting time by collecting "Fast-pass" at certain rides. For example, you can approach the ride counter at 10am and collect a Fast-pass for 11:30am. Then, at 11:30am, you can just go for the ride and bypass the normal queue.)
(10) If Disneyland is too expensive, and Lantau Island sounds boring to you, consider going to Macau. A one-way ferry ticket from HK to Macau costs around HK$150 and takes around 1 hour. Macau is well-known for its casinos (esp Macau Sands, the sister casino of Singapore Sands), its historical monuments (recognised as UNESCO world heritage sites), and its Portuguese cuisine. Downtown Macau is compacted enough to be explored by foot, but the ferry terminal was rather "out of the way", so you need to take a bus or cab from the ferry terminal to the main attractions.
Oh. I think my post is very very long already. As my hometown, HK is indeed a fascinating place. I still feel excited and amazed every time I go there, as I always encounter something new. I sincerely hope that you'll have a wonderful time in HK! (If you have excess money left after the trip, don't forget to buy some Wife Cakes at the HK airport for your friends and relatives!)
wait a minute .. isn't Dongmen accessible by their MRT? Don't anyhow give advice leh!Originally posted by mochou:shenzhen just take a cab and go "dong men" (East door)
that side shuold be enough for you to shop.
is SG any fun to begin with?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):wah.. u said it all.. i can tiam tiam already...... my conclusion is HK is more fun than SG.. what u think?![]()
The snoopy theme park is free, but besides photo-taking, there's nothing much. If you want "hard-core sightseeing", walks towards Shatin IKEA and go to this small path at the back of the building. You will see a long staircase lined with many many golden buddhas. Climb up the stairs, and you'll reach the Temple of 10000 Buddhas. The view from the top is superb, and the temple itself is also very very interesting. (If you have time, you can stay back and count whether there are really 10000 buddhas)Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ya it's the largest snoopy theme park in asia i think..... so big that u can finished walking in 5min lor.... new town plaza for shopping lor... if u like Ikea hotdog or meatball.. the IKEA is just beside it lor.... hahah.... oh ya.. and the best char siew rice that i can find in hk till today is in shatin lor.. but have to walk 15min away....
cab is cheap there.(maybe for the local it's luxury, but for you, it's cheap.)Originally posted by winnie^_^:take cab? wah.... very ex leh!
other than shopping.. any other things at shenzhen is a must go or eat or watever de?
hmm... got other foods other than jap?
thanks so much for replying! so u r half a hkonger loh.. no wonder u can intro so much abt hk.. heh.. i would like to visist those places u mention.. but the no. of days i stay there r limited.. as for the such as the big buddha, the fishing village of Tai O, and of course, Disneyland.. as few of them had already mentioned.. how do i get to lantau island? wat abt shenzhen? u no write anything abt sz?Originally posted by autumncs:Hello. It will be an advantage to know Cantonese when you go HK, because you can bargain with the night market vendors, ask for directions, order food, etc. If you dunno Cantonese, you can speak English and Mandarin (but you won't have much bargaining power).
For sightseeing and shopping, you can easily refer to any travel guides. Most travel guides would advise you to visit the Peak (for its magnificent views), Central (to see all the tall skyscrapers), mid-levels (for the world's longest escalator, to see antique shops, to visit Lan Kwai Fong, etc), Causeway Bay (for trendy fashion and accessories), Tsim Sha Tsui (for world-class shopping, museums, and the famous cross-harbour view), Yau Ma Tei (for the famous Temple Street night market), Mongkok (for the famous Women Street night market), etc etc.... If you have more time to spare, make a trip to Stanley (South of HK island) for its market and seaside village ambience, or go to Ocean Park, or Disneyland, or Lantau Island (either the big buddha at Ngong Ping or the traditional fishing village at Tai O). If you have even more time, make a trip to Macau for its casinos, its churches (recognised as UNESCO world heritage sites), and its Portuguese cuisine. Or you can head north to Shenzhen for cheap shopping.
I went to HK in May and I'm going there again next week. (I was born in HK and I grow up here in SG, so I regularly fly between HK & SG). As a "semi-Hong Konger", I can give you the following advices if you want to save money!
(1) If nobody fetches you at HK airport, the cheapest way to the city is bus. Avoid the Airport Express train unless you're in a hurry. (Train is very expensive in HK.) In the airport arrival hall, go to the transport counter and buy an octopus card (equivalent to Singapore's Ezlink card). You can buy a tourist pass with 3-days MTR rides, or you can buy a normal adult card for HK$150 ($50 deposit + $100 usable). When you leave HK, go back to the same counter to refund the card. If you wanna take bus, do some research before the trip - check whether your hotel has Axx or Exx services. (E.g. A11 & E11 goes to HK Island. The difference between A11 and E11 is that A11 is more direct and more comfortable. E11 is cheaper, but it makes one big round inside the airport serving the cargo centre, catering centre, maintenance centre, etc etc before it goes to the city.)
