Come back home and can't eat, is really sad....can try blending ur Hainanese Chicken Rice!Originally posted by udontknowme:going back next summer. BUT I HAVE TO WORK IN SINGAPORE LEH!!!tmd....
eh...hehehe. u know where to find nice jobs where they'll hire you for 4 months and actually make u feel useful anot???
xmas...going to get my wisdom teeth extractedgo back oso no use. cannot eat
singapore not mi homeOriginally posted by jaggae:Come back home and can't eat, is really sad....can try blending ur Hainanese Chicken Rice!![]()
no she didn't! but if she can call herself "ger"...then i'm not surprised with "sae" and "dae"...at least i make it a point to spell "programme" with the UK extra "me"Originally posted by udontknowme:
wah lau, ice-cream some more!!!Originally posted by udontknowme:singapore not mi home
mi dun have home wan...![]()
blend chicken rice such a wastebut i oni like the rice, dun like the cheeken
prata can blend anot?![]()
i like prata either plain or with sugar
dun like with curry leh...
but nvm lar....i just whole day eat ice cream for that time lor...![]()
HAHAHAHA STUPID BITCH BAGGING OUT HER OWN RACEOriginally posted by udontknowme:
Nice find.Originally posted by udontknowme:
not race lah....i think should be culture....Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:HAHAHAHA STUPID BITCH BAGGING OUT HER OWN RACE
wtf the capsOriginally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:HAHAHAHA STUPID BITCH BAGGING OUT HER OWN RACE
No one said anything about one's GP grade being an indicator of anything. I don't recall mentioning anything about GP grades in the first place. Weren't you the one who posted your GP grade online? A1? Big deal? Want to compare grades dude? You're not even in University as of yet. English Literature? Oh please...Originally posted by S.KCH:Just to be clear, I did not quote that because it was directed at me. I quoted that because I think you are a pompous, pretentious turd.
Also, I did not say that having in A1 in GP meant anything. If anything, I despise the rigid manner in which GP is taught and graded upon. Also, I'm not as arrogant and egocentric as you; I do not regard GP grades as an indicator of superiority over other people.
I do not see what makes you think you stand high above us. So DON'T reply me again with that tone and attitude.
Stop imposing your ideals on other people. I can give you a distinction in English, but you flunk terribly when it comes to humility.
Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I think you're forgetting that you're Singaporean lol
No one said anything about one's GP grade being an indicator of anything. I don't recall mentioning anything about GP grades in the first place. Weren't you the one who posted your GP grade online? A1? Big deal? Want to compare grades dude? You're not even in University as of yet. English Literature? Oh please...
Arrogant? Egocentric? I merely commented on the fact that MOST, if not ALL Singaporeans THINK that they excel in the command of the English Language, be it the written or the oral component, which sadly, isn't the case, as shown in the myriad of postings here. That's all. That's basically my point. Why? You disagree? Well, I would love to hear your arguments against this. Besides the usual stuff about how speaking Singlish is "uniquely Singaporean" and how it "serves to form bonds" and all that...
You claim to despise the rigid manner in which GP was taught and graded upon. Well, for anyone who is able to write up an essay COHERENTLY, with a proper sentence structure and reasonable grammar/spelling, I don't see why it is difficult to obtain an A grade. Which leads me back to my point about the standard of English in Singapore, and the reason why only a select few manage to obtain that grade. But then again, A1 in GP is nothing. [b]NOTHING. (Oh, and I hope your grade wasn't moderated up to an A1. Like 74.5 rounded off or something.) Even if you somehow manage to obtain 750 on the English component of your SAT1, that's just average. (I'm assuming you know what the SAT is...)
By the way, I don't give a s*** about what you think of my reply. FLUNK IN HUMILITY? Wake up and smell the roses dude. I don't know about you, but as far as I am concerned, the world doesn't revolve around Singapore. Singapore has to adapt and evolve in tandem the rest of the world.
no lah. she is not singaporean lah! she know what the SAT is!!!! OMG!!!!! that makes her SOOOOOO SPECIAL!!!!!Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:I think you're forgetting that you're Singaporean lol![]()
Why is that?Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:I think you're forgetting that you're Singaporean lol![]()
Because you're bagging out your own coutry. I think. Are you Singaporean?Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Why is that?
Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Hey you just said Singaporeans know that they use Singlish and broken English and are PROUD of it. So obviously they DON'T think they EXCEL in the command of the language. Wake up and smell the coffee. Stop being so incoherent. DON'T contradict yourself in your writing.
Arrogant? Egocentric? I merely commented on the fact that MOST, if not ALL Singaporeans THINK that they excel in the command of the English Language, be it the written or the oral component, which sadly, isn't the case, as shown in the myriad of postings here. That's all. That's basically my point. Why? You disagree? Well, I would love to hear your arguments against this. Besides the usual stuff about how speaking Singlish is "uniquely Singaporean" and how it "serves to form bonds" and all that...
