Originally posted by ditzy:I don't even count jason's as a supermarket.It's like the LV of supermarkets. Elite of the elites.
blk 122 amk if i'm not wrongOriginally posted by noahnoah:Actually the first branch of sheng siong opened at where ar?
any one knows?
I think not bad , they are expanding pretty fast sia
I rem their POS system is pretty old
Now all using IBM POS liao sia
Its Ten Mile Junction branch quite okay. Maybe it is because they occupied most of the building.Originally posted by FireIce:the one at AMK hor, if u are fat u better dun bother shopping there, either u tak the whole aisle or u knock everything off..........
the one opp marsiling mrt oso need good figure to go
not as tight as AMK one but every few metres they put a promoter there......clogging traffic and keep asking if u wanna try this facial wash or washing powder
Originally posted by TYING:their things are really cheap, but the sight of the flies sticking on to sticky strip hanging down over the fruits and the smell at the fish corner made me feel disgusted.
Why the government gets involved?Originally posted by mhcampboy:Government will make it a point that none will make it above NTUC.![]()
Cold storage is better quality; but the weekly costs will be higher than a shopping stop at Fairprice.Originally posted by elindra:Sheng Siong and Shop N Save are so called 'dirtier' because they try to incorporate the wetmarket feel in a supermarket. It's like a hybrid. You get the comfort of air-con and yet you can pick and choose live seafood like in a wet market.
I have no choice but to shop at NTUC coz that is the only supermarket near my place.
I would really want a Cold Storage near my place instead.
You sure?Originally posted by dork3d:Why the government gets involved?
NTUC Fairprice is not owned by the government... It's a cooperative managed by NTUC...
Even government has no say in how NTUC manages Fairprice Co-op...
Harrrhaarrrrharharharharhrrrrrr...!!!!Originally posted by dork3d:Why the government gets involved?
NTUC Fairprice is not owned by the government... It's a cooperative managed by NTUC...
Even government has no say in how NTUC manages Fairprice Co-op...
NTUC's main focus is to look after the welfare of the workers of all collars, while the main focus of the PAP is to look after the welfare of the people of Singapore...Originally posted by mhcampboy:
"You come Sheng Siong make problems, I ham tam you till heart-pain!"Originally posted by DeadPoet:Just curious what is the meaning of SSÂ’s hand sign?
sure sure.... ok laa... then please tell the secretary general and all its top officers to quit pap and their ministerial appts also...Originally posted by dork3d:NTUC's main focus is to look after the welfare of the workers of all collars, while the main focus of the PAP is to look after the welfare of the people of Singapore...
It's linked as NTUC has voices represented in the government to speak for the workers, while the government has the resources to support NTUC's causes for the workers...
When Fairprice was formed and incorporated in 1980, it's main objective is to regulate the prices of groceries and food in Singapore... As a Co-op, it has to disseminate its after-tax profit back to all union members as forms of rebates, labour programmes, social contributions and events...
Originally posted by ShutterBug:I hardly step into NTUC for my groceries. Why?
>> Their so called "fresh" seafood, looks stale to me... only on rare occasions do I see fish with gleaming scales and eyes..crabs are pathetic little things half dazed in the display basin.. and variety is so limited.
>> their things are expensive.. need say no more..
I support Sheng Siong all the way... they even have live turtles! Their prawns are still jumping on display, their fishes are always slimey with freshness, their crabs have a range of sizes to choose from and they are so alive they can jump! And they're reasonably priced and some things are even cheap!
I won't be surprise if NTUC suddenly decides to have a share in Sheng Siong!
If that happens, I hope Sheng Siong decline their offer....!!![]()
Agree. NTUC is definitely still under the govt, who is so naive to believe it is not!!! Even the NTUC trade union is also under govt.Originally posted by mistyblue:I support free enterprise.
NTUC was suppose to pass the savings to the people. Seems that anything with govt, the savings is passed as profit and cost passed to consumers.
Environment....Originally posted by BillyBong:Fairprice = cheap.
Sheng Shiong = Cheaper.
Guess who will rake in the business in SG?
Only difference is location. Fairprice has outlets all over the place. So far Sheng Shiong is targeting heartlanders. AMK alone has multiple outlets.
The only thing i dislike is the squeezy interior and exterior. Typical SG style of packing stuff. Gives a very unpleasant feeling to the consumer.
Originally posted by mhcampboy:If that's the perception of your thinking of a trade union, maybe you haven't been through what's the turmoil of been an unionist...
sure sure.... ok laa... then please tell the secretary general and all its top officers to quit pap and their ministerial appts also...
[b]government has the resources to support NTUC's causes for the workers...
is becos... the government themselves are in it...[/b]
exactly... who is in power now?Originally posted by dork3d:If that's the perception of your thinking of a trade union, maybe you haven't been through what's the turmoil of been an unionist...
The SGs and its officers are not by choice elected into the Central Committee through PAP...
If one day that the opposition can do better than PAP, NTUC would support the opposition...