I feel your sentiments but things will not change until actions are taken.. Time and time again I see the same old people making same offensive remarks.. Taking it with a pinch of salt is one thing, tolerance as they say, but when it becomes too sensitive and offensive.. *shrugs* it just keep coming again from the same old people.. Oh well we are all humans, humans make mistakes regardless of race or religion.. How many times have I already seen threads and posts discriminating malays and muslims and malaysians and for that fact, other races too.. Time and time again it keeps coming.. Questionable controls.. hmm...Originally posted by iSpeak:I acknowledge that the Malays here are relatively behind their Chinese and Indian counterparts in almost all areas - but statistics have shown as a community they are by and large catching up. However small the percentage, the university enrollment of Malays are increasing. Drug problems are nowhere near the catastrophe they were during the 1980s. The biggest issue facing the Malay community is the rise of social problems such as high divorce and abortion rates. You have to understand that the current generation is suffering from the failings of those beforehand - socio-economic problems are always a vicious cycle. Therefore, I find it admirable that the the lower echelons of the Malay community are at last making significant progress at breaking out of this cycle.
Such issues though, are not my main irritant in the postings of this topic.
What has social and economic problems got to do with racial harmony and tolerance?
If you're poor and uneducated, I still have a social responsibility, as a fellow human being, to show you respect. You don't spit at any man for no good reason, no matter if he is a millionaire or the unfortunate Chinese aunty who resorts to selling tissue paper at kopitiam for her earning.
The human tendency to moralize is forgivable. Even ignorance, to a certain extent, is pardonable. But the human urge to discriminate and sling mud at another group for being of a different colour cannot be tolerated for the sake of our humanity and basic decency.
My appeal to all members of SgForums is to don't let yourselves down by passing off the odd callous or racist remark. In attempting to degrade another race, you're just degrading yourself.
Thank you, and have a nice day.
social and economic problems have a lot to do with racial harmony. If one race is holding back the growth of the rest of the country then i'm sure there would be a lack of good sentiment toward that race. Tolerance at best but not harmony.Originally posted by iSpeak:I acknowledge that the Malays here are relatively behind their Chinese and Indian counterparts in almost all areas - but statistics have shown as a community they are by and large catching up. However small the percentage, the university enrollment of Malays are increasing. Drug problems are nowhere near the catastrophe they were during the 1980s. The biggest issue facing the Malay community is the rise of social problems such as high divorce and abortion rates. You have to understand that the current generation is suffering from the failings of those beforehand - socio-economic problems are always a vicious cycle. Therefore, I find it admirable that the the lower echelons of the Malay community are at last making significant progress at breaking out of this cycle.
Such issues though, are not my main irritant in the postings of this topic.
What has social and economic problems got to do with racial harmony and tolerance?
If you're poor and uneducated, I still have a social responsibility, as a fellow human being, to show you respect. You don't spit at any man for no good reason, no matter if he is a millionaire or the unfortunate Chinese aunty who resorts to selling tissue paper at kopitiam for her earning.
The human tendency to moralize is forgivable. Even ignorance, to a certain extent, is pardonable. But the human urge to discriminate and sling mud at another group for being of a different colour cannot be tolerated for the sake of our humanity and basic decency.
My appeal to all members of SgForums is to don't let yourselves down by passing off the odd callous or racist remark. In attempting to degrade another race, you're just degrading yourself.
x2Originally posted by iSpeak:If you're poor and uneducated, I still have a social responsibility, as a fellow human being, to show you respect. You don't spit at any man for no good reason, no matter if he is a millionaire or the unfortunate Chinese aunty who resorts to selling tissue paper at kopitiam for her earning.
Yah, but it's also a moral contravention to not be able to work hard enough to earn enough money to raise your kids in a conducive environment.Originally posted by angel7030:Question, Is it an offend to have 10 childrens? If yes, tell me which laws stated that, if not, case close.
Some of the Muslim forumnites have clarified that Muslim can use contraceptive.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:muslims cannot use condoms meh i didn't know.
---
Keep on the sabr. Patience. You could say it is expected. Take a back seat during the racist tirades and the funny accusations. The conflict is only between misinformed them and the ignorant malays who both keep on propagating the same bullshit.Originally posted by dinky1409:I feel your sentiments but things will not change until actions are taken.. Time and time again I see the same old people making same offensive remarks.. Taking it with a pinch of salt is one thing, tolerance as they say, but when it becomes too sensitive and offensive.. *shrugs* it just keep coming again from the same old people.. Oh well we are all humans, humans make mistakes regardless of race or religion.. How many times have I already seen threads and posts discriminating malays and muslims and malaysians and for that fact, other races too.. Time and time again it keeps coming.. Questionable controls.. hmm...![]()
That is it. They don't think.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:I don't understand why people do not think before they reproduce... and if they are unable to cope, why go get loan somemore?![]()
Hehehe....Originally posted by FireIce:govt shd step up on family planning courses for the malay community
or the malay community groups can do something
i dun think so since the government r encouraging more pple to give birth.Originally posted by FireIce:govt shd step up on family planning courses for the malay community
or the malay community groups can do something