The school want both good results and "good attitude"Originally posted by stellazio:its dumb.. dont the sch knows that a student studies best when the student is happy?
try attending a class, after being told off infront of ur classmates for nt tucking in ur shirt etc.. you'll probaly have revenge thoughts on ur mind more then anything else.
i think its the way they kept harping on image until no tomorrow is the problem.Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:If students don't have the discipline to conform to such simple rules, what are they doing in a school in the first place?
To me, these rules are not so much for the 'school image', and rather, for instilling discipline in the students.
Nonetheless, school image is important the way your image is important, too.
see oso no use one la.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Thanks alot. I hope one of my school staffs see this.
when you apply for an important scholarship or a job, do you want to be recognised as someone who came from the school with ruffians who dye their hair and dress like monkeys??Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:So how much does it contribute to disipline students with rules like.
"No wearing of slippers, when you are in ur school uniform."
IMO when we talk about disipline, its about morals and values.
But i dont see how is that rule going to do with it.
There are moral and rightful rules to follow in school. Rules that will benefit us in the long term run. But for some. Its purely for image.
Originally posted by Ito_^:They are just people that dont care as long as they get their pay.
see oso no use one la.
[b]many teachers' heads are thick like coconut husks, with coconut water inside, soured and rotting inside out.
i haven seen any good teachers, other than a couple, in all my life. but dats my experience la, doesn't mean none.
besides, imo, it doesn't matter how many rules they can think of, if truly wanna rebel, there is always a way if there is a will.
e.g. no uniform in certain areas, bring extra change of shirts lor. no studs, use magnetic ones, easily removed. etc etc.[/b]
Hmm... it's about morals and values when we talk about morals and values.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:So how much does it contribute to disipline students with rules like.
"No wearing of slippers, when you are in ur school uniform."
IMO when we talk about disipline, its about morals and values.
But i dont see how is that rule going to do with it.
There are moral and rightful rules to follow in school. Rules that will benefit us in the long term run. But for some. Its purely for image.
Then it shows that people are judgmental and superficial once more.Originally posted by aiglosicicle:when you apply for an important scholarship or a job, do you want to be recognised as someone who came from the school with ruffians who dye their hair and dress like monkeys??
i used to think the same way as you do now. but as i grew up i realised that whatever my schoolmates (both past and present) and i do will directly or indirectly affect my future.
i think these rules are perfectly fine... just that many students fail to see the full picture.
Ya you go voice your opinion. You kana flame by teachers only.Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:Hmm... it's about morals and values when we talk about morals and values.
When we talk about discipline, it's about following rules, but that's IMO too. Certain rules are made for benefits, and certain are made purely to instill discipline. It's about time the young'ins learnt.
Though of course, if the rules are unreasonable, students are in fact encouraged to voice their opinions. But the way I see it, they are often not level-headed enough to look at things from more perspectives than their own.
Because the society they created, have become NPNT, no paper (paper qualifications), no talk.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:MOE system is stupid. They keep increasing pays to teachers. In order to attract more graduates to be teachers.
But in the end, they attract many people that have no passion for teaching.
Have to go through proper channels ma. You voice out to teachers, some of them bo chap, just want to do their job. Try voicing out through student council, or get parents to write letter!Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Ya you go voice your opinion. You kana flame by teachers only.
Many teachers are filled with ego and pride one. They humans also.
And they have the authority in their hand. They can just abuse it to make you STFU. So voicing wont help. I tried before liao. Kana scolded only.
As for looking at things from more perspectives. I agree with you. But i dont think most of the teachers can do it as well. They just follow to avoid trouble too.
i question the real purpose of students who wish to be different. students wish to dress differently so they portray a cool or unique image. the act of building this image that sticks out from the norm rises from one's superficiality.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Then it shows that people are judgmental and superficial once more.
I know it unfair to students that behave perfectly well and put up good image for the school. But is it fair to pupils with different thinkings? And diff views from the school?
I dont think that people that look sloppy are people that are rotting apples of the society.
Its just that the majority cant accept them for who they are.
And imo some rules being made by schools are indirectly trying to imply to the students that "Everything you do must be socially acceptable, if higher level says no, then its a no. Dont try to be a smart and develope your own thinkings. Just follow and you will be fine."
So then wassup with the rubbish idea made by goverment for singaporeans to be creative?
Originally posted by FireIce:wait till u go army!
Bah. So all in all it boils down to this.Originally posted by aiglosicicle:its all about the image. this is how the world works.
good attitude is paying attention to ur studies. since when has it become the sch's duty to discipline a child, isn't that a duty of a parent?Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:The school want both good results and "good attitude"
"GOOD ATTITUDE" You know what i am saying.
Not talking about being disciplined.Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:I just wish to add that being different does not equal creativity.
And being disciplined does not kill creativity.
Its both their duties.Originally posted by stellazio:good attitude is paying attention to ur studies. since when has it become the sch's duty to discipline a child, isn't that a duty of a parent?
dun u think its dumb when they control everything till u reach sec 4. and if u go to a poly or ite, u can start tucking out shirt and having studs and stuff?abit stupid don't u think.. heck even female JC students have coloured hair..Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Its both their duties.
In fact i think its a goverment policy on school education. Right ?
Okay i think we are going abit far on this topic already haha.Originally posted by stellazio:dun u think its dumb when they control everything till u reach sec 4. and if u go to a poly or ite, u can start tucking out shirt and having studs and stuff?abit stupid don't u think.. heck even female JC students have coloured hair..
Well Xinmin Secondary School performs academically but its students are notorious for bad behaviour. Even its top students sport long hair, disrupt lessons, etc.Originally posted by Y_Shun:XMSS, academic not bad...reputation not bad still ish a good school in ppl's eye, but i still see students tucking out their shirts, shouting n playing on a double decker bus....