10 percent haha
Frankly speaking pastor staying in orchard road no big deal
I also know a lot of christians own a few millions of properties
Ok dun flame me or scold me ar
It is just based on my personal view
I missed the pointOriginally posted by spadeTwo:you dun get the point
dunno say u stupid or slow
ppl are asking where the money goes....
ur thinking dont so straight can annot ????
its not about him living where.
its about where the tithes goes to.
a few multi millionaires of the churches give few hundred thousands to millions weekly.
wheres the cash now.![]()
Well then that forumer can stay poor all his life. And for your info, the pastor's wife you're talking about is no longer a pastor in that church. She is now obviously an entertainer in the media industry. And it's even more obvious that if she wants to entertain, she gotta be bold enough to take on new roles(why didnt anyone applaud for her boldness to take on new roles then?).Originally posted by Catknight:When I think of sunday church, it brings back memories, the church scene has changed during the past decades, the people that cared for the rich and poor has now turned to movtivation speakers to gathered more members into their mega churches.
One forummer has this to say:
City Harvest Church scares me too. It seems to preach a culture of naked materialism. Its pastor is a businessman who earns lots of money. His wife is a singer who dresses like a harlot with his nipples showing .. How can that represent God or the kingdom of God? Did not Jesus Christ say that it would be more difficult for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God than a camel? Did not St Paul say that women should be pious and listen to their husbands and wear a veil in Church?
If pastors earn million dollar salaries and encourage their wives to earn million dollar salaries, where is the church headed? To Hollywood? Material values, an obsession with money and wealth and gilded churches is anti-God. Christ came to save sinners from death - and not to encourage them to worship golden calves. That is against Christianity : it is idolatry at its worst in fact.
TS was simply quoting someone else..It wasn't TS's own comments..So when targetting your flames, target it at the other forumnite that provided the comments and not the TS..Originally posted by babybabyohbaby:Well then that forumer can stay poor all his life. And for your info, the pastor's wife you're talking about is no longer a pastor in that church. She is now obviously an entertainer in the media industry. And it's even more obvious that if she wants to entertain, she gotta be bold enough to take on new roles(why didnt anyone applaud for her boldness to take on new roles then?).
Just like in any drama, lets take for example, Chen Han Wei in Metamorphosis as a hot-tempered cop we all know, in real life he's not even a cop! Can't you guys see that LINE that's between ENTERTAINMENT and REAL life?
Use your brains.
yup i agree yr point, doesn't mean some churches like tt means all churches does the same thing...Originally posted by zexel:for pple tat dun really know anything, either about CHC or christianity,
dun anyhow talk or flame la.
Dun judge the other christians or churchs because of CHC or ur own "view" (without any vaild proper standing)
not right of 'some' pple to say all egg r smelly just because, they "think" eggs r smelly.![]()
You must be the most clear headed christian I've ever met. Most christians I've met like to "i've this bla bla bla, I've that bla bla bla, therefore I love god cause.. bla bla bla and god loves me cuz i contribute 10% of my income. So I've been salvaged and so you must also like this bla bla bla and like that bla bla bla." They like to tell u what they did and den tell you wat to do, like they are always right and never did any wrong before.Originally posted by zexel:[quote]Originally posted by New Creation:
[b]I just want to comment that to the person who started this forum thread, you probably gt the vision to post this topic from the Devil bah. I mean not in the sense that you are possessed, but in the sense that Devil speak of lies.. and imparted thoughts into you to question and bring up this issue bah. No worries, this is not your fault. ;-)
waa..
r u angel of truth meh
not all pple tat haf question/thinking against christianity faith,
tat person muz gotta the "vision" from devil eh.
God gave us minds, a powerful Yet -limited- tool
I agree to 90% of ur points but dun be tOO self righteous.
The thread starter is not really right but neither do U, dear sir or any1 of us.
Explain to him if he needs u to enlight him but dun anyhow use
wat devil satan or wat.
maybe tis thread is God's way to let more pple understand how thingy works out.
Yes u are correct about the tithe....the 10% is just to show that u are not greedy at allOriginally posted by New Creation:As to the issue of tithing, your concern is that these pastors are enriching themselves with these money. Well. firstly, let me explain the meaning of tithing. When we give 10% in tithing, we are acknowledging that our Daddy God is very much alive in our life, and that we want to honor him with the 1st 10% in our reapings.. as he will bless the remaining 90%. In addition, because our Daddy God is such a Great King, he is touched by your 10% and to show his generousity, he will want to give you so much more and he blesses you or the church financially with even more rewards. The giving of the 10% also reminds you that you are not crazily in love in $. The utter addiction and LoVE of $ is the source of Evil.. but... it is different from living in prosperity and abundance. In fact, if you read the biography of Henry Ford, he wanted to proof if tithing would work. Hence, he bought a plot of land of vineyard, harvested the grapes, sold the products and donated 10% of the profits to the local church. And It was awesome, God blessed him with the ability to buy up neighhbouring plots to grow vineyards and progressively.. his profits increased. And also for Christians.. if we have a major investment to make, it would be good to titth 10% of the principal amount to God, so that the remaining 90% will be blessed and be protected by God from all the disturbances crisis or economic downturns. etc etc. That probably explains why Churches have so much reserves in their bank account, or that why.. U see Prosperous CHristians.. be it the pastors or the flocks (i.e. the members).
because god is a new godOriginally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:I've been to CHC for few weeks as my friends pulled me in
and today i went to a church for a wedding
differences i notice is, CHC like more "rock". and i kept thinking, why do they need to have such beautiful stage to perform while the church does not? why do they need to have LCD tvs like almost in every corner while the church uses those old kind of tvs?
About this i also got a few issues too,quite funnyOriginally posted by jaggae:I also dun understand CHC and New Creation, which my sis attends the latter. From young, I was interested in being a Christian, but after encountering the people who attend New Creation, I was so offended by their rudeness and pretensiousness. Methodists scares me too...they keep quoting from the Bible like it's the only book they ever read. And they seem overly enthusiastic or extremely persistent about "you must come to our church to be saved!!!"![]()
Who are u refering?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:You want to be irrational and delusional... what is there to stop you from making rubbish and nonsense decisions?
Absolutely agreed..Churches are definitely richer than, for example, chinese temples because when a christian wanna donate, they donate 10% of their pay or allowance..Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Like continuing to give money to churches that openly announce to everyone that they have $180 million....
how more irrational and delusional you want?![]()
Seriously speaking,whats your problem with those mega churches?have they offend u or what?Originally posted by alleggerita:Absolutely agreed..Churches are definitely richer than, for example, chinese temples because when a christian wanna donate, they donate 10% of their pay or allowance..
But when you go chinese temple, they don't even bother to ask you to donate..if you feel like donating, you can just put a dollar or two into the box and that's it..if your pay is $2000 per month and you donate $2 per month to the temple, that's only 0.1% of your pay compared to 10%..and yet chinese temples can still be quite rich..so can you imagine how rich mega churches are?![]()