Or perhaps the bus driver beat himself upOriginally posted by laurence82:i am sure the driver bribed them![]()
si gui meiOriginally posted by GHoST_18:3 strokes only...?!?!?!
u deserves more...![]()
another she guiOriginally posted by dcx:Your school bery lenient.....shld give 30strokes.....![]()
Not gentle strokes hor....![]()
Is he free from all blame? With the number of people who lose things like ez-link cards and people who pick them up (scavangers so to speak), should the immediate reaction of the bus driver be that the student (girl) 'stole' the card?Originally posted by club18:why shd the bus driver be counselled?
in all aspects, i feel he did nothing wrong..
its a part of his job. helping citizens track down lost cards.
he couldnt possibly let them off thinking that perhaps it was a stolen card..
it certainly wasnt overzealous. especially when u thought u caught a thief.
to be beaten up for grabbing the arm of the girl is over-reacting on the boy's part.
signz, there are some witnesses too, not just the two parties involved, i don't think it could be fabricated since the papers has to account for it otherwise ppl will sueOriginally posted by mystiv:my view..
for a start, i agree with many here that the action of the guy is wrong (not exactly right to use the word boy for a 17years old, eh?). hitting someone aint the way to go..
however..
are we taking whatever is printed at face value? like what empathy said earlier on, we cant really trust the press totally..they, like us, weren't there. all they have were at most eye-witness accounts, and both sides of the stories from the bus captain and the student..it is highly possible that the media could have exagerated, fabricated, or misinterpreted the incident in certain ways..(note, im not trying to shield the student..)
another thing that i'll like to say is that many of the people who have posted are not actually concerned with what actually happened..rather, they'll like to see the student being punished, regardless of what actually happened, simply because he is from an elite school. honestly, so what if he came from a good school? just because a certain guy's daughter happened to be from an elite school doesnt mean that everyone else is screwed up too..is there any point in actually hating the elites to such an extent? dont you think that's generalisation carried too far?
sigh
Originally posted by Skibi:I agree that you are very confused at this point in time. However getting too emotional will be bad for your health. Perhaps you can try to let go your feelings of hate and revenge to that person who canned you unjustly. Don't give in to self-pity, learn to be strong and do the right thing.
not tv drama lehOriginally posted by Twice A Day:Oh so its u... I been searching for u all these year...Why u only kanaa 3 strokes while i kanna 4...
Whos the 1 that betrayed us??
( Sorry ah..Juz cant help it when i saw the word...3 strokes...)
u want to put them through a lie detectorOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:We must check the credibility of the eye witnesses.
not all bus drivers r like that, i seen plenty of them with courtesy who will greet passengers when they boarded the bus, but the passengers hardly acknowledgedOriginally posted by aloof_guy:wouldnt be surprised that such a thing happened.. some bus drivers have no manners when talking to passengers.. last time i was riding a bus, uncle took my ez link and said it was a fake cause it was a dirty.. refused to give it back till i quarreled with him..
I want to put them through a lie detector-electrical chair. If they tell the wrong things, there goes it their life.Originally posted by Kenashi:u want to put them through a lie detector![]()
yar..Originally posted by laurence82:i am sure the driver bribed them![]()
the bus driver has authority to detent the ez link card.Originally posted by BillyBong:Is he free from all blame? With the number of people who lose things like ez-link cards and people who pick them up (scavangers so to speak), should the immediate reaction of the bus driver be that the student (girl) 'stole' the card?
Was he dilligently trying to score points by 'catching red-handed' a perceived thief without adequate proof based on mere suspicion? Even police officers require a warrent before searching someone's apartment, yet this driver took it upon himself to play the role of cop, attempting to block the students from 'running away'.
he asked the gal to hand over the card but the bf snatched it back, i think this warrant for suspicion, furthermore he already radio the HQ for advice yet the couple tried to flee, which make them more guilty.Originally posted by BillyBong:Is he free from all blame? With the number of people who lose things like ez-link cards and people who pick them up (scavangers so to speak), should the immediate reaction of the bus driver be that the student (girl) 'stole' the card?
Was he dilligently trying to score points by 'catching red-handed' a perceived thief without adequate proof based on mere suspicion? Even police officers require a warrent before searching someone's apartment, yet this driver took it upon himself to play the role of cop, attempting to block the students from 'running away'.
While the student's overly aggressive response should not be overlooked and merits punitive punishment, was the bus driver oversealous in his approach? I have met my fair share of bus drivers and many of them are also uncouth, rude and bad-tempered. I hardly believe this particular driver forms the minority of 'nice drivers'.
Instead of attempting to bar the students, he should have radioed SBS transit for advice, have them ferry the closest inspector to his location and stop the bus at the next bus-stop. To prevent them from leaving the bus, he should have left his seat and engage the manual door activation to allow the passenger to alight and then close it back to prevent the students from attempting their 'getaway'. From the story, it seems he opened the doors using the standard remote activation system from the driver's seat, which was a mistake since he guessed correctly that the students would try to make a run for it.
Then again, with all the witnesses giving the driver the sympathy vote, there's isn't much hope for the student already.
then might as well inject the accused with a lethal injection straight away lah, no need to go to trial since this is how u treat a witnessOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I want to put them through a lie detector-electrical chair. If they tell the wrong things, there goes it their life.
yar.Originally posted by pie:Or perhaps the bus driver beat himself up![]()
he get good grade in all subjects..Originally posted by allanyong:I don't understand a guy studying JC still so uncivilised, like uneducated like that. It is very stupid to punch the driver as he maybe charge for assaulting a driver for just a small problem.
how about u go through the lie detector electrical chair first.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I want to put them through a lie detector-electrical chair. If they tell the wrong things, there goes it their life.
