That's right. Take the shenzhen mtr to 'Lao Jie' can liao.Originally posted by Icemoon:wait a minute .. isn't Dongmen accessible by their MRT? Don't anyhow give advice leh!
the braised pigs intestines on satay stick.. u can find them at the stalls selling fishballs n smelly tofuOriginally posted by winnie^_^:i mean r u all hongkong pple? not hikers. haha.
any nice xiao chi to intro? other than smelly beancurd and curry fishballs?
Not issue. You just wait for the next train at Sheung Shui.Originally posted by sbst275:But this one I'm not too sure
If you're at Hung Hom or Tsim Sha Tsui East, make sure you check that the KCRC train is to Lok Wu... If not wrong some trips ends up Sheung Shui
Mongkok station serves 2 lines - the Kwun Tong line and the Tseun Wan line. The Kwun Tong line terminates at Yau Ma Tei. The Tseun Wan line go all the way to Tsim Sha Tsui, Admiralty and Central. Prince Edward station and Mongkok stations are the interchange stations for the 2 lines.... (Something like City Hall and Raffles Place interchanges)Originally posted by Icemoon:I have a question regarding their MTR.
How come at one of the stations (issit Mongkok?) .. one of the platforms is non functional? Either that or the signboard will say the train ends at Yau Ma Tei.
Saw it liao .. thanks!Originally posted by autumncs:Mongkok station serves 2 lines - the Kwun Tong line and the Tseun Wan line. The Kwun Tong line terminates at Yau Ma Tei. The Tseun Wan line go all the way to Tsim Sha Tsui, Admiralty and Central. Prince Edward station and Mongkok stations are the interchange stations for the 2 lines.... (Something like City Hall and Raffles Place interchanges)
Just go to a stall selling xiao chi... (There're plenty of them in Causeway Bay and Mongkok) Then point your fingers at anything that look interesting to you... If you've the appetite and money, you can try everything.... Haha...Originally posted by winnie^_^:i mean r u all hongkong pple? not hikers. haha.
any nice xiao chi to intro? other than smelly beancurd and curry fishballs?
Yah... The English word lychee comes from the Cantonese word lai chi.Originally posted by Icemoon:Saw it liao .. thanks!
Here is a question related to the MTR.
One of the station names is Li Zhi Jiao (Lai Chi Kok). So does the english name Lychee come from the cantonese pronunciation?
How to say Lychee in other dialects?
which is why cantonese is closer to ancient chinese than mandarin. Many of the southern dialects have preserved the tones of ancient chinese.Originally posted by autumncs:By the way, learning Cantonese is more difficult than Mandarin, because Mandarin has 4 tones but Cantonese has 9!!!
hmm .. but I thought some of them have native chinese words?Originally posted by autumncs:On the other hand, many Cantonese words originates from English.
Ba Si - bus
Dig Si - taxi
Bou Ding - pudding
Ce Lei Zi - cherry
Fei Lum - film
Ka Lei - curry
Si Dor - store
Si Dor Be Lei - strawberry
Song Na - sauna
Tib Si - tips
etc etc etc
I disagree leh.Originally posted by Stooky:last time i went hk i ish saw lots of hk chio boos!! so chio worrr.... many fair fair ones...long hair pretty pretty....wooo ...
i rike hk babes!! ngor hei foon heung gong mooi!!!
hoh yeh!!
The "native chinese words" you mentioned are used in Mainland China... In HK, we still prefer the "Englishized" Cantonese... (After all, HK was ruled by UK for so long... Even after the handover to China, we still keep the British heritage... haha)Originally posted by Icemoon:hmm .. but I thought some of them have native chinese words?
bus - ba shi or gong che.
taxi - ji cheng che
strawbetty - cao mei
store - dian
tips - xiao fei
taxi ar? dunno leh.. but from airport to tai po i can bargain to 250 lor...so mongkok cheaper lor.. maybe 180 or 200?Originally posted by winnie^_^:can i check how much is it from airport to mongkok area by taxi? jus give me a range of $10 different.
and how much is it from mongkok area to lo wu (becos i wan go shenzhen)? mtr or ferry is better or cheaper to go there?
For me I can recongiseOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):taxi ar? dunno leh.. but from airport to tai po i can bargain to 250 lor...so mongkok cheaper lor.. maybe 180 or 200?
and from mongkok to lo wu just take KCR train lor.. no ferry there lah..but when u are at mongkok.. please remember that is TWO train station hor.. one is MTR and the other is KCR ok.. only KCR go lo wu one.. why so many tourist stay in mongkok one hahaha..![]()
pls lah for normal ppl they can read KCR and MTR and see the different too lah.. only for this blur sotong we have to explain clearly what...Originally posted by sbst275:For me I can recongise
Cos KCRC they call it huo che...
MTR they call it di tie...
Ferry is mainly HK Island to Kwoloon lah
Oh waitOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):pls lah for normal ppl they can read KCR and MTR and see the different too lah.. only for this blur sotong we have to explain clearly what...![]()
not yet lorOriginally posted by sbst275:Oh wait
MTR is taking over KCRC for 50 years under the rail merger plan to be passed
I ALMOST couldn't tell the diff between the logo for shenzhen metro and hk mtr.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):pls lah for normal ppl they can read KCR and MTR and see the different too lah.. only for this blur sotong we have to explain clearly what...![]()
ard hk $200 is sg $40 loh..Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):taxi ar? dunno leh.. but from airport to tai po i can bargain to 250 lor...so mongkok cheaper lor.. maybe 180 or 200?
and from mongkok to lo wu just take KCR train lor.. no ferry there lah..but when u are at mongkok.. please remember that is TWO train station hor.. one is MTR and the other is KCR ok.. only KCR go lo wu one.. why so many tourist stay in mongkok one hahaha..![]()