Actually HK has some single decks (most of them runs on Lantau Island).Originally posted by Icemoon:I realize they only have double decks and not single decks, not even the super long bus like sg, for the major bus companies.
HAHAHA....Originally posted by Stooky:take bus dun talk too loud on ur handphone hor.... or else.......![]()
ok thanks. but i wun use the card from the airport to the city..Originally posted by autumncs:To simplify things, you just divide HK into 4 parts: HK Island, Kowloon, New Territories, and Lantau Island.
The MTR (Mass Transit Railway) connects HK Island, Kowloon and Lantau Island.
The KCR (Kowloon-Canton Railway) connects Kowloon, New Territories (e.g. Shatin, Tai Po, Lo Wu, Yuen Long, etc) and the HK/Shenzhen checkpoint.
The Star Ferry connects HK Island and Kowloon.
The tram only runs on HK Island.
Taxis and buses are everywhere.
Most of the sights are in HK Island and Kowloon, so most likely you will only need to take tram, Star Ferry and MTR. MTR is the fastest, but it's expensive (unless you buy a MTR tourist pass). Avoid MTR during peak hours.
The octopus card can be used on all mode of transport (except taxis). When you buy a normal adult card, it costs $150 ($50 deposit + $100 value). To be frank, the $100 value will not last long. (The trip from the airport to the city already eats a large chunk.) If you travel solely on tram and star ferry, the card should be able to last for one week. If you take MTR & KCR often, you may have to top up $100 every 2 days. If you make a trip to the big buddha in Lantau Island, you may have to top up your card before and after the trip!
Your comments are all very weird.Originally posted by winnie^_^:ok thanks. but i wun use the card from the airport to the city..
the tram ah.. i dun know how to travel with it..
star ferry.. hmm.. i dun travel tht far also mah.. seldom use tht..
but i thot mtr and kcr is very convenient?
btw.. who got go the peak? how is it? all walking one? i not refering to the victoria peak ah..
Singaporeans go Shenzhen dun need visa.Originally posted by winnie^_^:oh ya.. i need china visa to go shenzhen? becos i not going with tour.. how to apply for it? thanks....
aiya.. i dun think u get wat i mean..Originally posted by Icemoon:Your comments are all very weird.
1. You will use the card from the airport to the city unless you are taking taxi.
2. The tram is like a bus. Just board it (from the back door according to the driver's perspective. note that the driver's control are on both sides of the tram like our MRT). You alight from the front door, again from the driver's perspective.
3. Star ferry connects the Kowloon peninsula (jiu3 long2 ban4 dao3) with Hong Kong Island. It is the cheapest way to get across unless you want to swim across. Hopefully no sharks in Victoria Harbour.
4. MTR and KCR are convenient of course. You can take the MTR that connects the Kowloon peninsula with Hong Kong Island, but you'd miss out on the beautiful scenary and you pay more.
5. The Peak is Victoria Peak. While there are many peaks in the region, The Peak is only reserved for Victoria Peak. So which peak are you talking about?
Yah, I was careful to write 'major bus companies' 'cos I know the Lantau one has single deck. Actually the lantau bus is more like a coach than bus.Originally posted by autumncs:Actually HK has some single decks (most of them runs on Lantau Island).
HK has a very high population density (one of the highest in the world) and therefore double decker buses are more effective when transporting large amount of people. (HK's MTR is also longer, with 8 cars compared to SMRT's 6 cars... HK MTR also has a shorter frequency than SMRT...)
The super long bendy-bus is not encouraged in HK due to the narrow and steep streets. Also, land is expensive in HK and any available land for roads is often crowded with vehicles. Hence double decks, with a higher passenger volume per road area, are preferred over bendy-buses which occupy excessive space.
ok thanks.Originally posted by Icemoon:Singaporeans go Shenzhen dun need visa.
ok .. my apologies .. 'cos your trip sounds more like those free and easy kind.Originally posted by winnie^_^:aiya.. i dun think u get wat i mean..
1. ya.. i am taking taxi or those tour bus.. ok?
2. i dun know the way there.. so u canot expect me to stop anyhow at the bus stop rite?
3. well.. i dun know how to swim..
4. ok.. noted..
5. the peak i am refering is the one for hiking one.. dun know how to explain..
it's ok.Originally posted by Icemoon:ok .. my apologies .. 'cos your trip sounds more like those free and easy kind.
2. The tram on Hong Kong Island only travels along the coastline. The only exception is the line that goes into Happy Valley (the home of Zhen Qing). So armed with a tourist map that shows all the major attractions, you will know where to stop. Anyway the bus stops are quite near each other.
5. You mean the ones on Lantau? Or the ones on Hong Kong Island? Usually these are the two places people go.
Taking the tram is different from taking the bus... You board the tram at the back, and you alight at the front. You only pay (by cash or octopus card) when you alight.Originally posted by winnie^_^:ok thanks. but i wun use the card from the airport to the city..
the tram ah.. i dun know how to travel with it..
star ferry.. hmm.. i dun travel tht far also mah.. seldom use tht..
but i thot mtr and kcr is very convenient?
btw.. who got go the peak? how is it? all walking one? i not refering to the victoria peak ah..
