sounds like alot of hard work.. i gonna tryOriginally posted by Phoebie:evaporated milk, veggie curry powder, cabbage
boil water,
put in 1/3 packet of veggie curry powder,
pour in 1/2 can of evaporated milk,
let it boil and stir
toss in shedded cabbage
voila!
serve with rice![]()
It is through some conversations with the Malays that I discover they have such thinking. Somemore they are the so called educated ones.Originally posted by simnatic:Eh..please, as Malays in Singapore, let me tell you that may of their thinking are not like the Malaysians. Malays in Singapore do not even consider themselves "Natives" of this country. Obviously, forty years of democratic, equal & mertitocratic rule have eliminated such thoughts among the citizens, including Malays. It is very unfair for you to be judgemental in this manner.
Family planning is not about reducing birth rates but about responsibility. As much as they want us to create more babies, they wouldn't want them to be an economic burden. They want babies to grow up in a healthy environment, receive quality education, get a good job and PAY TAXES. The last thing the government want are babies to grow up in a troubled environment and KPKB saying Singapore is a heartless country that doesn't provide welfare.Originally posted by 798:i dun think so since the government r encouraging more pple to give birth.
furthermore if govt control the malays, they will kpkb n bring in the racist issue again.
We have to give credit to the Malays in Singapore. They are fighting strong till today even though things weren't as fair as it seems.Originally posted by joilin:It is through some conversations with the Malays that I discover they have such thinking. Somemore they are the so called educated ones.
I do not have anything against them. However, I have encountered some who are not responsible in their work. Can slack will find ways to slack.
This lowered the opportunity for them to get a better paying job . So how to support a big family?
It is quite a vicious cycle.
I believe the government is helping this group in many ways. esp with subsidised school fees and educational opportunities. It is up to them to seize the chance.
Oh, believe me, I know quite well about the unofficial policy of discrimination in the Singapore Armed Forces. An RSAF captain once shrugged his shoulders and explained to me the lack of personnel in sensitive vocations as "simply a matter of geography."Originally posted by mrwonderful:ispeak is quite naive.
even in SAF, Malays are only assigned to SPF, Civil Defence, RP or Drivers almost all the time. They are rarely in normal army combat vocations.
i think this case here the parents dont exhibit any responsibility. and they are worried the kids will be taken away from them and put in welfare.
unfortunate but whats the alternative? follow the parents sleep on roadside?
The attitude of "letting it be" smacks of sweeping things under the carpet. During WW2, the vast majority of 70 million odd Germans decided to close one eye towards the discrimination of the Jews and the Holocaust happened. While this is an extreme example, such historic precedents bode ill for us who live in a society whose fabric is not as strong as we might like.
Have you ever wondered why SOME chinese feel that way towards SOME of the malays? It take two hands to clap. I'm not saying all malays are like that or all chinese are good, I'm just saying that there ARE malays who are racist (encountered before personally) and there ARE chinese who will be racist back to them. We live in a non-ideal world, and certain things like these cannot be changed cos if there's a fault, everyone is at fault, if there's no fault, everyone can say they are innocent.
So in other words, let people speak all they want. By telling them not to pass racist comments, they will tell you something like "also got some malays say racist thing to me leh".
So just let it be.
i'm sorry to say that most of chinese are racist against Malays..Originally posted by iSpeak:The attitude of "letting it be" smacks of sweeping things under the carpet. During WW2, the vast majority of 70 million odd Germans decided to close one eye towards the discrimination of the Jews and the Holocaust happened. While this is an extreme example, such historic precedents bode ill for us who live in a society whose fabric is not as strong as we might like.
"Ala cheena say malay, malay say cheena back fair fair mah.. just relac lah.. owaes lyk this one.. cheena say ah neh black black ah neh call us munjen fair mah.. way of the world lah.."
I hope this is not the attitude carried forward by Singaporeans.
I am not crying foul for the Malays.
I am crying foul for what saddeningly seems to be a small minority of Singaporeans who are sick of the poison that is racism. I do not care for the colour of your skin; you can be ah beng, mat, ah neh or serani, but I will condemn anyone who attacks your race with unjustified remarks.
The reality is that many of us are coloured by personal negative experiences, but the question is are you big enough to rise above petty defensiveness?
