then say what is the meaning of civilised and uncivilised and i am not neccessary finding fault with others.Originally posted by hisoka:Sorry but that statement was just too glaring. to equate uncivilised with not admiting or running away from offences was just too wrong to ignore.
civilised pple run away or try to get out of trouble too, we even see it int he office with blame shifting and such even if its not an offence.
and for finding fault with pple, i'm just pointing out parts where i disagree with you or some one else. you are finding fault with what other pple said too right?
If u have read what I have posted previously, u will know I did not say abt letting the boy off Scott free...Punishment has to be implemented But the degree has to be reasonable.....Originally posted by vince69:think cannot escape punishment one... but me think maybe put boy on probation with bond from boy's father + community work (for the rest of his school holidays) + compulsory/manditory counselling + compansation to uncle driver with public apology.
(hopefully boy learn lesson and don't repeat)
aiyah... the issue is NOT overpay or underpay, but a card was reported lost - a formal complain was made, therefore there is a case when the card now resurfaces...Originally posted by chillz88:At least someone have the guts to punch a bus driver.
In this situation, why can't the bus driver ask them to pay using coins instead? rather than making it into a big issue. And if they refused to pay, reprimand them.
I still remember a few years back, I paid around 80 cents to take a bus home. In the middle of the journey, the bus attendant board the bus and told me that 80 cents won't take me to my destination bus stop. So, i add another 50 cents. But he insisted I pay a full $1.20 instead! I argued that I already pay $1.30 in total! And he still want me to pay an extra $1.20! Then that would make me pay more than $2!! WTF! If only I had punched that bus attendant!!
From that day onwards, I have no respect or sympathy for any bus drivers in singapore.
ANTI SBS you can call me.![]()
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:just trying to point to the what is reasonable punishment part...
If u have read what I have posted previously, u will know I did not say abt letting the boy off Scott free...[b]Punishment has to be implemented But the degree has to be reasonable.....[/b]
the bus conductor did what the SBS policy....u not only top up the difference...but pay the fee as if u just board from that same bus stopOriginally posted by chillz88:I still remember a few years back, I paid around 80 cents to take a bus home. In the middle of the journey, the bus attendant board the bus and told me that 80 cents won't take me to my destination bus stop. So, i add another 50 cents. But he insisted I pay a full $1.20 instead! I argued that I already pay $1.30 in total! And he still want me to pay an extra $1.20! Then that would make me pay more than $2!! WTF! If only I had punched that bus attendant!!
From that day onwards, I have no respect or sympathy for any bus drivers in singapore.
I did state what I feel is reasonable in my previous posts...read them urself...I bery lazy to repeat.....Originally posted by vince69:just trying to point to the what is reasonable punishment part...
u keep saying second chanceOriginally posted by ahhaoz:u noe ppl..
it doesn't matter where the student is from. According to eye witness accounts which i read from TNP ( which might just be sensationalised, I would never noe ) i think the student should be prosecuted and given a serious warning.. yes he should be prosecuted, but take note he's only 17 and needs the 2nd chance.. but he has to learn the lesson. let's not destroy his future just yet .. not at 17.. so i believe a warning with some form of counselling or community service might do the trick..
I also personally hope that he apologizes for what he has done. This is shameful enuff and i believe that he will learn his lesson.
read today's TNP.. am dissappointed with article by Andrew Chin. Linking academics and difficulty fitting in with the actions he has commited.
poor baby, don't cry anymore, go along run home to yr mamaOriginally posted by Skibi:Confusion leads to unhappiness. You are of course not "totally" confused. From your posts, on the other hand, you have displayed many "fallacies" in your head.
When I said that birds of a feather flock together I meant that your argument that you have a group of friends proves that you are not "unsociable" is not valid.
Whether or not you are unsociable would depend on how well you get along with people who are not your friends. You choose your friends... the chances are very high that you chose them as friends because you can get along with them and they, you.
then yr argument is flawedOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Pls read my whole post carefully. I did not say we should cover up for our sons/siblings. What I said was the punishments suggested by many forummers were too harsh....jailing ,expulsion etc.....Would they give such comments if the kid concern is their children??
In short, pls read my previous post again.....
so punching n continued bashing someone when he is down is considered as an accidentOriginally posted by BusSpeeder:i do know that JUST because they are from an elite school, they should not be treated leniently. but don't you think that by jailing the boy would be too harsh? by saying this it means that anyone who just do any minor things, like by ACCIDENT an adult was tripped by a child and the child would be charged just because BY ACCIDENT. if thats the case, might as well say that even if a 17 year old boy punch 17 year old boy, will also be jailed as well. they by now should understand the laws of Singapore. certainly they would not do it. if they ever would do it the government would just strengthen the laws.
if a person can bash someone, he should stand in the face of law equally as anyone elseOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:So u are the type that seeks for absolute equality in this case....