Yah! And I love taking bus 6 to Stanley! The best view is at the upper deck front right corner!Originally posted by Icemoon:Also .. HK bus drivers are pretty skillful. I love taking Bus 15 up the Peak from Central .. woo![]()
oh.. becos i thot ferry is like go far far place thn take one mah.. haha..Originally posted by autumncs:Taking the tram is different from taking the bus... You board the tram at the back, and you alight at the front. You only pay (by cash or octopus card) when you alight.
Star Ferry is not far what..... You can easily go between Tsim Sha Tsui and Central by Star Ferry. At HK$1.70, it's the cheapest way to cross the Victoria Harbour. The scenery from the ferry is also very nice. Most travel guides would recommend the Star Ferry as one of the top 10 attractions...
MTR is fast, but most of the time it's crowded. Most of the tracks are underground, so you won't get to see much scenery along the way. Some stations are also quite confusing, as there are multiple platforms on different levels, and there are multiple exits and multiple "sub-exits"... Nevertheless, the MTR is still the best way to get around Kowloon and Lantau Island.
As for the Peak, the most common method to get there is to take the famous Peak Tram... (Sit on the right side of the Peak Tram to get the best scenery.) Once at the peak, you can choose to stay in the Peak Tower and visit the Madame Tussaud wax museum, viewing terrance, shops, restaurants, etc. Or you can walk around the area. (Most tourists will walk to the Lions Pavillon, around 100m away from the Peak Tower. The view at Lions Pavillon is also very nice.) If you're fit enough, you can even walk one big around along Lugard Rd, a circular trail that surrounds Victoria Peak. You can also walk to the top of Victoria Peak along Mount Austin Road. Reserve 2 hours for the Lugard Road circuit or the Victoria Peak summit. (Avoid the trip if the weather is rainy or foggy. And never walk alone, for your personal safety.) There are many signposts outside the Peak Tower to guide your way around...![]()
So which hotel are you staying?Originally posted by winnie^_^:it's ok.
actually i not by tour nor free n easy.. but intend to find those tour bus where they will pick u from airport -hotel - airport. now u should know y i ask so many qns.. becos i dunknow the way there.. so must ask a lot.. hehe..
i dun know also.. saw from the website got the peak.. so ask loh.. so is it nice to walk ard regardless at lantau or hk island?
I think I taken that before!Originally posted by autumncs:Yah! And I love taking bus 6 to Stanley! The best view is at the upper deck front right corner!
ok thanks.. i am confusing now.. becos there r so many places to go!!!Originally posted by Icemoon:So which hotel are you staying?
If you read the peak from the website, most probably it is referring to Victoria Peak.
It is definitely nice to walk around at this time because:
1. The scenary is beautiful. Got mountain got water. At Lantau island, you can choose some hiking routes that have a nice sea view.
2. It is not their rainy season now. Their rainy season is during the middle of the year.
3. Their weather is much cooler than Singapore.
4. There are proper hiking routes. They even have signposts guiding you around.
One personal advice though. Since you are not spending many days there, try to prioritise. Hiking can easily take up one whole day so yeah ..![]()
Yah, there are ferries to far far places. Like the TurboJet to Macau.Originally posted by winnie^_^:oh.. becos i thot ferry is like go far far place thn take one mah.. haha..
so to Tsim Sha Tsui and Central by Star Ferry.. to Kowloon and Lantau Island by mtr loh..
where can i buy the ferry tickets?
Madame Tussaud wax museum is wat?
btw.. how to go Tsing Ma Bridge?
thanks thanks..
that's why you should priortise.Originally posted by winnie^_^:ok thanks.. i am confusing now.. becos there r so many places to go!!!
oic.. thanks..Originally posted by Icemoon:Yah, there are ferries to far far places. Like the TurboJet to Macau.
Correct. Star Ferry connects Central and TST. By the way, you can take the ferry to Lantau also. It will bring you to Mui Wo (mei2 wo1).
Star ferry dun have tickets. You just tap your octopus card at the entrance.
Madam Tussaud wax museum is like any wax museum .. except they show you famous personalities of the world, especially Hong Kong artistes.
dun say liao .. i wanted to hike but the weather was bad!Originally posted by winnie^_^:oic.. thanks..
btw.. r u all hkers or u all travel there frequently?
i mean r u all hongkong pple? not hikers. haha.Originally posted by Icemoon:dun say liao .. i wanted to hike but the weather was bad!
If you are adventurous .. can spend the night at Lantau Peak. Lantau Peak is the highest peak on the island. Proper name is Phoenix Mountain (fong4 huang2 shan1). It is easily accessible from the big big Buddha.
autumncs and fling are, not me.Originally posted by winnie^_^:i mean r u all hongkong pple? not hikers. haha.
any nice xiao chi to intro? other than smelly beancurd and curry fishballs?
oic.. but u know quite a lot..Originally posted by Icemoon:autumncs and fling are, not me.
I like things like the squid and the big satay look-alike thing.