My friend got AABB B4 for GP, no S papers, got into this year medicineOriginally posted by Mewlove:What year are you in? Dun be like me, dragon year oso die die must choose JC now cant enter uni cuz too many people includin the poly one oso rush in.
But tell you the truth, if you get above 16 for L1R5 dun go JC unless you got enough bonus points to deduct from your L1R5 that enables you to get into better JCs.
JC can go Uni, poly also can go uni, poly got advance standing some more, and even if you did not manage to enter uni once you obtain your diploma you still have your diploma cert and its more useful in the workforce that an A levels cert. And when you get a job, you can earn the money you need for you universities and try again while working.
A levels is die die must go university one. And if you dont, you will have to go overseas or private university. Worst come to worse you might have to go take up a diploma course which you have given up taking years ago. If you are not an academic person, you should go poly. You should only go Junior College only if you are certain you will be able get good results and only if you know your general knowledge and English is good.
Even if you get all As but you fail your General Paper, you're done for. No need to go university le. While you can choose your subjects in Poly, choose your subjects there. When you go to the university, unless you are one of the top students, the university literally chooses your course for you instead of you choosing the course of oyur choice. Just like the girl who got all 4As and even Distinction for 2 of her 'S' papers for her subjects and C5 for gp(an average grade) she couldnt get into her dream course of Law, neither could she get into Medicine. Another girl got AAB(Very good result) couldnt even get into accountancy, and she only got her 5th choice out of 8 choices in her choices... She could go UK and do law, but banks wont allow her to borrow money... See? It depends whether you are lucky or not to get the choices you want. You might not get into the course you want.
i first sem only get 3.3 lo.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Say only ar...
My own GPA of 3.3 is not even in top 5%.
That means I need at least 3.5 or 3.6.
JC. Psychology is a rather tough course to get in. If you do go JC, your General Paper grade has to be at least B4, minimum. But for a safe bet, A1. Is your english good?Safe bet is A1??
For psychology, out of the whole cohort, only some get Honours. Only honour students can do Masters. THEN, you can practice psychology. Unless you don't plan to be a psychologist per se, but use your degree for another occupation.I thought Masters mean you only do one degree? ANd honours means you do very well in that degree?? Or am i wrong, need your clarifications.
I'll be honest. 14 points is not fantastic. It's L1R5, right? HOWEVER, you can still do it if you study hard for your A's. Go to a good arts JC that is with a higher entry score, like CJC. Their arts, is power! What performing arts are you in?im in choir, sounds not that impressive huh...
lol. i go JC and come out after one year (which doesnt mean anything, i left with a v poor year one report and re-exam report. which i studied sooooooooooooooooooo hard and got F in the end. hais.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:The reason why I can't get into JC is because
1) I don't have MT2. I am left with the 5 subjects.
2) My English CMI.
If I can get into a JC or MI ar, my future will be brighter..Originally posted by hiphop2009:lol. i go JC and come out after one year (which doesnt mean anything, i left with a v poor year one report and re-exam report. which i studied sooooooooooooooooooo hard and got F in the end. hais.now i think of it i still feel sad liao la....)
wow can get a2 for gp!!Originally posted by hiphop2009:i first sem only get 3.3 lo.
2nd sem dropped like s.h.i.t
the following sem i dun even dare to think liao.
i hav been thru two system (some of u all might noe), i left jc after year one, den joined poly.
jc is absolutely competitive and stressed. but at the end of two years, YOU MUST get into a uni. otherwise it is wasted. if u hav been academically gd or nt bad, or u dun hav a specific interest, den i suggest u go into jc first. Yes, u hear stories of pple failing general paper is terrifying and stuff like dat, but why let it scare u? if pple fail, den u muz fail meh? i hav frenz whose english are damn lousy, in the end dey score A2 for their GP paper. no joke.
for poly, true, it is sure slacker, and more holidays (=P) compared to JC.it is also true that pple who are academically weaker or slower will tend to choose poly. some pple can learn better with hands on learning. if u are slower in learning, OR u hav already had specific interest in a particular field and course, (i hav frenz whose L1R5 8 points go into poly), den choose poly.
hey people, for poly, WHY only look at how u get into a uni and NOT how u get a job first before considering to get into a uni?????
to TS: only u noe urself well, pple here are only offering u suggestions
haha. aiyah, nvm. poly gd la. =POriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:If I can get into a JC or MI ar, my future will be brighter..![]()
It's just because me is not so linguistic... and did abit badly for English, and drop MT2 only mah.. My Maths and Science are ok..![]()
well, to tell u, i actually juz hit the mark for JC (u noe how many points....) but i wanted to do arts related sub in uni i guess (coz i though poly courses werent suitable for me). so i go jc lo.Originally posted by davidche:wow can get a2 for gp!!
I will never live life without a university degree that is for sure.
What was your R1L5 for your o-lvls? Is it because you got high points so you thought that JC was suitable for you. But then i guess you got too stressed out right? so you went poly instead.
agreed....(for the uni part)Originally posted by fatslob:If u think u can do well enough n pass GP with a decent grade then go JC
If u're a bit unsure academically then better to go poly.. less stress also.
