That could actually make KMB the most profitable bus coOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):anything that cross from hk island to kowloon is more ex than normal due to the tunnel fees lah... cheapest way is by the ferry lah.. relax and cool and ex..just took it today .. HK2.2 only.. how much ur boat quay river tour cost u har?![]()
Star Ferry rocks! The view of the HK skyline is magnificent!Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):anything that cross from hk island to kowloon is more ex than normal due to the tunnel fees lah... cheapest way is by the ferry lah.. relax and cool and ex..just took it today .. HK2.2 only.. how much ur boat quay river tour cost u har?![]()
The Ferry Terminal is goneOriginally posted by Icemoon:Star Ferry rocks! The view of the HK skyline is magnificent!
But then they shifted the ferry terminal liao. KNS .. have to walk a bit further this time.
Well... HK also have "feeder" services, but their system and our system is different.Originally posted by Icemoon:Walk? They don't have concept of feeder services?
The 1 or 2 stops is just an example, it can be 6 or 7 stops and the bus fare will be at its max since you take from terminus.
Our MRT also high demand. Too bad our trains are sometimes in low frequency and it is not uncommon to wait 5-7 minutes for the next train at peak hour. I remember HK even non peak waiting time is < 5 minutes.Originally posted by autumncs:Well.... HK's cross-harbour tunnel is more difficult to build than Sg's MRT mah... Also, the MTR's high price is supported by a high demand. Everyday during peak hour, the MTR is packed until your face is squashed against the glass window. (You cannot even move your hand to scratch your nose.)
thn from lo wu how to go shenzhen? and how to go to the windows of the world?Originally posted by sbst275:Yes... Can board from Tsim Sha Tsui East or Hung Hom
Hmm .. if each new town has multiple bus terminals .. it means each terminal will not be big right?Originally posted by autumncs:Well... HK also have "feeder" services, but their system and our system is different.
In Singapore, feeder services start from a centralised interchange and then branch out into the neighbourhood. In HK, bus services starts from different terminals in the neighbourhood, and they pass by the town centre. For short services, they loop back and return to the terminal. (Such short services are normally cheap - below HK$5) For longer services, they travel to a different neighbourhood, and terminates at another terminal in the other neighbourhood. (Such longer services cost more...)
Hence, to summarise, each new town in Singapore has one centralised interchange, while each new town in HK has multiple bus terminals.
wah leow .. you got read our replies or not?Originally posted by winnie^_^:thn from lo wu how to go shenzhen? and how to go to the windows of the world?
Well, HK is densely populated and land is very very expensive. So when the contractors dig the ground to build MTR, they usually follow the main roads and maybe that's why the stations are curvy.Originally posted by Icemoon:Our MRT also high demand. Too bad our trains are sometimes in low frequency and it is not uncommon to wait 5-7 minutes for the next train at peak hour. I remember HK even non peak waiting time is < 5 minutes.
Their station design is also very nice and innovative. I think it is the station at Central .. the exit where you tap your octopus is literally across the platform??
I also wonder why our MRT platform cannot be curved like theirs. Ours is so boring. I like the calligraphy on their wallsthat tells you the station name!![]()
haha... got.. i re-read again from page 1 to note down leh.. pai seh.. as wat u or who say.. i got too much info till i blur liao... thank u and dun get too worked up hor...Originally posted by Icemoon:wah leow .. you got read our replies or not?
I did say Lo Wu is the Customs in Shenzhen. So you tell me from Lo Wu how to go Shenzhen?
I also mentioned you can take their MRT to the station of the same name for Windows of the World.
Giant Buddha for sightseeing. It is an outdoor giant buddha with a friendly hi pose. You need to climb a long flight of stairs to reach the buddha.Originally posted by winnie^_^:oh ya.. actually Giant Buddha and tai O village got anything special? y pple always recommend?
Tai Po Market terminus is considered quite big already.... Typical bus terminus normally has around 2 to 4 services.Originally posted by Icemoon:Hmm .. if each new town has multiple bus terminals .. it means each terminal will not be big right?
I've been to the bus terminus at Tai Po Market. Looks quite big to me. Is this a typical size for a bus terminus there?
there's another smaller one at tai po centre... i'm staying beside it... express bus to airport or central.. can reach within 1 hr..Originally posted by Icemoon:Hmm .. if each new town has multiple bus terminals .. it means each terminal will not be big right?
I've been to the bus terminus at Tai Po Market. Looks quite big to me. Is this a typical size for a bus terminus there?
I realize they only have double decks and not single decks, not even the super long bus like sg, for the major bus companies.Originally posted by autumncs:Also, I realised that HK people are more orderly when they board buses. Normally people queue up at the bus stop before the bus arrives. In Singapore, people only queue at interchanges but never queue at bus stops. So, when a bus approach a bus stop, everybody rushes to the side of the road and waves frantically at the driver, hoping that the driver will stop directly in front of them. Then once the driver opens the door, everyone rushes into the bus like hungry ghosts breaking out from the gate of hell...![]()
where is tai po centre ah? issit near tai po market?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):there's another smaller one at tai po centre... i'm staying beside it... express bus to airport or central.. can reach within 1 hr..
somewhere near lor.. see how u define it lor.. hahaOriginally posted by Icemoon:where is tai po centre ah? issit near tai po market?
issit 1 or 2 stops?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):somewhere near lor.. see how u define it lor.. haha![]()
To simplify things, you just divide HK into 4 parts: HK Island, Kowloon, New Territories, and Lantau Island.Originally posted by winnie^_^:hi pple.. so which are the most convenient and easily accessible transport? kcr/mtr/mrt? btw.. wat is the different between kcr and mtr? someone also mentioned abt ferry.. normally take ferry to where one?
the octopus card leh? can use at all kcr/mtr/mrt?
take bus dun talk too loud on ur handphone hor.... or else.......Originally posted by sbst275:But HK bus fares are ex...
From Tuen Mun to Central the bus fares can cost HK$19.20 (S$3.80)
That will depend on where the tram is stuck. If it's stuck in the west (e.g. Sheung Wan or Central), the line from Happy Valley to Shaukeiwan will not be affected. If it's stuck in the east (e.g. Shaukeiwan or North Point), the line from Happy Valley to Kennedy Town will not be affected. If it's stuck in Happy Valley, the line from Kennedy Town to Shaukeiwan will not be affected.Originally posted by Icemoon:I have a question. What if a tram breaks down? Then the whole line will be stuck isn't it?