To go lantau island, you can take the MRT. Then switch to the disneyland line or go straight to Tung Chung (town centre for Lantau).Originally posted by winnie^_^:thanks so much for replying! so u r half a hkonger loh.. no wonder u can intro so much abt hk.. heh.. i would like to visist those places u mention.. but the no. of days i stay there r limited.. as for the such as the big buddha, the fishing village of Tai O, and of course, Disneyland.. as few of them had already mentioned.. how do i get to lantau island? wat abt shenzhen? u no write anything abt sz?
y avoid the Airport Express train? it is convenient mah.. i dun mind to spend the money.. thou bus is convenient but dun know the way..
what do you mean?Originally posted by winnie^_^:so which way should i go to shenzhen?
yes, but that is what i like about their system actually... coz u got the choice of very direct bus route... if u plan well u wont be taking 1 or 2 stop ride lor.. not like sg u go round and round coz most route suppose to serve alot of area.. maybe to maximinize their profit too lor.. i dunno.. but hk one.. is ex but is direct.... then their fare will get lesser and lesser when nearer to the terminal lor.. e.g point A to Point B got 10 stop... it's HK10... but when reach the 5th stop the fare when u board the bus is maybe HK5 already...Originally posted by Icemoon:There is something I don't understand.
Recently the papers have been praising the HK transportation system for its efficiency and people there are strongly encouraged and willing to use public transport.
However, because there is no octopus card reader installed at the exit, the bus fare is essentially a flat fare system.
Isn't this penalising people who take short trips like one or two stops?
aiya.. thn take taxi lah.. since taxi not ex rite?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):it's ex till very stupid lah.. u try then u will know lor.. bus is very cheap and convenient lah.. for a few station MRT trip will u pay SGD30?? or u wan to take a few dollar bus ride?
If your destination is just nearby .. it will be 1 or 2 stops. This is common sense .. not meh?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):yes, but that is what i like about their system actually... coz u got the choice of very direct bus route... if u plan well u wont be taking 1 or 2 stop ride lor.. not like sg u go round and round coz most route suppose to serve alot of area.. maybe to maximinize their profit too lor.. i dunno.. but hk one.. is ex but is direct.... then their fare will get lesser and lesser when nearer to the terminal lor.. e.g point A to Point B got 10 stop... it's HK10... but when reach the 5th stop the fare when u board the bus is maybe HK5 already...![]()
New Town Plaza is just outside the Shatin KCR station.Originally posted by winnie^_^:ok, thn can forget abt the snoopy place liao..
fyi hor.. i dun like museum leh.. haha..
Heritage Museum - this one sounds interesting!
how to go new town plaza?
can buy the 1-day tourist pass at Tung Chung MRT Station?Originally posted by gd4u:To get to Ngong Ping, take MTR to Tung Chung Station, a 1-day tourist pass is HKD50, travel as much as u can ... hehe ... and true enough, air is much better in at Lantau ...
about 5 times. so 800rmb is about 160.Originally posted by winnie^_^:oh.. Mini of statue of liberty i heard b4.. how to go there?
hmm.. 800rmb is sg how much?
thn jumbo or this sz seafood is nicer?
hk taxi not very cheap too hor.. dun anyhow take.. maybe due to the distance in hk lor... it's actually quite cheap.. but coz the distance is really long.. so become ex lor... but can bargain one.. u can ask b4 u board it lor... if it's after midnight can bargain for even more discount... not like sg 1.5 times one..Originally posted by winnie^_^:aiya.. thn take taxi lah.. since taxi not ex rite?
The hongkies can tell the Singaporean accent. Either that or by look and mannerism.Originally posted by Stooky:if u go hk better to speak cantonese, or otherwise english, or otherwise make ur chinese sound lousy... coz i spoke mandarin n got bad service, coz i think the person think i m PRC... coz Hkers dunch rike PRCs...coz they compete wif them for work etc...
huh? u talking si mi? i buay understand lehOriginally posted by Icemoon:If your destination is just nearby .. it will be 1 or 2 stops. This is common sense .. not meh?
Must see heng suay lor. If there is a bus which is about to reach the terminal, you will pay the cheapest for the 1 or 2 stop.