But just remember JC students still get some priority over poly grads for local Uni's.
I got thru JC cos can score GP n Chinese wifout studying hehehe, other subjects get lousy grade neh'mind, but tok kok subjects like econs can score. woot
EDIT: aahh memories... last time anyhow whack one, skip lecture, nv hand in tutorials (esp maths), write crap in essays... must be miracle i made it to NUS.
im lazy to click thru page 2 to 5 to see if this is pointed out.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You know how to calculate mean?
That's your GPA. Grade for all modules add together divide by the number of modules you take.
The admission of uni for poly and JC students are two seperate categories. Thus, there is no 'who has priority over who' kind of thing. You are competing for a place in uni course with you school mates bascially.Originally posted by hiphop2009:agreed....(for the uni part)
dun complain why JC students get the piority. think abt this way, JC student got to get into uni because A level cert wont get dem anywhere except uni, while with a diploma, u can get a job and support urself. though i agree dat the uni entrance system could change to allow more poly grad to get in (who dun wan to study in uni???), maybe lets say let poly grad work a few years before uni consider their admission if dey dun hav gd results?
Originally posted by tfcheng:im lazy to click thru page 2 to 5 to see if this is pointed out.
but i went to SIM the other day and the prof said its (grade for all modules) divide by (total no of tries u took for all modules)
SP gpa calculation
A & distinction - 4
B+ - 3.5
B - 3
C+ - 2.5
C - 2
D + - 1.5
D - 1
D- ,sub pass, dunno what pass other pass -0.5
Each module has a credit unit
GPA =
[(Module credit unit * grade point ) + other credit unit* grade point]/total credit unit
highest you can ever get = 4...and it is accumulative from year 1 to year 3...means u year 1 not good den hard to catch up liao...
but u cannot deny dat uni take in much more JC students yeah?Originally posted by davidche:The admission of uni for poly and JC students are two seperate categories. Thus, there is no 'who has priority over who' kind of thing. You are competing for a place in uni course with you school mates bascially.
Most poly students tend to be not so acadamically inclined so naturally they wont pursue a degree, Thus there will be a lesser intake of poly students.Originally posted by hiphop2009:but u cannot deny dat uni take in much more JC students yeah?
To get into law, not only must you get As & Bs but GP min. must be B3.Originally posted by Mewlove:What year are you in? Dun be like me, dragon year oso die die must choose JC now cant enter uni cuz too many people includin the poly one oso rush in.
But tell you the truth, if you get above 16 for L1R5 dun go JC unless you got enough bonus points to deduct from your L1R5 that enables you to get into better JCs.
JC can go Uni, poly also can go uni, poly got advance standing some more, and even if you did not manage to enter uni once you obtain your diploma you still have your diploma cert and its more useful in the workforce that an A levels cert. And when you get a job, you can earn the money you need for you universities and try again while working.
A levels is die die must go university one. And if you dont, you will have to go overseas or private university. Worst come to worse you might have to go take up a diploma course which you have given up taking years ago. If you are not an academic person, you should go poly. You should only go Junior College only if you are certain you will be able get good results and only if you know your general knowledge and English is good.
Even if you get all As but you fail your General Paper, you're done for. No need to go university le. While you can choose your subjects in Poly, choose your subjects there. When you go to the university, unless you are one of the top students, the university literally chooses your course for you instead of you choosing the course of oyur choice. Just like the girl who got all 4As and even Distinction for 2 of her 'S' papers for her subjects and C5 for gp(an average grade) she couldnt get into her dream course of Law, neither could she get into Medicine. Another girl got AAB(Very good result) couldnt even get into accountancy, and she only got her 5th choice out of 8 choices in her choices... She could go UK and do law, but banks wont allow her to borrow money... See? It depends whether you are lucky or not to get the choices you want. You might not get into the course you want.
Huh? since when?Originally posted by davidche:There is also lesser poly students compared to JC students.
In all, i think that the competition for a uni place between jc students is higher.
Regarding GP, let me put it this way, to get into NUS FASS they see your A level sub grades, but to see which course you go into, they see your GP and (if have) interview. First year in nus fass you take common subjects with everybody else in NUS. 2nd year on then you specialise, so even if you dont do too well at A levels, but do fantastic in 1st year, you may still get in psychology.Originally posted by davidche:Safe bet is A1??
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For psychology, out of the whole cohort, only some get Honours. Only honour students can do Masters. THEN, you can practice psychology. Unless you don't plan to be a psychologist per se, but use your degree for another occupation.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I thought Masters mean you only do one degree? ANd honours means you do very well in that degree?? Or am i wrong, need your clarifications.
quote:
I'll be honest. 14 points is not fantastic. It's L1R5, right? HOWEVER, you can still do it if you study hard for your A's. Go to a good arts JC that is with a higher entry score, like CJC. Their arts, is power! What performing arts are you in?
im in choir, sounds not that impressive huh...