You claim to despise the rigid manner in which GP was taught and graded upon. Well, for anyone who is able to write up an essay COHERENTLY, with a proper sentence structure and reasonable grammar/spelling, I don't see why it is difficult to obtain an A grade. Which leads me back to my point about the standard of English in Singapore, and the reason why only a select few manage to obtain that grade. But then again, A1 in GP is nothing. [b]NOTHING. (Oh, and I hope your grade wasn't moderated up to an A1. Like 74.5 rounded off or something.) Even if you somehow manage to obtain 750 on the English component of your SAT1, that's just average. (I'm assuming you know what the SAT is...)
By the way, I don't give a s*** about what you think of my reply. FLUNK IN HUMILITY? Wake up and smell the roses dude. I don't know about you, but as far as I am concerned, the world doesn't revolve around Singapore. Singapore has to adapt and evolve in tandem the rest of the world.
Bagging out my country? I'm afraid you have misunderstood what I was trying to say. I was merely commenting on the standard of English in Singapore. Yes I'm a Singaporean, and yes I'm currently living overseas at the moment. It's precisely because I'm living overseas, that I am able to comment on the standard of English through observation.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Because you're bagging out your own coutry. I think. Are you Singaporean?
elindra commented that 'many Singaporeans can switch smoothly between Singlish and proper English', which isn't the case as observed. That's all. Why the outcry over my posts?Originally posted by elindra:No, I'm not referring to the "fact that most Singaporeans can switch smoothly between Singlish and broken English"
I'm referring to the fact that many Singaporeans can switch smoothly between Singlish and proper English.
The strange thing is that for most Singaporeans, we prefer to speak to other Singaporeans in Singlish. I think it's something 'uniquely Singaporean', something that makes us feel closer to each other.
If I'm overseas in USA for example and meet a fellow Singaporean, I would speak to them in Singlish, but I wouldn't do so to an American.
Originally posted by S.KCH:I don't need you to give me a distinction on language dude. I know where I stand in the command of English. As for the contradiction you claimed, well, if you bother to read my initial post carefully, I was referring to the MOST, if not ALL the peeps HERE (in this forum), by virtue of their posts. In the later posts, the attention was turned to Singaporeans in general. I'm not sure if you even bother to read posts first before advancing a counter-argument, or that you just simply fail to comprehend the distinction.
Hey you just said Singaporeans know that they use Singlish and broken English and are PROUD of it. So obviously they DON'T think they EXCEL in the command of the language. [b]Wake up and smell the coffee. Stop being so incoherent. DON'T contradict yourself in your writing.
The whole paragraph about how easy it is to get an A1 in GP is exactly why I despise the manner in which it is graded. Because people who mug and stick to rigid formats stand a higher chance of scoring as opposed to people who truly have a flair for writing. Your entire point about rounding off is totally irrelevant because all of us have NO idea what our exact scores are? And is that supposed to be a dig at me? You write like you are five. Either that, or drunk. Don't be so incoherent. I obviously know what SAT is. Was that supposed to be another lame attempt at insulting me?
If you didn't give a s*** about my reply, then why did you bother writing up such a long retort?
Since the world doesn't revolve around you and your petty ideals, STOP imposing them on other people.
P.S After that reply, I take my back my word on giving a distinction on English.[/b]
Are you uneducated or something? Whoever said that living overseas was a big deal? Jesus...Originally posted by udontknowme:i realli dunno u observing similanjiao lor
a lot of expats and foreigners and guests from overseas oni have good things to say about the standard of english in singaporeother than the fact that sometimes they cannot understand the hawkers when they eat at hawker centres. hahaha
the oni bad thing they have to say is the school system. and the humidity.
oh yes. and it's also because of the fact that i've lived overseas that i can comment on this.dun think u living overseas so very big deal ok
what do you consider 'educated'??Originally posted by Dormito_ger:Are you uneducated or something? Whoever said that living overseas was a big deal? Jesus...
it's obvious, from the way you are typingOriginally posted by Dormito_ger:Are you uneducated or something? Whoever said that living overseas was a big deal? Jesus...
Good. I am glad I finally made you say this. This is also what most of us think. Since I'm not allowed to judge you, what makes YOU so special? So PLEASE don't act high and mighty and judge us based on forum posts.Originally posted by Dormito_ger:I don't need you to give me a distinction on language dude. I know where I stand in the command of English.
i was about to say this lehOriginally posted by S.KCH:By the way, this argument is getting really naggy and pointless.
What I HAVE noticed about you, however, is the fake pompous air you have got around you. It only accentuates the insecurity you have as an Asian. You try to erase part of yourself by purposely removing all use of Singlish even when it's evident in another thread it's already somewhat embedded in your poorly written sentences.
This is what I call Stupid Fake Ang Moh
Don't call me dude. In case you haven't realised, your excessive use of that word is very grating.
Ya lor... Some people want to be ang moh suan le... But the thing is she not only tries to forget her roots but turns back to bite us in the ass! Damn irritating.Originally posted by gigabyte14:i was about to say this leh
fake ang moh suits her also
she wants to be angmoh that much![]()