Honestly, I am insulted that you should say such words. Most of us here are more than capable of speaking/typing proper English. Our Chinese isn't half bad too.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I fail to comprehend WHY, after being educated in English for 10 years (I'm assuming most of you people here have completed at least Primary & Secondary Level), most, if not ALL of you peeps here still can't speak/type proper English.
Unless you're telling me, you guys dropped out in secondary school or something... Maybe that might explain it?
Not being able to speak/type proper English is bad enough... the best thing is that, YOU RETARDS ARE PROUD OF IT... GROW UP KIDDOS! The world doesn't revolve around Singapore. You losers not only fail in the Engish Language. Your standard of Mandarin is half-baked as well...
Tsk...
But how would you command someone to speak English well?Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:I'm sure you've all heard of the Speak Good English campaign which encourages Singaporeans to um...speak english good? But yeah anyways I'd like to point out the immense irony of the campaign because 'Speak Good English' is actually 'speaking bad english'. It should be Speak English Well as Speak Good English is incorrect and could be considered Singlish. So yeah just thought I'd point that out because I find it extremely hilarious.
Those errors are for entertainment value onlyOriginally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:lol absolutely doubt that. even the people in speaker's corner make constant grammatical errors that an 8 year old would lol
Speak proper English?Originally posted by Short Ninja:But how would you command someone to speak English well?
1) Speak well English !!!
2)Speak better English !!!
3)Speak good English !!!
Suggestions please.
I'm not sure if any of you share my sentiments, but this sounds pretty retarded to me.Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:i iish Sp34|c p3RfecT Englisgghhh one nor....
Yes, you're right. The choice of whether to speak good English or not, is yours to make. As for your statement that "most of us here are more than capable of speaking/typing in proper English", well ,somehow I find that hard to accept.Originally posted by Zenmai:Honestly, I am insulted that you should say such words. Most of us here are more than capable of speaking/typing proper English. Our Chinese isn't half bad too.
We are given a free choice to type or speak proper English, now if you will, do reconsider that statement of yours alright?
dats ur problem. hahaha!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Yes, you're right. The choice of whether to speak good english or not, is yours to make. As for the fact that 'most of us here are more than capable of speaking/typing in proper English', well ,somehow I find it hard to accept that.
Judging from the various posts here, I rest my case.
I'd be amazed if you could actually converse in proper English in real life, judging from the way you write/type. Have you actually completed Secondary Education yet? If you have, I rest my case. If you haven't, well, good luck. =)Originally posted by udontknowme:dats ur problem. hahaha!!!!!!!!!!
if mi speak type write in real life like how i do here.....*snort* i tink nobidie can understand me!!! hahaha...!
u juz so very not flexible. tsk
english good so what?my life dun depend on this!!!
Perhaps Asians feel intimidated when speaking to English Speaking Ang Mo but when engaged in a conversation with eastern European.....wah damn yaya man>Originally posted by Isis:Most Singaporean can write good English but our standard for speaking english isn't there good.. esp when we communicate with the ang mo.
When i was in usa, i found that most of the American looked down on Asian who couldn't speak good english but hor, some of them don't even know how to spell lor...
u hab no idea =)Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I'd be amazed if you could actually converse in proper English in real life, judging from the way you write/type. Have you actually completed Secondary Education yet? If you have, I rest my case. If you haven't, well, good luck. =)
Flexible? It's not a matter of flexibility. It's a matter of one's standard of the English language.
Seriously, I fail to grasp the gist of your argument... Did you actually PASS your English?Originally posted by udontknowme:u hab no idea =)
ur engrish good so wat? go russia can survive? go mongolia can survive? u stranded in an island nobirdie to tok to can save ur life?? you write a note in perfect english and put in a bottle but the person who picks it up doesnt even recognize the english language. liddat how?? if can survive, ok for the rest of my life i type in wut u consider 'proper' english. if kenot save my life, fark care u lor.....
ok. mi ask u. u good at what other things other than english????
some people, so good in one thing but everything else cmiif liddat, wats the point. *snort*
when in rome, do as the romans do. hiaK~
it's pple like U who make mi learn to type liddis. ahahahhaa
liddat so easy oso kenot??? sad =(Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Seriously, I fail to grasp the gist of your argument...
I don't think you know what you're talking about... I'm commenting on the standard of English in Singapore. You're arguing about something totally different.Originally posted by udontknowme:liddat so easy oso kenot??? sad =(
u this kinda person kenot travel liao =( kenot meet other people oso. =(
cos some people from other countries, their english not so good. then grammar all that not the same one. plus their accent.
woooo....u been to northern ireland?? some german people accent also bery thick. plus their sentence structure isnt the same.
perfect english is no use one. esp if ur stuck on it and cannot 'understand' other types of english
do u live in singapore?Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I don't think you know what you're talking about... I'm commenting on the standard of English in Singapore. You're arguing about something totally different. You not only fail in comprehension, you have issues with grammar, sentence structure, and most importantly, SPELLING. Somehow I overestimated your standard of English. I apologise for that. Maybe they should teach English in Mandarin, to cater for people like you.
Wow, I'm impressed... you managed to type in legible English... Well done! =)Originally posted by udontknowme:do u live in singapore?
if you do, what kind of people do you mix around with?
just because your english is better than most people (as you'd like to assume) doesnt mean that everyone else's is badi've lived in many different countries and i can tell you that the standard of english in singapore is considered to be pretty damn good compared to many others i've met.
and what makes you think that just because my english suxorz (according to you), my mandarin would be better?but you know what, i AM learning mandarin!! and i am being taught in english. hahaha
and yes i'd love to be taught english in mandarin (and other languages) just for the experience.
you have overestimated your OWN standard of english. it's not really all that greatbut you know what's even worse?? your attitude and personality.
is this all you can come up with after i've typed so muchOriginally posted by Dormito_ger:Wow, I'm impressed... you managed to type in legible English... Well done! =)
oh. excessive ellipses annoy meOriginally posted by Dormito_ger:Wow, I'm impressed... you managed to type in legible English... Well done! =)
Typical of Singaporeans to blame others for one's own incompetence. Pathetic? Dude, I think you should step out of Singapore (Sentosa is still part of SG if you didn't know...) and see the world.Originally posted by udontknowme:is this all you can come up with after i've typed so much![]()
i swear, people like you are PATHETIC
dats y i learn to type liddis lor. cos if pple like u
You don't!!!Originally posted by Short Ninja:But how would you command someone to speak English well?
1) Speak well English !!!
2)Speak better English !!!
3)Speak good English !!!
Suggestions please.
Make a guess? Jesus, how old are you? 12? Grow up kiddo. Nice try on trying to wriggle out of the issue that we were on though... =)Originally posted by udontknowme:singaporean???
AHAHAHAHHAHAHHHAHAHHAHAHAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
just cos ur one, doesnt mean im one!!!! im a citizen of...the country i'm currently living in. wanna make a guess? *gives sweet smile*it's night here now. does that make it easier?????? oh. not USA by the way.
and i've been to places you've never even heard about before
travel and see the world. AHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA. anyone who has really done that would totally see that u've obviously NOT done that. or if you have, it was a waste of your parents money. (or your own if you paid for it yourself)
I agree with what you are saying but what should an English teacher say to a student?Originally posted by mancha:You don't!!!
Just listen and try to understand the speaker.
You tell yourself that you will speak English better.