Honestly would u say the same thing if the person concern is ur brother or even child? I.E agreeing the kid to be jailed or severe punishments carried out by sch and parents?
Not trying to pick on u....but to see if what u really truly feel what u said should be implemented....
hallo, u r missing the whole pictureOriginally posted by chillz88:At least someone have the guts to punch a bus driver.
In this situation, why can't the bus driver ask them to pay using coins instead? rather than making it into a big issue. And if they refused to pay, reprimand them.
I still remember a few years back, I paid around 80 cents to take a bus home. In the middle of the journey, the bus attendant board the bus and told me that 80 cents won't take me to my destination bus stop. So, i add another 50 cents. But he insisted I pay a full $1.20 instead! I argued that I already pay $1.30 in total! And he still want me to pay an extra $1.20! Then that would make me pay more than $2!! WTF! If only I had punched that bus attendant!!
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:stealing is a serious offence n assault is not meh??
Stealing is a serious offence and jailing is possible.... U are thankful to the judge for sentencing a relatively light punishment. Shouldnt' u try to be more benign in ur view on how this boy should be punished? Honestly, I believed punishments for the teens should be more lenient (but not cover up even if he is an elite) because if we use overly severe punishments on teens, chances are when they grow up, they will be even more harsh to the teens of their time.
[b]Maybe( i dare not assume) because of the harsness and brutality of life u have experience in ur teens, that is why u come up wif such thoughts....[/b][/b]
u r so contradicting, u said stealing is serious, now u saying repeat offender is serious, but u don't think that assault is serious, so if he killed the bus driver by bashing him to death, he should oso not be jailed lah, since it is at most manslaughter not murderOriginally posted by Hamiltonian1125:Alamak....u really dun get me....Yes, inflicting physical injury to the others are punishable by jailing....but what I am trying to say all the time was teens should not be jailed because of punching others( I mean not for repeated offenders). Ur bro escape jail sentence and u are grateful. By similar argument, that kid's father would be grateful as well.....
Not trying to go against u.....but this is how I feel....
I can think of more reasons for the media to make it even more of a sensational news if the kid was from a neighbourhood, and they can surely play the "Ah Beng" press card.Originally posted by allentyb:look, the school does matter, if you have a good record in school, it does count whether you are from a educated school or not?
at least, infront of a judge, your lawyer has something to say to plead for leniency
and why this incident gets to the press, if this is just another neighbourhood school, do you think, this news will become news worthy
come on, you can't see the rational of it, meh?
this incident has become a ho ha incident, thanks to the media
Totally agree with you.Originally posted by allentyb:there is no need for me to be agreeable or even in the same channel as you are
i already state what i feel, and he should be punished severely to teach those students that they can do whatever they want
let this incident to be known to all those HCI
they can't get away with just a mere warning, and he should be punished, at least with probation, and the rest of the students will learn!
this is already, what i stated, and i am not going to change my point of view, and you don't have to be agreeable with me at all
why should we give that student another chance, just because he is young?
as i said before - kill one to warn 100 people
Originally posted by Hamiltonian1125:you are seriously joking rite?
Stealing is a serious offence and jailing is possible.... U are thankful to the judge for sentencing a relatively light punishment. Shouldnt' u try to be more benign in ur view on how this boy should be punished? Honestly, I believed punishments for the teens should be more lenient (but not cover up even if he is an elite) because if we use overly severe punishments on teens, chances are when they grow up, they will be even more harsh to the teens of their time.
[b]Maybe( i dare not assume) because of the harsness and brutality of life u have experience in ur teens, that is why u come up wif such thoughts....[/b][/b]
zzzOriginally posted by eothian:You guys are losers.
Click here for full story : http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/printfriendly/0,4139,130301,00.html
archerly nothing liaoOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Still arguing............hai ya............
register just to post this one hah?Originally posted by eothian:You guys are losers.
Click here for full story : http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/printfriendly/0,4139,130301,00.html
yar..Originally posted by Rock^Star:There's no such term as "teenager" in law. He's a minor if under 18.
Yar agree..Originally posted by Rock^Star:Give the kid the benefit of the doubt. If he has ill conduct in school, most probably the school would have commented "conduct has room for improvement" or "satisfactory". No school would comment "ill behaved".
And no, the father should never slap the kid in front of the driver. That will kill his confidence and hurt his pride. Would you do that to your kid in front of his victim if he committed a wrong? Profuse apologies, yes but no slapping.