nope. im a TCK. moving is part of my life. whether that is good or bad, i dunno. it's got it's pros and cons.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Make a guess? Jesus, how old are you? 12? Grow up kiddo. Nice try on trying to wriggle out of the issue that we were on though... =)
Been to places that I've never heard before? *Yawn* And I suppose you happen to drive an Italian supercar, live in some castle somewhere in Europe, and you've dated supermodels?
*Yawns*
pls lar after few years of saying singlish from young, u tink ez to break issit. some people got degree for language for language but still speak singlish. wrong issit?Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I fail to comprehend WHY, after being educated in English for 10 years (I'm assuming most of you people here have completed at least Primary & Secondary Level), most, if not ALL of you peeps here still can't speak/type proper English.
Unless you're telling me, you guys dropped out in secondary school or something... Maybe that might explain it?
Not being able to speak/type proper English is bad enough... the best thing is that, YOU RETARDS ARE PROUD OF IT... GROW UP KIDDOS! The world doesn't revolve around Singapore. You losers not only fail in the Engish Language. Your standard of Mandarin is half-baked as well...
Tsk...
Whoa, I see you've got nothing better to do and you're back.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Typical of Singaporeans to blame others for one's own incompetence. Pathetic? Dude, I think you should step out of Singapore (Sentosa is still part of SG if you didn't know...) and see the world.
As for your comment on my reply, well, I don't see a point in advancing an argument to an illogical statement.
I wasn't talking to you nimwit. If I was, you'd know it...Originally posted by mancha:Whoa, I see you've got nothing better to do and you're back.
Ha, Ha.
You're a typical " giah ang moh kah chng, cho bin, lang".
You made yourself an honorary ang moh and look down on your own.
My gawwwwd! you're ashamed of yourself in Oz.
A pity, you made your way down there and didn't find happiness.
If you're happy, it'll show.
And, of course, you don't see a point in advancing an argument to an illogical statement, you dill.
You're a wuss too.
FYI, there is the Aunt Agony forum that you could unload your woes, and free your mind. The concerned ones will offer helpful advise, the trolls will make your day.
Have a nice day,
cheer up! Sheila.
No, I'm not referring to the "fact that most Singaporeans can switch smoothly between Singlish and broken English"Originally posted by Jurist:Somehow I find that hard to believe. No offence intended, but I think you're referring to the fact that most Singaporeans can switch smoothly between Singlish and broken English?
your english standards, are only averageOriginally posted by Dormito_ger:I wasn't talking to you nimwit. If I was, you'd know it...
Honorary angmoh? Ashamed of myself? Didn't find happiness? OMG, I have absolutely NO IDEA how you managed to derive that conclusion. I'm just disgusted at the way how people are lacking in some areas, and yet appear to be PROUD of it, instead of showing a want to improve. That's my main point. Yet I have no idea how some people here manage to turn it into something that's totally off the point.
First of all, it's ENGLISH, not ENGRISH. Second, I did not at any time, claim to possess a superior command of the language. Third, it appears you're under the sad misconception that simple English = average standard. Well if that's the case, you've just proven my point yet again. =)Originally posted by gigabyte14:your english standards, are only average
from what i see, you've only used simple engrish
Originally posted by Dormito_ger:
First of all, it's [b]ENGLISH, not ENGRISH. Second, I did not at any time, claim to possess a superior command of the language. Third, it appears you're under the sad misconception that simple English = average standard. Well if that's the case, you've just proven my point yet again. =)[/b]
That in red show the disgust in you with yourself.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I wasn't talking to you nimwit. If I was, you'd know it...
Honorary angmoh? Ashamed of myself? Didn't find happiness? OMG, I have absolutely NO IDEA how you managed to derive that conclusion. I'm just disgusted at the way how people are lacking in some areas, and yet appear to be PROUD of it, instead of showing a want to improve. That's my main point. Yet I have no idea how some people here manage to turn it into something that's totally off the point.
but you didint light?Originally posted by gigabyte14:![]()
knn, everyone, even a fool can tell i typed that on purpose
Seriously what IS your problem? I have an A1 in GP and will be taking English literature after NS but I'm not even half as snobbish as you are. If we consider only the ability to express oneself in written, non verbal form, Singapore does have a pretty high standard. Please don't think too highly of yourself just because you can type properly. For most, Singlish is used in daily conversation among Singaporeans because it can forge a closer bond among friends; it serves the effect of creating a common identity and defines us as Singaporeans. I agree it is important to know when not to apply Singlish in inappropriate situations, but just because you made the choice not to use it at all does NOT put you above the rest of us.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I don't think you know what you're talking about... I'm commenting on the standard of English in Singapore. You're arguing about something totally different.