Said before liao.... bus driver have right to confiscate the card if the card is found to have been reported stolen - the card reader emits a different sound.Originally posted by BillyBong:Is he free from all blame? With the number of people who lose things like ez-link cards and people who pick them up (scavangers so to speak), should the immediate reaction of the bus driver be that the student (girl) 'stole' the card?
Once found to be in possession of stolen property it is the onus of this person to prove his innocence. In his case, the two idiots tried to run....Originally posted by BillyBong:Was he dilligently trying to score points by 'catching red-handed' a perceived thief without adequate proof based on mere suspicion? Even police officers require a warrent before searching someone's apartment, yet this driver took it upon himself to play the role of cop, attempting to block the students from 'running away'.
Bear in mind that drivers may not have the same education as students of such elite schools, therefore their manners are quite excusable, so let's drop the superiority complex.Originally posted by BillyBong:While the student's overly aggressive response should not be overlooked and merits punitive punishment, was the bus driver oversealous in his approach? I have met my fair share of bus drivers and many of them are also uncouth, rude and bad-tempered. I hardly believe this particular driver forms the minority of 'nice drivers'.
From the TNP report (on Sunday I think).... the driver radioed SBS, closed/locked the rear door. A passenger who needed to get down the bus was asked to do so at the front exit. The two idiot kids attempted to run off through the front door wherein, they were stopped by the driver.Originally posted by BillyBong:Instead of attempting to bar the students, he should have radioed SBS transit for advice, have them ferry the closest inspector to his location and stop the bus at the next bus-stop. To prevent them from leaving the bus, he should have left his seat and engage the manual door activation to allow the passenger to alight and then close it back to prevent the students from attempting their 'getaway'. From the story, it seems he opened the doors using the standard remote activation system from the driver's seat, which was a mistake since he guessed correctly that the students would try to make a run for it.
How's is that suddenly witnesses now become SYMPATHY voters....? They saw what they saw... unless the whole bus was occupied with relatives of the drivers.....Originally posted by BillyBong:Then again, with all the witnesses giving the driver the sympathy vote, there's isn't much hope for the student already.
Originally posted by BillyBong:Is he free from all blame? With the number of people who lose things like ez-link cards and people who pick them up (scavangers so to speak), should the immediate reaction of the bus driver be that the student (girl) 'stole' the card?
While the student's overly aggressive response should not be overlooked and merits punitive punishment, was the bus driver oversealous in his approach? I have met my fair share of bus drivers and many of them are also uncouth, rude and bad-tempered. I hardly believe this particular driver forms the minority of 'nice drivers'.
Instead of attempting to bar the students, he should have radioed SBS transit for advice, have them ferry the closest inspector to his location and stop the bus at the next bus-stop. To prevent them from leaving the bus, he should have left his seat and engage the manual door activation to allow the passenger to alight and then close it back to prevent the students from attempting their 'getaway'. From the story, it seems he opened the doors using the standard remote activation system from the driver's seat, which was a mistake since he guessed correctly that the students would try to make a run for it.
Then again, with all the witnesses giving the driver the sympathy vote, there's isn't much hope for the student already.
Originally posted by dbowie:Continued
The alarm was activated because the student's concession card had either been reported lost or stolen.So Mr Wong said he had to follow the standard procedure of retaining the card.
When he told her she had to surrender the card, she initially refused. She handed over only after he insisted and explained that the card had a problem and had to be retained.
Said Mr Wong in Mandarin: ''All this while, the male student kept arguing that the ez-link card belonged to the girl. I kept repeating my explanation, but he refused to listen.''
Just as Mr Wong was about to issue her a retention slip telling her to contact TransitLink, he said the male student snatched the ez-link card from his hand.
Bot students then went and sat down.
Mr Wong quickly pressed the emergency help button to alert the operations control centre that he was having trouble.The control centre's operator advised him to drive ahead slowly while waiting for the traffic inspector to catch up with the bus and assist him.
Six bus-stops later, a passenger wanted to alight
Said Mr Wong in Mandarin: ''I asked the passenger to alight from the front door as I was afraid the students would try to leave.''
True enough, he said the students tried to make a dash for it. He then stopped the bus and stood at the front exit blocking them. He said: ''I held out both my arms and held the poles on either side of the bus to prevent them from leaving.
''The female student tried to leave,but I refused to budge. Next thing I knew, the male student punched me on the left side of my face.''
He said he stumbled forward and fell on the floor, hitting the driver's seat.
He claimed that the male student allegedly continued to hit him. In the process, Mr Wong's shirt pocket was torn. ''I was too shocked to react. I couldn't believe a kid was beating me,'' Said Mr Wong.
It stopped only after a male passenger came forward to restrain the student, who struggled and shouted until the passenger let go.
''The passenger has to hold him back by both his arms, or he would have continued to beat me. Some of the female passengers started to scold him,''
Mr Wong recounted.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:How's is that suddenly witnesses now become SYMPATHY voters....? They saw what they saw... unless the whole bus was occupied with relatives of the drivers.....
This is the problem of privatised transport. Did you know that the value of the money in each EZ-Link card is backed by Citibank.Originally posted by spycampers:the bus driver has authority to detent the ez link card.
just as a security guards have the authority to stop tom/dick/harry to enter the apartment..
or librarian have the authority to ask u shut up if u talking too loud.
or a bouncer have the right to stop small kids to enter a disco.
or even 7/11 staff can dun sell cigratte to u if u no IC.
the bus driver is just doing his duty.
That my friend, is a different issue.Originally posted by LazerLordz:This is the problem of privatised transport. Did you know that the value of the money in each EZ-Link card is backed by Citibank.
What gives the them the right to be part of our transport infrastructure? Anyone ever stopped to think about this, beyond the ill-behaviour of the teen.