(2) If you live in HK Island, you're lucky! Most of the sights in HK Island is accessible by trams.... Yes, nice green double-decker trams that goes "Ding! Ding! Ding!"... It's the cheapest mode of transportation in HK - $2 per ride (around SGD 40 cents). It's cheap, and the tram travels slowly so you can enjoy the scenery at a leisurely pace (and take good photos). If you're in a hurry, take MTR (Mass Transit Railway - equivalent to SG's MRT), but avoid MTR during peak hours.
(3) If you live in Kowloon, too bad there's no trams. So getting around will be a bit more expensive. Hence, to save money in Kowloon, the best way to get around is to WALK (unless you buy the 3-day MTR pass). With so many shops and eateries, you can walk from Tsim Sha Tsui to Mongkok without feeling tired. (It's something like walking from Orchard to Suntec.)
(4) Between Kowloon and HK Island, the cheapest and nicest way to cross the harbour is to take the Star Ferry. I don't need to elaborate much. Experience it yourself. (Take note that the upper deck of the ferry costs HK$2.2 and the lower deck costs $1.7. The scenary is better in the upper deck, but I still prefer the lower deck because it's more "local".)
(5) When you go out every morning, pay attention to the weather. If it's raining or foggy, AVOID THE PEAK. The peak is only worth going when the sky is clear. (The upward trip on the peak tram is expensive, and it'll be a waste if you cannot see anything at the top.) When you encounter lousy weather, go SHOPPING.
(6) An alternative to shopping is to visit museums. The 6 major museums (Art, Space, History, Science, Heritage, Coastal Defence) are admission-free on EVERY WEDNESDAY! My personal favourites are the History Museum and the Science Museum (which are side by side). You can spend one whole day in the 2 museums.
(7) One of the evening, you can go to Tsim Sha Tsui and see the night scenery of HK Island. (In December, the Xmas lightings are impressive.) Do not miss the "Symphony of Lights" show at 8pm sharp (everyday). The light show involves dozens of skyscrapers lighting up and changing colours according to music. If you reach Tsim Sha Tsui early, occupy a place along the seaside promenade, so that you can have unobstructed views of the light show.
(8 ) To have good meals without hurting your wallet, consider "tea restaurant" (Cha2 Can1 Ting1 in mandarin). It's equivalent to SG's coffee shop, and it's found everywhere in HK. Most "tea restaurants" serve a wide variety of dishes, but very often the menus are in Chinese only. "Tea restaurants" are economical and very "local", but the dark side is that people tend to smoke inside. Other places to eat includes noodle restaurants (some sell Wanton Mee for HK$10 only!), congee restaurants, Cafe de Coral (fast food chain serving rice/noodles), or even McDonalds (which is much much cheaper than the ones in Singapore). Dim Sum is also a must-try, but dim sum can be quite costly and it's not recommended to eat dim sum everyday unless you're damn rich. (Btw dim sum is only offered for breakfast and lunch. Don't be a suakoo by asking for dim sum in the evening.) HK desserts are also "must-try". Examples include sesame-paste, red-bean soup, "Yang Zhi Gan Lu" (a mixture of mango, pomelo and milk - my favourite), Gui-lin-gao, milk pudding, rice balls with sesame or peanut filling, mango ice (esp the one in "Xu Liu Shan" ), etc etc. Oh dear. Thinking of all these food makes me hungry. Fortunately I'm going to HK next week! Yay!
(9) Recently HK became notorious for its serious air pollution. If you encounter a very bad pollution, avoid downtown (HK Island & Kowloon) and go to Lantau Island instead. Lantau Island has quite a lot of things to offer, such as the big buddha, the fishing village of Tai O, and of course, Disneyland. If you want to go Disneyland, avoid weekends. The (already very expensive) tickets are more expensive on weekends, and the crowds during weekends are horrendous. HK Disneyland is rather compact and you can try all the rides in one day, but most of the time in the park will be spent on queuing. (You can reduce the waiting time by collecting "Fast-pass" at certain rides. For example, you can approach the ride counter at 10am and collect a Fast-pass for 11:30am. Then, at 11:30am, you can just go for the ride and bypass the normal queue.)
(10) If Disneyland is too expensive, and Lantau Island sounds boring to you, consider going to Macau. A one-way ferry ticket from HK to Macau costs around HK$150 and takes around 1 hour. Macau is well-known for its casinos (esp Macau Sands, the sister casino of Singapore Sands), its historical monuments (recognised as UNESCO world heritage sites), and its Portuguese cuisine. Downtown Macau is compacted enough to be explored by foot, but the ferry terminal was rather "out of the way", so you need to take a bus or cab from the ferry terminal to the main attractions.
