Why not you go to the following website and find all the necessary info?Originally posted by winnie^_^:ard hk $200 is sg $40 loh..
oh.. go shenzhen take kcr ah..
mongkok is easily accessible..
thn how abt go shenzhen abt how much?
who is the blur sotong ah?
ok lohOriginally posted by autumncs:Why not you go to the following website and find all the necessary info?
KCRC (serving Kowloon, New Territories and Lo Wu)
http://www.kcrc.com/html/eng/services/services/east_rail/index.asp
MTR (serving HK Island, Kowloon, Lantau Island, and HK airport)
http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/train/intro.html
Star Ferry (crossing the Victoria Harbour, between HK Island and Kowloon)
http://www.starferry.com.hk/new/en/schedule/index.asp
Anyway when you arrive at the HK airport, don't forget to take a copy of the HK map (free of charge, available at the arrival hall). The map should have detailed street plans of the popular areas (e.g. Central, Causeway Bay, Tsim Sha Tsui, Mongkok, etc) plus a route map of MTR + KCR. If you're kiasee, invest in a travel guide (Lonely Planet or Rough Guide or Fodor etc) or borrow one in a public library. Make sure the guide book you buy is the newest edition (best published in 2006), because the HK transport system keeps changing and every year they add new stuffs (new stations, new rail lines, new bridges, new tunnels, etc etc)...
Last but not least, the blur sotong normally end up in the frying pan in a store selling snacks. You can find the fried sotong in snacks-shops all around HK (plus smelly bean-curd, pig intestine, curry fishball, siew mai, butter corn, yong tau foo, cheong fun, etc etc etc)![]()
the daily pass for HK$50 can travel unlimited or wat? wat is so special abt the tourist daily pass?Originally posted by Schwing:went to hk for honeymoon in oct...so, here goes my 2 cents worth...
wanton noodles are served soup, dun bother with the dry ones...they dun add chilli like in sg, they have chilli oil instead...
shop, shop, shop...most of the shops sell nice and cheap clothes, unless you go to boutiques...places for good bargain like temple st or ladies st (miao jie, nu ren jie/ miu gai, leui yan gai) can find "original imitation stuffs"...most of the peddlers come from mian land china...so they can speak mandarin if you are not really good with cantonese...remember to bargain if you buy in bulk...
to travel on the MTR, you can buy daily pass for HK$50 over the counter if you produce your passport...ask for the tourist daily pass...
apart from the Peak, you can try Repulse Bay, causeway bay, xin guang da dao etc...
also, ask around for the Esprit factory outlet, you'll find lots of bargain since they sell off season clothings...you can find pieces from as low as hk$99 for a polo tee...we rang up bills of almost hk$1500 there...
ermm...that's all for now...
the daily pass is for unlimited travel on the MTR for a period of 24 hrs...Originally posted by winnie^_^:the daily pass for HK$50 can travel unlimited or wat? wat is so special abt the tourist daily pass?
u know where is the levi's factory outlet? thn the esprit factory outlet at where?
oic.. thanks.Originally posted by Schwing:the daily pass is for unlimited travel on the MTR for a period of 24 hrs...
eh...i need the map to show you where the esprit outlet is...maybe you can ask ard...also, the guide mentioned a Mango factory outlet, but we did not go there...
soon...Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):when u coming actually?? this weekend 12 degree ar.. got cold wind blowing hahaha![]()
when is soon?? next week will be more hot lor.. this weekend got wind what... haha.. really dun need this tour guide ar?? pm mi okOriginally posted by winnie^_^:soon...
12 degrees? oh my god! *faint liao*
got raining? is it heavy anot?Originally posted by motoway:I'm just back from Hk. Yea damn cold. Esp when it's raining. Bring on more sweater. And i dunoe how to shop la. Dun tink veri fun leh.
The Knn tour guide bring us to retarded places tt is not even interesting -_-"
Man. I'm gging back another time wif all my research done.
aiyo next time i part time as tour guide for u lor.. but how much i charge depend ur sex, age, and looks lor...Originally posted by motoway:I'm just back from Hk. Yea damn cold. Esp when it's raining. Bring on more sweater. And i dunoe how to shop la. Dun tink veri fun leh.
The Knn tour guide bring us to retarded places tt is not even interesting -_-"
Man. I'm gging back another time wif all my research done.
u mean the mango fruit, or MNG, the female fashion brand?Originally posted by Schwing:the daily pass is for unlimited travel on the MTR for a period of 24 hrs...
eh...i need the map to show you where the esprit outlet is...maybe you can ask ard...also, the guide mentioned a Mango factory outlet, but we did not go there...
is it? but many pple here said it is very cold.. oh my god.. i scared of coldness..Originally posted by Snowsaint:Hongkong now not that cold leh... i just came back from there... like normal singapore wid air-con nia
Must Go Mongkok Eat go tsimshatsui shopping...
Dont Forget Go Zhonghuan visit the snowtown.. and write ur wishes there...
Oceanpark...
The things there super cheap...
I bought a couple of watches for only $3 SING DOLLAR OMG!!!
AND 1 more thing... at Mongkok everywhere also can see got a group call maxim...
Everywhere also got the name... be it restaurnt, bakery eateries...
OMG!!!
yar i went there last year in december with my family.. stayed there for almost 3 mths!Originally posted by winnie^_^:u went hk before? when?
u mean which part of hk starts after 12 at hk? are u refering to the bars? i not interested in tht leh...
u go there this period all selling winter clothes liao lolOriginally posted by winnie^_^:is it? but many pple here said it is very cold.. oh my god.. i scared of coldness..
where is Zhonghuan?
maxim is nice anot? got wat nice things?
btw.. i ask u.. the clothes there (ladies street, temple street, shooping centres, etc) got sell summer clothes anot? or mostly selling winter clothes?
When are you coming to HK? I just arrived at HK today and the temperature is around 14C. It's expected to drop until 12C this weekend.Originally posted by winnie^_^:is it? but many pple here said it is very cold.. oh my god.. i scared of coldness..
where is Zhonghuan?
maxim is nice anot? got wat nice things?
btw.. i ask u.. the clothes there (ladies street, temple street, shooping centres, etc) got sell summer clothes anot? or mostly selling winter clothes?
oic.. thanks thanks.Originally posted by autumncs:When are you coming to HK? I just arrived at HK today and the temperature is around 14C. It's expected to drop until 12C this weekend.
Zhonghuan = Central
Maxim is a company operating fast-food chains, restaurants, bakeries, etc. The Maxim fast-food chain sells rice/noodles set meals and many other HK delicacies... You order and pay first at the cashier. Then you get a ticket and give it to the counter. Minutes later, the counter will announce your order (in Cantonese) and you just collect your food. Other similar fast-food chains are Cafe de Coral and Fairwood.
Maxim restaurants are good places to have Dim Sum. The price may be higher than other restaurants, but the quality of the Dim Sum is very good. (There are many branches all around HK)
I may go to Mongkok tomorrow or on Monday. I will check whether summer clothes are still on sale... (I also want to buy some clothes... haha)
so shiok ah.. 3 mths!Originally posted by playboy_1985:yar i went there last year in december with my family.. stayed there for almost 3 mths!and their x'mas decor at the shopping centers are very beautiful!
free lodging at my aunt's place.. here's a pic of my aunt's house btw
btw i dun meant those pubs or ktv.. the crowd only comes alive after 12 at mongkok.