Speaking of the foreign countries you mentioned, the official language of Northern Ireland is Irish. English is the de facto language. In Germany, the official language is German, not English. So I don't see the comparison. In Singapore, the medium of instruction is English. Not Malay or Chinese. A normal person would have at least gone through 10 years of education in English. So I don't see why a normal person should write/speak/type in such a way.
You not only fail in logic and comprehension, you have issues with grammar, sentence structure, and most importantly, SPELLING. Somehow I overestimated your standard of English. I apologise for that. Maybe they should teach English in Mandarin, to cater for people like you.
I don't think that the paragraph you quoted me on, was directed at you, nor everyone else. It was a reply directed at another user.Originally posted by S.KCH:Seriously what IS your problem? I have an A1 in GP and will be taking English literature after NS but I'm not even half as snobbish as you are. If we consider only the ability to express oneself in written, non verbal form, Singapore does have a pretty high standard. Please don't think too highly of yourself just because you can type properly. For most, Singlish is used in daily conversation among Singaporeans because it can forge a closer bond among friends; it serves the effect of creating a common identity and defines us as Singaporeans. I agree it is important to know when not to apply Singlish in inappropriate situations, but just because you made the choice not to use it at all does NOT put you above the rest of us.
Wow! You never cease to amaze me with your wit. Half of it rather.Originally posted by mancha:That in red show the disgust in you with yourself.
You are lacking in "some areas" too.
And yet you are PROUD of it.
You don't know yourself!
You don't get it.
You assess us through the posts here, we or at least I, assess you through your posts too.
And you have no idea how you come through as.
You ought to look at yourself in the proverbial mirror.
This is an open forum, and you are the nimwit actually.
You can come in and join in the fun, but you got no business putting people down. When you do that, expect some criticism to go your way. That's where you are lacking. Maturity.
Bottom line, you are an unhappy person.
And you are spreading that around.
Again, cheer up, big kiddo.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:but you didint light?![]()
just go to a country that doesn't speak englishOriginally posted by Dormito_ger:Wow! You never cease to amaze me with your wit. Half of it rather.
Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Just to be clear, I did not quote that because it was directed at me. I quoted that because I think you are a pompous, pretentious turd.
I don't think that the paragraph you quoted me on, was directed at you, nor everyone else. It was a reply directed at another user.
You mentioned that Singaporeans do have a pretty high standard in written English. I beg to differ. My point is, most, if not all Singaporeans [b]THINK they have a high standard of English, be it in written or verbal form. Unfortunately, that's not the case...
No doubt, you're one of the few exceptions whom I've encountered in this forum, that has the ability to present your point and argument in a reasonably articulate manner. However, having an A1 in GP don't mean s*** dude. In the land of the blind, the one-eyed jack is KING. Get my point? Have a great week ahead.
Great! I amaze you, and with only half my wits.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Wow! You never cease to amaze me with your wit. Half of it rather.
Where are you from?Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Wow! You never cease to amaze me with your wit. Half of it rather.
I know this is an old post...i think you've mistaken us Singaporeans (are you born/bred here at all?!). You see, Singlish is what the Singaporean down the street speaks. Singlish helps break the ice between locals in awkward situations or even distract us from the real problem for some respite, such as talking about the humid weather while waiting 45 minutes for a bus. So all the posts before yours, were made tongue in cheek. TyPiNG Lik3 tHi5 iS some people's way of expressing that they're having fun. That Singlish is as loose as it is functional. The point in Singlish is getting the message through is the least number of words. Stressing items with "lah", "leh", "meh", etc is our way of expression. We dun purposely want to speak Singlish. It's simply a natural occurence after having a mix of races grow exponentially in almost 200 years, a large majority of which with no formal education until affluent and religious societies start giving back to the public by establishing schools. Education was only emphasised after our independence. Even that took a while to make it compulsory. I remember in my 1988 Atlas, only 88% of Singaporeans are literate. So do forgive us if we talk liddat la, cos itz jus our way of hvg fun and getting the pt across lor. What's worse is now the sms culture of shortening already shortened-words. It will take a while for the receiver to comprehend, but the sender is short of time, so he writes a quick one. Here's how bad it can probably get...Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I fail to comprehend WHY, after being educated in English for 10 years (I'm assuming most of you people here have completed at least Primary & Secondary Level), most, if not ALL of you peeps here still can't speak/type proper English.
Unless you're telling me, you guys dropped out in secondary school or something... Maybe that might explain it?
Not being able to speak/type proper English is bad enough... the best thing is that, YOU RETARDS ARE PROUD OF IT... GROW UP KIDDOS! The world doesn't revolve around Singapore. You losers not only fail in the Engish Language. Your standard of Mandarin is half-baked as well...
Tsk...
the kid is singaporean but seems to be currently residing in Australia.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Where are you from?
going back next summer. BUT I HAVE TO WORK IN SINGAPORE LEH!!!Originally posted by elindra:@ UDON
When are you coming back to Singapore for a holiday UDON?
Will you be back for Christmas?