Taxi in shenzhen(china) is cheap.Originally posted by winnie^_^:aiya.. thn take taxi lah.. since taxi not ex rite?
No leh, tt time, i went inside this food store, and the waiters thought we PRC ...Originally posted by Icemoon:The hongkies can tell the Singaporean accent. Either that or by look and mannerism.![]()
hannor....when i speak cantonese...they ask me where im from...whem my parents speak cantonese...they dont have any problems...Originally posted by Icemoon:The hongkies can tell the Singaporean accent. Either that or by look and mannerism.![]()
Windows of the World. Take their MRT to the station by the same name.Originally posted by winnie^_^:oh.. Mini of statue of liberty i heard b4.. how to go there?
Lantau Island is very convenient as it's connected by the MTR and many bus services. (In fact the HK airport is on Lantau Island... Actually not exactly Lantau Island lah.... it's on a reclaimed island north of Lantau Island) Taking the Tung Chung MTR line, you can alight at Sunny Bay station to get to Disneyland, or go all the way to Tung Chung to catch the Ngong Ping cable car to see the big buddha. You can also take a bus from Tung Chung to the fishing village of Tai O.Originally posted by winnie^_^:thanks so much for replying! so u r half a hkonger loh.. no wonder u can intro so much abt hk.. heh.. i would like to visist those places u mention.. but the no. of days i stay there r limited.. as for the such as the big buddha, the fishing village of Tai O, and of course, Disneyland.. as few of them had already mentioned.. how do i get to lantau island? wat abt shenzhen? u no write anything abt sz?
y avoid the Airport Express train? it is convenient mah.. i dun mind to spend the money.. thou bus is convenient but dun know the way..
You can take KCR to Shatin. (KCR starts in Tsim Sha Tsui and ends in Lo wu, which is the HK-Shenzhen checkpoint. Shatin is halfway thru the line.) New Town Plaza is directly next to Shatin station... But New Town Plaza can be very crowded on weekends... Snoopy World is at Level 3 of New Town Plaza.Originally posted by winnie^_^:ok, thn can forget abt the snoopy place liao..
fyi hor.. i dun like museum leh.. haha..
Heritage Museum - this one sounds interesting!
how to go new town plaza?
http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=8AZsm7Zu3aOXJAOriginally posted by udontknowme:train might be asspensive, but its CONVENIENT!!!
you can buy passes...erm...last time i was there i bought a day pass everyday cos i had to travel a lot...which made the pass worth it...hehehe...
and i miss the curry fishballs they used to sell at the streets...and the 'boot zhai gou'now not so nice oledi
plus...things are more asspensive now too...
disneyland....from what i hear...its not that worth it really...but i guess if you want to, you can go lah...
ya, singaporean got "singaporean look".Originally posted by Icemoon:The hongkies can tell the Singaporean accent. Either that or by look and mannerism.![]()
Well, besides the normal buses, there are also minibuses, which can be cheaper and faster than normal buses. However, minibuses are not popular for tourists, because the destination plates are written in Chinese only, and most of the time, the driver can only speak Cantonese...Originally posted by Icemoon:If your destination is just nearby .. it will be 1 or 2 stops. This is common sense .. not meh?
Must see heng suay lor. If there is a bus which is about to reach the terminal, you will pay the cheapest for the 1 or 2 stop.
ok thanks thanks! now i blur liao.. suddenly got few new places to go which r not in my plans.. but since u all said till like so nice.. i will consider...Originally posted by autumncs:You can take KCR to Shatin. (KCR starts in Tsim Sha Tsui and ends in Lo wu, which is the HK-Shenzhen checkpoint. Shatin is halfway thru the line.) New Town Plaza is directly next to Shatin station... But New Town Plaza can be very crowded on weekends... Snoopy World is at Level 3 of New Town Plaza.
hk taxi can sit 5 person one! in front can sit 2 passenger... song bo?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):hk taxi not very cheap too hor.. dun anyhow take.. maybe due to the distance in hk lor... it's actually quite cheap.. but coz the distance is really long.. so become ex lor... but can bargain one.. u can ask b4 u board it lor... if it's after midnight can bargain for even more discount... not like sg 1.5 times one..