i would call for equality unless the person is related to me. i admit to selfishnessOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:So u are the type that seeks for absolute equality in this case....
Honestly would u say the same thing if the person concern is ur brother or even child? I.E agreeing the kid to be jailed or severe punishments carried out by sch and parents?
Not trying to pick on u....but to see if what u really truly feel what u said should be implemented....
there are no superficial damages done. by escaping, he did show that he's uncivilised as civilised pple don't run away from offences they comitted but it DOES NOT mean they should get too harsh of a treatment. this is seriously too harsh, by jailing him. do you think that the boy will be civilised EVEN IF he go to jail? there are people who ARE STILL NOT CIVILISED even after being in jail,some even in jail several times and are still not civilised. those are beyond treatment but this boy is right, just let him go on probation. if he's jail don't you think he'll end up as a sweeper or a toilet cleener? i know that teenagers can be disrespectful to others nowadays, even to elderly, but at least let them repent and let them see the light. if they end up in jail, they would be nervewrecked.Originally posted by allentyb:the reason why i said that he should be jailed for his doing, is because, he is from a very educated school and he should be more civilised, but look at his behaviour, first he try to run away, if you are innocent, would you try to run away, but what did he did, he punched a bus driver, and what happen, he has to be restrained, which means that he is out of control
if these sort of person was to be let go with just a mere warning, how will the rest of the students think?
we can't just close one eye, just because he is young, nowadays teenage has not been respectful to others, they must be taught that, if you make a mistake, you should own up to it, and apologise, instead of, father beg for forgiveness for your own fault, that is what pissed me off
if he owns up to his mistake, instead of claiming, it was an accident, and apologise for his doing, maybe he should be let go with an warning
u not scared that they sue u ah. later bring in government. but i admit that some of them really greedy for money.Originally posted by chillz88:At least someone have the guts to punch a bus driver.
In this situation, why can't the bus driver ask them to pay using coins instead? rather than making it into a big issue. And if they refused to pay, reprimand them.
I still remember a few years back, I paid around 80 cents to take a bus home. In the middle of the journey, the bus attendant board the bus and told me that 80 cents won't take me to my destination bus stop. So, i add another 50 cents. But he insisted I pay a full $1.20 instead! I argued that I already pay $1.30 in total! And he still want me to pay an extra $1.20! Then that would make me pay more than $2!! WTF! If only I had punched that bus attendant!!
From that day onwards, I have no respect or sympathy for any bus drivers in singapore.
ANTI SBS you can call me.![]()
civilised pple don't run away from crimes they commit?Originally posted by BusSpeeder:there are no superficial damages done. by escaping, he did show that he's uncivilised as civilised pple don't run away from offences they comitted but it DOES NOT mean they should get too harsh of a treatment. this is seriously too harsh, by jailing him. do you think that the boy will be civilised EVEN IF he go to jail? there are people who ARE STILL NOT CIVILISED even after being in jail,some even in jail several times and are still not civilised. those are beyond treatment but this boy is right, just let him go on probation. if he's jail don't you think he'll end up as a sweeper or a toilet cleener? i know that teenagers can be disrespectful to others nowadays, even to elderly, but at least let them repent and let them see the light. if they end up in jail, they would be nervewrecked.
like i said before, kill one to warn 100 people, this is what i emphases about, he become an example to those students out there,Originally posted by BusSpeeder:there are no superficial damages done. by escaping, he did show that he's uncivilised as civilised pple don't run away from offences they comitted but it DOES NOT mean they should get too harsh of a treatment. this is seriously too harsh, by jailing him. do you think that the boy will be civilised EVEN IF he go to jail? there are people who ARE STILL NOT CIVILISED even after being in jail,some even in jail several times and are still not civilised. those are beyond treatment but this boy is right, just let him go on probation. if he's jail don't you think he'll end up as a sweeper or a toilet cleener? i know that teenagers can be disrespectful to others nowadays, even to elderly, but at least let them repent and let them see the light. if they end up in jail, they would be nervewrecked.
Originally posted by allentyb:Stealing is a serious offence and jailing is possible.... U are thankful to the judge for sentencing a relatively light punishment. Shouldnt' u try to be more benign in ur view on how this boy should be punished? Honestly, I believed punishments for the teens should be more lenient (but not cover up even if he is an elite) because if we use overly severe punishments on teens, chances are when they grow up, they will be even more harsh to the teens of their time.
i am the type of person who seek equal treatment in everything
and let me tell you one thing
my brother, when he was 16 years old, he got caught for stealing in the school, and he got 2 years of probation, and he never run away from it at all, what happen, we almost can't come up with the bail money, and he has to spend about 1 week in queenstown remand, and thankfully the judge only sentence 2 years of probation
so what do you think?
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:he punched a bus driver, and he used violence, and you are telling me, this is not a serious offence, ah? you really think jail sentence is not possible for him, meh?
Stealing is a serious offence and jailing is possible.... U are thankful to the judge for sentencing a relatively light punishment. Shouldnt' u try to be more benign in ur view on how this boy should be punished? Honestly, I believed punishments for the teens should be more lenient (but not cover up even if he is an elite) because if we use overly severe punishments on teens, chances are when they grow up, they will be even more harsh to the teens of their time.