Oh. I think my post is very very long already. As my hometown, HK is indeed a fascinating place. I still feel excited and amazed every time I go there, as I always encounter something new. I sincerely hope that you'll have a wonderful time in HK! (If you have excess money left after the trip, don't forget to buy some Wife Cakes at the HK airport for your friends and relatives!)
pai seh. never take mrt there before. Went there with 3 frens. so we travel by cab all the time.Originally posted by Icemoon:wait a minute .. isn't Dongmen accessible by their MRT? Don't anyhow give advice leh!
haha that temple last time mi and my fren find here find there also cannot find.. till we give up already and on the way back then saw it halfway in the hill..... the musuem ar.. never went b4 yet... for the outside.. look sibei boring... my standard SOP when i go shatin is go IKEA for HKD9 hotdog and drink with free refill( no confirm but i always refillOriginally posted by autumncs:The snoopy theme park is free, but besides photo-taking, there's nothing much. If you want "hard-core sightseeing", walks towards Shatin IKEA and go to this small path at the back of the building. You will see a long staircase lined with many many golden buddhas. Climb up the stairs, and you'll reach the Temple of 10000 Buddhas. The view from the top is superb, and the temple itself is also very very interesting. (If you have time, you can stay back and count whether there are really 10000 buddhas)
If you go to Shatin on a wednesday, you can also go to the Heritage Museum (Opp New Town Plaza). The museum is admission-free every wednesday. My personal favourite in the museum is this camera that capture your face and than digitally paint your face in traditional Cantonese Opera make-up!!! (The results are rather hilarious. Ang Mohs are always the one who laugh the loudest when they see their face in chinese opera make-up... )
There is something I don't understand.Originally posted by autumncs:Oh. I think my post is very very long already. As my hometown, HK is indeed a fascinating place. I still feel excited and amazed every time I go there, as I always encounter something new. I sincerely hope that you'll have a wonderful time in HK! (If you have excess money left after the trip, don't forget to buy some Wife Cakes at the HK airport for your friends and relatives!)
ok, thn can forget abt the snoopy place liao..Originally posted by autumncs:The snoopy theme park is free, but besides photo-taking, there's nothing much. If you want "hard-core sightseeing", walks towards Shatin IKEA and go to this small path at the back of the building. You will see a long staircase lined with many many golden buddhas. Climb up the stairs, and you'll reach the Temple of 10000 Buddhas. The view from the top is superb, and the temple itself is also very very interesting. (If you have time, you can stay back and count whether there are really 10000 buddhas)
If you go to Shatin on a wednesday, you can also go to the Heritage Museum (Opp New Town Plaza). The museum is admission-free every wednesday. My personal favourite in the museum is this camera that captures your face and then digitally paints your face in traditional Cantonese Opera make-up!!! (The results are rather hilarious. Ang Mohs are always the one who laugh the loudest when they see their face in chinese opera make-up... )
it's ex till very stupid lah.. u try then u will know lor.. bus is very cheap and convenient lah.. for a few station MRT trip will u pay SGD30?? or u wan to take a few dollar bus ride?Originally posted by winnie^_^:y avoid the Airport Express train? it is convenient mah.. i dun mind to spend the money.. thou bus is convenient but dun know the way..
oh.. Mini of statue of liberty i heard b4.. how to go there?Originally posted by mochou:cab is cheap there.(maybe for the local it's luxury, but for you, it's cheap.)
Shenzhen got the "shi jie zhi chuan", a park with mini size of attractions around the world. like Mini of statue of liberty, white house, ivory tower etc.
Got the "hang kong mu jian"(aircraft carrier) opened for public to see.
but i not interested in those things.
The food in shenzhen is quite similar to HK. Cha can ting can be found easily in shenzhen, but not in northern cities of china. Maybe you want to try to eat some expensive seafood there, cheaper than sg. I went to eat seafood with 3 other fren, got big lobster, got "xiang ba bang"(the elephant trunk like thing), oysters, big prawns, and some other dishes. 800RMB. Convert to sg sure not enuff to eat so many good stuff.
oh ok... i dun know mah..Originally posted by Icemoon:Ngong Ping is the place for the Big Buddha. It is a highland actually. From there you can climb mountain (hiking) if you are adventurous.
Lantau Island is NOT ulu. If it is ulu .. how people go disneyland and the airport?
To get to Ngong Ping, take MTR to Tung Chung Station, a 1-day tourist pass is HKD50, travel as much as u can ... hehe ... and true enough, air is much better in at Lantau ...Originally posted by winnie^_^:Ngong Ping got wat de? jus now someone also mentioned tht place.. but Lantau Island is so ulu.. difficult to go there..
so which way should i go to shenzhen?Originally posted by Icemoon:wait a minute .. isn't Dongmen accessible by their MRT? Don't anyhow give advice leh!