Racism is only one of the ugly social divisions that divide Singaporeans; on top of that Singaporeans are also slowly being split apart into classes based on education/background/income.
My appeal is simple for Sgforumers. Stop and discourage overt racism, as so wantonly displayed here, directed at any race whatsoever. Moderators, please take firmer action.
I apologize so much for digressing from the topic. I felt the need to address the certain ugly remarks posted here.
that is TV ma. Bai jia zi occurs because the parents give too much confort. It does not applies to the rich only. If the same parent but this time they are poor, the same thing will still happen. Whatever happens to the children, it's source comes from the parents. But i agree that the majority of bai jia zi are rich people kids.Originally posted by 798:i dunno if it is true or not? cos i watch drama n learn some of the lessons. usually poor families r the one having more children than rich one.
they dun want to have children but heaven been playing trick on them by giving them more burden.
while the rich ones yearn for children but cant have.
BUT
poor pple will one day change fate from poor to riches becos one of the children will become rich.
whereas rich pple will become poor becos the son is a bai4 jia1 zi3.
Maybe those that you know but you can't say most.Originally posted by FBI:i'm sorry to say that most of chinese are racist against Malays..
but i do know of Malays who are really good and we have nothing against themOriginally posted by kramnave:Maybe those that you know but you can't say most.
we are not talking about offence or wat .... we are talking about weather u have the means to take care of 10 children.....Originally posted by angel7030:Question, Is it an offend to have 10 childrens? If yes, tell me which laws stated that, if not, case close.
X2Originally posted by simnatic:As a Singaporean, I really feel very upset reading comments insulting the Malays and Muslims. Many of you are just listing down utter rubbish in your judgements. I am not defending the Malays, nor am I insulting them.
Let me tell you first, Malays are not "brainless", "idiotic" or "stupid". Just fyi, the story is highlighted by ST as it is one of the few rare cases of extreme poverty in Singapore. Well, if it is all too common, why would they publish such a story? This shows that maybe out of 10 Malays, only 1 or 2 do 'things without thinking through'.
From my personal experience, Malays are definitely not stupid. An amount of them are lazy, I have to agree as I, and many of you people have observed. Well, if you actually approach them and ask why, their answer will be "because of society". IF SOCIETY(U PEOPLE) INSISTS that they are simply useless, of course they will be. The mentality to many is, why even bother is someone, in this case, a whole society labels me as useless? Many Malays do make an effort to try and rise, but their minds are to full of these thoughts. And not only you people, but also their family members themselves. Coming from a large family, say the parents or siblings do not do well in education, they will simply think that "Aiyah, it is in my genes that i'm born stupid". But the fact that they can think that way PROVES that they are not stupid at all, they can think. What many Malays need, in my opinion, is some encouragement + a bit of force to make them start improving themselves.
For your information, the top English Language, Geography and History students in my school are Malays. Most of them did not do well in the beginning of secondary three, but with a bit of force from friends, teachers and parents, they all shot up to become A1 students. It merely proves that Malays are not stupid.
Some of you complain that your tax dollars are spent in feeding them. Please, reflect upon yourselves, how inhumane you are. Now, we don't know why that family is not doing well in the first place. It is again, unfair for you to judge without knowing the full picture. But what's done is done. The couple's children did not have a choice in being born. Please, have some pity. They don't even have a house for goodness sake, and they are paying for their parent's mistakes. I'm sure that the least we can do is provide them with food and education. You see, if they read this thread, they will be demoralized and become as what i have mentioned in the first paragraph.
To summarize, the Malays are how they are because of their social problems, but the some members of other racial groups who judge and comment without thinking are not helping them raise their status quo at all. And I believe that if Singapore should fall one day, it would be because of these racial problems that seem to be expanding. Ten years ago, we wouldn't be hearing much of these rambling and rants to begin with.
My post has no intentions of being racist in any way.
Same tots as me , Some ppl will just leave everything to god , everything they just say god here god there.Originally posted by hohaha:there are some who leave it to God to decide how many children they will have. they do not practice and believe in contraception. 'Gods will'. However they fail to think the consequences once they have many children. The quality of life that their children received when they arrived in this world. What happen when these children grow up? They become delinquent, drug addicts, gangsters, prostitutes and a burden to the society. So please, think more than leave everything to God.