[b]Maybe( i dare not assume) because of the harsness and brutality of life u have experience in ur teens, that is why u come up wif such thoughts....[/b][/b]
they admit what offences they do.Originally posted by hisoka:civilised pple don't run away from crimes they commit?![]()
Yepp yepp.. Young punk + Old enough to know right from wrong + Conscious state of mind + violence = 0 sympathyOriginally posted by allentyb:he punched a bus driver, and he used violence, and you are telling me, this is not a serious offence, ah? you really think jail sentence is not possible for him, meh?
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:If stealing = 2 years of probation, i would expect more years of probation for assault.
Stealing is a serious offence and jailing is possible.... U are thankful to the judge for sentencing a relatively light punishment. Shouldnt' u try to be more benign in ur view on how this boy should be punished? Honestly, I believed punishments for the teens should be more lenient (but not cover up even if he is an elite) because if we use overly severe punishments on teens, chances are when they grow up, they will be even more harsh to the teens of their time.
[b]Maybe( i dare not assume) because of the harsness and brutality of life u have experience in ur teens, that is why u come up wif such thoughts....[/b][/b]
so why is he less important than the others that you can sacrifice him to warn the others? thats the meaning of kill 1 warn 100 isn't it? you kill one , sacrifice him so the others are warned and listen to you.Originally posted by allentyb:like i said before, kill one to warn 100 people, this is what i emphases about, he become an example to those students out there,
this is how i feel, if he never try to run away from it, and owns up to his mistake, then we should be lenient,
if that fellow don't receive a sentence of 2 years of probation, then this society is truly unjust!
so tell me, have you spit on the ground, littered, did something remotely illegal and not owned up?Originally posted by BusSpeeder:they admit what offences they do.
Alamak....u really dun get me....Yes, inflicting physical injury to the others are punishable by jailing....but what I am trying to say all the time was teens should not be jailed because of punching others( I mean not for repeated offenders). Ur bro escape jail sentence and u are grateful. By similar argument, that kid's father would be grateful as well.....Originally posted by allentyb:he punched a bus driver, and he used violence, and you are telling me, this is not a serious offence, ah? you really think jail sentence is not possible for him, meh?
the thing is, he is from a well educated school, and he should be punished as an example for others to seeOriginally posted by hisoka:so why is he less important than the others that you can sacrifice him to warn the others? thats the meaning of kill 1 warn 100 isn't it? you kill one , sacrifice him so the others are warned and listen to you.
k fine i explained wrongly. civilised people are people who admit offences they did, even by spitting on the ground. but one thing, u are finding fault from others.Originally posted by hisoka:so tell me, have you spit on the ground, littered, did something remotely illegal and not owned up?
so all offenders who did not plead guilty to charges are uncivilised? including some of the commercial charges by traders, ceos whatever?
oh come on, we are talking about act of violence, nothing to do with littering and spitting on the groundOriginally posted by hisoka:so tell me, have you spit on the ground, littered, did something remotely illegal and not owned up?
so all offenders who did not plead guilty to charges are uncivilised? including some of the commercial charges by traders, ceos whatever?
he's finding fault from others. quite from anyone he think is nonsensical he'll comment. i dunno whether its a he or she so i said he.Originally posted by allentyb:oh come on, we are talking about act of violence, nothing to do with littering and spitting on the ground
i seriously don't see why the school should matter. unless it was school for mentally disabled or something.Originally posted by allentyb:the thing is, he is from a well educated school, and he should be punished as an example for others to see
he is from a school with so good education, yet he doesn't behave in a civilised manner, and he behave like a ah beng, but humji, when he learnt he did a horrible mistake, cry like a baby, and his father has to beg for forgiveness on his behalf, this sort of person, what does that tells you?
so ahead and tell it to the judge, oh, your honour, i am so sorry, it is a accident, ya right, it is an accident that you punched a bus driver and needed someone to restrain you, it wasn't me who punched the bus driver, it was my 'hand'
should we close one eye, and let him off with a mere warning, HUH?
in my opinion, i think that fellow should be punished accordingly to what the law has stated, and i am truly thankful, it is just 2 years of probation for my brother, and i am not a kin to that student at all, so why should i care about him,and as a public, of course i want to see that fellow punished, but if i am his father, of course i would want to plead for lenientlyOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Alamak....u really dun get me....Yes, inflicting physical injury to the others are punishable by jailing....but what I am trying to say all the time was teens should not be jailed because of punching others( I mean not for repeated offenders). Ur bro escape jail sentence and u are grateful. By similar argument, that kid's father would be grateful as well.....
Not trying to go against u.....but this is how I feel....
think cannot escape punishment one... but me think maybe put boy on probation with bond from boy's father + community work (for the rest of his school holidays) + compulsory/manditory counselling + compansation to uncle driver with public apology.Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Alamak....u really dun get me....Yes, inflicting physical injury to the others are punishable by jailing....but what I am trying to say all the time was teens should not be jailed because of punching others( I mean not for repeated offenders). Ur bro escape jail sentence and u are grateful. By similar argument, that kid's father would be grateful as well.....
Not trying to go against u.....but this is how I feel....
look, the school does matter, if you have a good record in school, it does count whether you are from a educated school or not?Originally posted by hisoka:i seriously don't see why the school should matter. unless it was school for mentally disabled or something.
Sorry but that statement was just too glaring. to equate uncivilised with not admiting or running away from offences was just too wrong to ignore.Originally posted by BusSpeeder:k fine i explained wrongly. civilised people are people who admit offences they did, even by spitting on the ground. but one thing, u are finding fault from others.